Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent but brilliant
Torchwood started off 5 years ago in the shadow of its big brother, Doctor Who. But through 3 seasons, Torchwood has developed an identity of it's own. Here is a review of each series of Torchwood:

Series 1- A mixed bag. There were excellent episodes such as the opener'Everything Changes', 'Small Worlds', 'They Keep Killing Suzie', 'Random Shoes', 'Out of...
Published on 10 May 2011 by Mr. Joel A. Rabinowitz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good series - comes with Children of Earth
It's a good series - not great - but for easy going sci-fi it does make good viewing.
The Children of Earth special comes with this Boxset though so don't buy separately.
Published on 25 July 2011 by Russ Minahan


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent but brilliant, 10 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Torchwood started off 5 years ago in the shadow of its big brother, Doctor Who. But through 3 seasons, Torchwood has developed an identity of it's own. Here is a review of each series of Torchwood:

Series 1- A mixed bag. There were excellent episodes such as the opener'Everything Changes', 'Small Worlds', 'They Keep Killing Suzie', 'Random Shoes', 'Out of Time', and 'Captain Jack Harkness', middling episodes like 'Ghost Machine', 'Cyberwoman', 'Countrycide', 'Greeks Bearing Gifts', and the overambitious finale, 'End of Days', and stinkers such as 'Day One' and the appallingly written 'Combat.' Overall, the good outweighs the bad and Series 1 is great entertainment. 8/10

Series 2- An improvement on Series 1, with the good 'Kiss Kiss Bang Bang', 'Sleeper', 'To the Last Man', 'Meat', 'Adam', 'Reset', and a fair share of good stuff and bad stuff. Better than the first series. 9/10

Children of Earth- Stunning drama from start to finish. It's amazingly written, amazingly acted, and amazingly shot. Perfect. 10/10

The boxset itself contains individual boxes for each series, in a compact sized case. I would highly recommend this.

Roll on Miracle Day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


184 of 200 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episodes included in the Torchwood Collection, 7 Dec. 2009
By 
W. Palmen (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The episodes of Torchwood that are included in the box are:

Series 1:
Everything Changes
Day One
Ghost Machine
Cyberwoman
Small Worlds
Coutrycide
Greeks Bearing Gifts
They Keep Killing Suzie
Random Shoes
Out of Time
Combat
Captain Jack Harkness
End of Days

Series 2:
Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang
Sleeper
To the Last Man
Meat
Adam
Reset
Dead Man Walking
A Day in the Death
Something Borrowed
From Out of the Rain
Adrift
Fragments
Exit Wounds

Series 3:
Children of Earth: Day One through Day Five

Note that Series 3 is the same as the Children of Earth box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood = Amazing!!, 15 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Living in New Zealand can sometimes be hard - it means you don't get to see fabulous new TV shows unless you order them from overseas. As an avid Doctor Who fan, especially the latest batch of Who to come from the BBC, purchasing Torchwood was an absolute must. And so worth it! The box is gorgeous, and the season collections are thoughtfully arranged in book-format cases.

I'm currently half way through season 2 and really don't want it to end. Loving John Barrowman's and Eve Myles's performances. The only let-down is the annoying voice-over at the start of every single episode. Really unnecessary.

I totally recommend buying the box set of Torchwood to anyone - fans of Who or not. Can't wait for more Torchwood!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 14 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood - The Collection (Series 1-3) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If you want to catch up on Torchwood before the new series buy this boxset as it includes every episode so far, all of the Torchwood Declassified episodes and special features. One of my best buys in a long long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars quite entertaining and surprisingly fun, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have to admit I only got into it recently when I kind of got addicted to Doctor Who. The show itself is really good and has quite a lot to offer and a lot of entertainment. What I like about Torchwood is that it is directed more at a more adult audience with quite a bit of sex, violence, plenty of blood and a few moments of gore. It is a bit darker, especially during the first season where it probably is still testing stuff and is trying to find its voice. Everyone who knows the main charceter Captain Jack Harkness from Doctor Who might be a bit surprised when they see the first season. He is still funny and all, but has a bit of a serious side as well as a bit of darkness - for lack of better words.
I would definitely say season 2 is the best, things get a bit lighter and fun and everyone seems settled with their role and position. The show has quite a sneaky way of surprising people with storylines and character plots that one might not see coming as such. Especially during season 2. Have to admit Season 3 was.... it had its moments, but it wasn't great and having already read reviews for Season 4 I am not entirely sure whether I get the next box.
I like the show alot and especially the few references and also the guest appearence of Martha for a few episodes was very nice. They managed to use Doctor Who occasionally - probably as a bonus for the fans - but also give the show its own feel and voice without having to constantly rely on its bigger brother.
I am very fond of the relationship between Jack and Ianto and love how the writers/creators handle it by making it not a big deal. It is there, without much fuss and talking or the usual 'Oh my god, I am dating a guy' thing. They take a very direct 'normal' approach which I think is brilliant. As a matter of fact everyone on the show seems to have a bi-sexual streak without much fuss, which I just find brilliant.
If you love Doctor Who and enjoyed the episodes with Jack I would really recommend the show. It is quite entertaining and in a way I'd say it is a bit like Doctor Who for grown-ups, without the constant time travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SciFi for an Adult Audience, 7 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
SciFi is often thought of as a medium for the pre-pubescent teenager. Not so with Torchwood, For all its faults, and there are some, the overall impression is a great series of adult sci-fi. Yes there is homosexual sex but Capt Jack Harkness, the team leader, is an omni-sexual alien seemingly turned on by anything in trousers and from any planet.

Torchwood is an anagram of Doctor Who and is a spin-off series set in Cardiff. Cardiff, according to Dr Who legend, is on top of a rift in space and time attracting the scum of the universe to Wales. Harkness leads a team to protect the world from the inevitable chaos of having the rift on planet earth. Just to help things along Harkness is alien to Wales. As well as the American accent we discover he originated in the 51st century, had a career as a con-man, a time agent and at some point lost the ability to die. Not even the Torchwood team really know Harkness and his bizarre history is revealed across the 3 seasons.

This boxed set nicely covers the years Torchwood was a quirky all-British production. The new 4th series is a co-production mostly set in the USA with largely a new cast.

The first and second seasons follow a "monster a week" type structure whereas the third has a one story arc of 5 episodes. The weekly episodes suffer from a degree of inconsistency in their quality and scope. However overall there is enough there for the SciFi fan to enjoy.

Torchwood is now legendary for the deaths of the cast. From the beginning new starter Gwen Cooper is told that Torchwood staff die young. Sure enough there is a team death in episode 1. The first half of season 1 is really seen through Coopers' "new" eyes. At the end Jack mysteriously disappears only to re-join the team in time for season 2.

Torchwood is a mixture of the ordinary, including the well grounded home life of Gwen Cooper, along with the extrordinary world of alien hunting.

The disk collection represents a highly believable world with a scifi twist. if you chose to buy please treat the word "adult" seriously as the content is designed for an adult audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyed It!, 7 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood - The Collection (Series 1-3) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Having not seen any Torchwood in the past, it is unlikely that I would have bought this product if it was not for the new series showing on television at the moment.

Having stumbled across the new episodes currently showing, I was intrigued to watch the early ones and what better way to watch than on Blu Ray!!

Over the course of a week or so, I watched the first two series and the Children of Mana short series. Overall I really enjoyed it!

In short this is kind of a 15+ Doctor Who with a fair amount of swearing and violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood BluRay Collection, 26 Jan. 2010
By 
Guillermo Moure (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood - The Collection (Series 1-3) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Image: 1080i/16:9
Sound: English (only) DTS HD
Subtitles available in english (only).
Disc Format: 6xBD50 6xBD25
Special Features come in standard definition (mostly 480p), 16:9 and english (only) stereo, as well as the english (only) subtitles.

Is completely delightful to have this collection in this ultimate format, as the experience becomes complete. Image (1080i, not p) and clear sound (superb DTS HD) makes this item a must-have for any Torchwood fan, owner of a proper Blu Ray player and a good music equipment.
Even if you're not a fan, stories of Torchwood are human and emotional, and the actors (both regulars and guest stars) make all the scripts becoming a true, living reality for the audience. Some of them, even that they come in the "envelope" of sci-fi, deal with such classic issues as human fears, family, trust, love... that won't leave you indifferent, and you will probably cry, laugh and feel as you keep watching.
Don't be wrong: this is an adult-oriented series, with some violence, sex and not-kind-words, and yet, those are not values that are the main essence of the show, but those I explained above.

The first "but" I could say about it is that sometimes you see the interlaced image coming from the sides of the screen (this was watched in a SONY KDL 40X-3500, updated to last firmware available), and depends how much "sensible" you are for those kind of things... sometimes is annoying.
The second "but" would be the packaging in which collection is presented. In my opinion, I would change the cardboard for something a bit less flexible and not suitable to be destroyed so much fast. But anyway, this is also a minor "but", since this packaging makes the price affordable.

Anyway, get this experience, own it and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value set., 29 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After getting through the first four seasons of the new Doctor Who series, I obviously had to check out its spin-off, Torchwood. And instead of buying it season by season, I decided to just buy the whole set, which ended up being the right thing to do.

Torchwood is one of those shows that isn't always great. It gets a bit dull every now and then (but only really in the first two series), but it is still an entertaining science fiction show. Sometimes I want more from a show than a "monster of the week" style, and while not always, Torchwood does deliver this on occasion.

Thing is, after the rocky first two series, they released the five part mini-series Children of Earth. Now this was great. Five hour long episodes that are all part of the same story. And a fantastic story it was. Without giving anything away, I will just say that it gives a whole new appreciation to the main character, Jack Harkness.

After watching this set, I really can not wait to see the next series "Miracle Days." If it even comes close to Children of Earth, I will be ecstatic. This three series box set is fantastic value (costing literally less than 25% of what it costs new in Australia), and it's also a great looking box which I love to keep sitting next to my Doctor Who sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When The Doctor's Away - Who You Gonna Call?, 14 Oct. 2010
By 
R Scott (Honolulu, HI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood - The Collection (Series 1-3) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This show has been an awesome extension of Doctor Who!
From the first episode this show has always entertained - from the quirkiness of the regular cast to the interesting guest stars, this show has been another high mark for BBC.

For those viewers in the US who, like me, couldn't wait for the US release of this Blu-Ray set - I can vouch that these disks play on US Blu-Ray players (I tried my PS3 and two tabletops).

Well worth the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood - The Collection (Series 1-3) [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£33.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews