Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rome with hindsight.
I watched Rome when it first aired on the BBC in 2005 and thought it was amazing. It's been 5 years, now, and I saw it was fairly cheap on Amazon so got it for Christmas. It's only 3 days later and I've already seen most of the first series!

The thing that stands out this time around is just how good Rome was. The fall of the Roman Republic is quite possibly...
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, average media
The Rome is great and I love every bit of it. I'm interested in ancient Rome history and have read quite a few books about it. In this film I don't notice anything that conflicts with my knowledge. The characters are well done and the actors fit in very well. So, the movie is 5+ stars.
I had Rome on DVD and purchased this BD set for better quality, and I didn't...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by smk


‹ Previous | 117 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rome - inability to play certain discs/episodes, despite supposedly being region free, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome - Season 1-2 - Complete (HBO) [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Whilst those discs and episodes that I was able to watch were enjoyable enough, what spoiled everything was the fact certain discs just wouldn't play at all. This was inexplicable, considering the fact that the discs were supposed to be region free and that my blue ray player is multi-coded and so should be able to play any blue ray disc from any region. Not this set! Series 2 was even more disappointing as when the menu eventually appeared on certain episodes (after what seemed like an age of waiting) there wasn't even any option to play the episode at all, only the preview! I wouldn't recommend this set as result as it has proved to be rather a waste of money, in view of the fact that I am unable to play and watch ALL the discs and therefore ALL the episodes. I eventually gave up trying to watch series 2 on the second disc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much like a "made for TV soap opera" than a historical docu-drama, 18 Aug 2012
I was wanting something a little more intellectual maybe..and was expecting it to be more of a "historical docu-drama" which would show and explain Caesar's campaigns and more to do with HISTORY...but "Rome" seems to be more of a "made for tv soap opera" (an expensive and elaborate one)..and i was really feeling like i was watching something such as "Young and the Restless" much of the time, with boring but "spicey" made up? story lines , acting..etc. However it did have scenes which showed things about Roman society which was very interesting. (it might be good for a viewing..but the storyline gets deviated to too much "Young and the Restless storylines"..(did even happen much of these storylines?)

Not what i was hoping...although i gave it three stars..I would rather have given it 2.5 stars (half impressed) due to the elaborate costumes and scenery. (which is interesting for a couple of hours) in much of the "movie"..but, again, it too much like a fictional? "soap opera"..with plenty of gorey violence, nudity and sex scenes to spice it up for cable viewers and pretty dull as far as history storyline and acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tittilating and entertaining, 22 Jan 2013
By 
W. Hutchinson "whutchin2" (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This programme is a well made 'soap'. Plenty of 'eye candy' and titillation but not on a par with other HBO productions such as the 'Sopranos' or 'Empire Boardwalk' where the normal dross of production is missing (e.g. they do not have moronic and unnecessary soundtracks full of inappropriate noises). I doubt if the creators of this series care too much of the comments as they laugh all the way to the bank but I really do wish something could be produced to top 'The Sopranos' - and HBO seem to be the only organisation with the potential to do this at the moment. This comes nowhere near it, starting off quite well but sinking in Series 2 into extremely entertaining and almost comedic soap. However, it is entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I wish I had bought the DVD rather than Blu-ray set, 17 May 2013
By 
P Edant (Preston, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome - Season 1-2 - Complete (HBO) [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
An excellent series, but a shame that the Blu-ray version does not permit bookmarks. Fine if you have time to watch an entire disk in one sitting, but otherwise...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History with a wink, 10 July 2009
By 
The serie Rome is a pleasant to see. The decors are good, the players
play their roles with flair.
The history figures however are not always correct.
De figure of Marc Anthony is more a comedy role, and not based on
history facts. Octavian was more than his role in de serie, and give
little credit of his futher role as Augustus the first emperor of Rome.
However, the serie is good to see.If you love the History of Rome for
the fithing and sensation of the ancient world, you have to buy this
DVD. Gerard Tetro
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frequent offensive language and hard core sex., 26 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before I describe these two series I must say that each episode is liberally sprinkled with the 'F' word and every other four-letter expletive. In fact, this is the only production in which I have ever heard the 'C' word used - and that on several occasions! Secondly, the sex scenes are VERY explicit and would only have been available as badly made 'hard core' porn films when we were younger. If you feel comfortable with offensive language and explicit sex as entertainment then you'll probably enjoy this box set. All I can say is that the greats such as Charlton Heston, Victor Mature, Stephen Boyd, Sophia Loren etc never stooped to this - but then they didn't have to as they were too good! That just about says it all for the non-entities in this series. People won't still be watching this production in 60 years' time! That having being said - I determined to watch all the episodes as I'd paid £22 for the box set!

The first series concentrates on Julius Caesar's rise to power. It starts with the surrender of the Gallic chieftain Vercingetorix then continues with Caesar's indictment by the Senate, his crossing of the Rubicon with his army, the subsequent civil war and his consolidation of power. It then finishes with his assassination. I thought the portrayal of Caesar was quite superb as were the portrayals of the Senate and the city of Rome. The atmosphere of the city has been captured very well and I was most impressed.
However, I did feel that the backgrounds of these events could have been addressed to put the events we were watching (such as the civil war) in context. The series fails to address Caesar's conduct in Gaul which led to his indictment and the consequent civil war, his rise to Dictator for Life and then his death. Instead, the series concentrates more on Caesar's personal relationships with fictitious characters.
Caesar's relationship with Cleopatra VII is just breezed over but his bewitchment by her is ignored as is their famous cruise up the Nile and the ensuing panic in Rome about his disappearance. Caesar's prolonged stay in Egypt is barely mentioned as is the birth of their son and prospective heir, although the murder of Cleopatra's brother/husband/co-ruler Ptolemy XIII is depicted. Cleopatra is also depicted as a raving nymphomaniac which is untrue and very unjust, as are the explicit sex scenes involving her. Cleopatra VII was one of the most important, intelligent and fascinating women and characters in history. She protected her weak country from Rome and she very nearly restored Egypt to it's former power and glory - yet the chance to recognise her brilliant mind and achievements was missed! Instead, Cleopatra is sadly portrayed as a sex maniac which surely leaves many viewers with that wrong image of her. It would have been good to see Caesar wrapped around Cleopatra's little finger as he floated off up the Nile with her on a pink cloud. Cleopatra was the only person who could manipulate Julius Caesar - yet the chance was missed to show that. Overall however, Caesar's greed, hunger and power-lust do come through and the actor Ciaran Hinds' portrayal of the man is superb.

The second series concentrates on the fictitious exploits of a pair of ex-legionaries (Pullo and Vorenus) who become involved with each other in a series of personal escapades. The episodes involve us in their personal lives and problems which are all fictitious with some very tenuous bases in fact, but it probably appeals to those who like the soaps.
This second series also features Cleopatra's relationship with Mark Anthony but I was once again disappointed. The true and fascinating details of their relationship were again ignored - to be replaced with more parties and hard sex! Once again a gross injustice to Cleopatra. Cleopatra's bewitchment of Mark Anthony and her offer to him of marriage and making him joint ruler of a new Egyptian empire isn't mentioned, nor is their declaration of war on Rome (victory of which would leave Egypt all-powerful) and the Battle of Actium is just breezed over. What a lost opportunity! All that is portrayed is a steamy relationship, stormy rows (really?), drunken and violent parties and - yes - more hot sex! Cleopatra deserves better than this!

As I mentioned, these two series are peppered with sex and four-letter words at every turn - and unnecessarily so. I'm a 52 year old grandfather and I've seen and heard all this before. It's not 'realistic' nor does it have to be. The 'F' word is Middle English and it didn't even exist until medieval times so the Romans certainly never used it! It's the same with the other offensive words. If you are comfortable with such language and ogling sex from your sofa then OK. But as I said, Charlton Heston never resorted to any of this and that about says it all. Cinema greats this series and these people are not and I trust these obscure actors, actresses and screenwriters have taken their four-letter words and hard-core sex and returned from whence they came. I've kept the box set but I won't watch it again. I'll carry on watching Charlton Heston thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Roman Holiday, 9 Jan 2010
By 
S. Lieberson Film London (london, england United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
arrived just as advertised and as i would have hoped for.
it came even sooner than promised.
sandy L.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rome complete DVD, 25 Nov 2010
A general problem when you purchase DVD's from Amazone is that you can not see what launguage the selection of subtitles is from the descripton of the DVD set before you have recieved it.
So I recieved a DVD set without danish subtitles, which I can live with, but for other members of the family it is a problem.
The general serie is a good an entertainig serie.Rome - Season 1-2 - Complete [DVD] [2005]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars if you need gaurenteed item go collect from another shop, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having purchased this as a fathers day present i paid for next day delivery which I never recieved spoke to customers service and was told it was going to arrive on fathers day its self which was ok with me as I was not seeing my father until the evening still no arrival so no gift for fathers day .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is blood thirsty kind of film and totally not my kind of film, someone must of recommended it to me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rome - Season 1-2 - Complete (HBO) [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free]
£29.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews