Customer Reviews


188 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rome with hindsight.
I watched Rome when it first aired on the BBC in 2005 and thought it was amazing. It's been 5 years, now, and I saw it was fairly cheap on Amazon so got it for Christmas. It's only 3 days later and I've already seen most of the first series!

The thing that stands out this time around is just how good Rome was. The fall of the Roman Republic is quite possibly...
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, average media
The Rome is great and I love every bit of it. I'm interested in ancient Rome history and have read quite a few books about it. In this film I don't notice anything that conflicts with my knowledge. The characters are well done and the actors fit in very well. So, the movie is 5+ stars.
I had Rome on DVD and purchased this BD set for better quality, and I didn't...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by smk


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rome with hindsight., 28 Dec 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched Rome when it first aired on the BBC in 2005 and thought it was amazing. It's been 5 years, now, and I saw it was fairly cheap on Amazon so got it for Christmas. It's only 3 days later and I've already seen most of the first series!

The thing that stands out this time around is just how good Rome was. The fall of the Roman Republic is quite possibly the most tumultuous period in Political history so the writers were always onto a winner when writing a big-budget drama. Watching the drama and violence may seem over-the-top, but practically all the major events and murders depicted here happened. In fact, if anything, despite this being one of the most violent and perverse mainstream dramas broadcast, the writers have shied away from the darker and more indulgent aspects of ancient Rome -- Mark Anthony, for instance, had several gay (as well as countless heterosexual) affairs and used to attend wild parties dressed as a god, in a chariot pulled by lions! (Anthony here, played superbly by James Purefoy, is still outrageous by modern standards, but surely the reality would have been too much to stomach for the BBC).

Where the writers succeed, though, is meshing this story onto strong, utterly-compelling character-driven plotting set within a landscape so fantastically realised that practically every shot takes your breath away. The day-to-day dirty, violent, horny reality of life in ancient cities has surely never been more accurately and beautifully portrayed. The streets of Rome are alive before your eyes, and the characters whose lives you follow through them are equally captivating (the hilarious and brutal story of unlikely friends, Centurion Lucius Vorenus and legionarie Titus Pullo; the family drama of high-society Atia and her children Ovtavia and Octavian (the future emperor Augustus); the political and military careers, the lives and loves of Anthony and Caesar; and supporting plots concerning the plotting against Caesar, the working conditions of Rome, the pagan religions and sacrifices, not to mention the careers and demises of Cato, Cicero and Brutus). As I say, the writers already had writing gold before they even put fingers to keyboard, but the effort they have put in to covering so many of Rome's facets, to also create memorising and loveable characters, has to be lauded as one of the best written dramas of our age.

Rome does have its faults (some historical inaccuracies and -- largely due to the events covered in series one being so powerful -- the second season isn't quite as strong), but there is nothing else like it (if you have been put off watching this from seeing the Tudors, give it a go, I think you will be surprised by the difference). I think I enjoyed Rome more second time around. I guess because it has been and gone and nothing has come close to matching it for sheer extravagance, debauchery and spectacle. I can't wait to watch it on Blue-Ray )

If (as I) you are interested in reading more about Caesar and Rome after viewing this, I'd recommend Rubicon: The Triumph and Tragedy of the Roman Republic (which covers the same period as season one) and Caesar: The Life of a Colossus (which is a comprehensive biography of Caesar, and covers his early life and military career in Gaul as well as events after the Rubicon).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodness, this is a brilliant series, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Sean Parry (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rome - Season 1-2 - Complete (HBO) [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I don't have a TV licence and so therefore only get to hear about 'new' shows once others have watched them and shown enough interest for me to part with cash and buy on their recommendation. In the case of Rome, I'm so glad they did.

The series is a visual and cultural feast with strong acting and exciting and realistic set pieces. I won't discuss the series in detail, but it covers some 20 - 30 years or Romes history with the rise of Julius Caesar to the rise of the first emperor Augustus. I was surprised by the attention and accuracy of the series and nicely, the Blu Ray has an option to watch through the entire series with pop-ups on screen detailing historical view points and facts. Certainly gives the series more depth and credibility.

I will issue a word of caution, the series is very violent, filled with sex and strong language. It's not overly shocking as it's in keeping with the charachters and the accuracy of what the Romans were actually like. With such accuracy the series is true to the Roman world and that key aspect presents this series as not only being a great television show with tremendous entertainment value, but also a show that blends in a real level of detail to keep the brains switched on too.

This is quite literally the best TV series I've seen in years and will be replaying the entire series over again.

As for the quality of the Blu Ray, simply stunning. The sound was crisp and the picture vivid and sharp. One of the best Blu Rays for video / audio quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rome Seasons 1 & 2, 4 April 2010
By 
M. Stanton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fantastic ! Absolutley brilliant. Sex, violence, politics. This is what a period drama should aspire to be like !! Whilst historically accurate or not, the sets and story lines will leave you hooked and wanting more. And while James Purefoy gets all the best story lines, and admittedly girls, as the brutish Mark Antony - it's the sensational performance of Simon Woods, as the cold and calculating Octavian who steals the show. This box set is probably the best period drama ever made, and is essential viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See Rome from a new perspective, 10 Jan 2011
This series has everything - great characters, superb acting, wonderful sets. It's just a pity the BBC couldn't sustain the co-funding for more than these two wonderful series (hence time passes more quickly in series two). The series does a great job of painting a picture of Roman life lived by Roman values - values often opposed and in stark contrast to the Judo-Christian ideas most in the West live by today. Hence their attitudes to life, death and sex are completely different. These are alien people in a sense, who lived by a religion (we call myth) that was as alive as Hinduism and Judaism (who were also contemporary). I loved the parallels with India (the way women dress, the idols, the markets and bright colours). I went there in the past and never really considered Rome could have been like those bustling streets in temple towns (particularly in the south). However, this series really helps you see the Romans from a new perspective. That really is some achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skin pores and designer stubble hairs..........., 3 Nov 2010
By 
Julie Cutler - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome - Season 1-2 - Complete (HBO) [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
......are how you judge the quality of a blu ray picture. This is a fantastic improvement on the original DVD release- so detailed: vibrant colours of the drapery, intense patches of Mediterranean light. Thankfully the only thing you can't smell is the drains.

As you can't quite see in the box illustration, the rerelease takes up a third of the space of the original (but delightfully whimsical)release in two boxes. Each series packs 5 disks into a box the thickness of a normal single blu ray. It's an amazing piece of engineering in itself. If you were hesitating about upgrading- DON'T. (Although let the title sequence pass by as the colours are rather gaudy in higher def)

Oh and the series is incredible (oh yeah, I did A level Latin many moons ago). It does capture the excesses, violence but sometimes the sheer delight of the Roman empire at this time. Historically it is umm well rather flaky at times... but it's in the spirit. (Hey if I can wince and smile at Book 6 of Virgil's Aeneid being quoted at least 25 years before it was published, the rest just passes me by) Or you can watch it for the sex and violence.

What seems truly inventive in the writing is the focus on the lives of the poor, in the guise of the always-in-the-wrong-place, Lucius Vorenus and Titus Pullo (two real soldiers who actually served under Julius Caesar and obviously stood out enough to be mentioned in his Gallic Wars- er the rest of their lives is fiction). Although they mix with the scary and powerful, they have to go back to eke a living among the dirt and corpses of the street. This is a refreshing improvement on I Claudius (which was Robert Graves' alternative slant on Suetonius' Lives of the 12 Caesars- (a sort of tabloid version of history), which leans towards the big cheeses of the Roman world (starting in the later years of Augustus' (aka Octavian) rule, after he'd brought peace and stability by being something of the last man standing). Delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Feb 2010
This review is from: Rome - Season 1-2 - Complete (HBO) [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Cannot believe I missed this first time around - Excellent.
The photography is spectacular and the acting is superb.
I can't recommend this boxset highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood ,intrigue,debauchery,greed and struggle for power.Rome in all its glory., 13 Aug 2014
This is arguably the most ambitious reproduction of the most crucial period of Roman history,the years before the rise of Julius Caesar and the civil wars following his assassination up to the final victory of Octavian.
There has been a concerted as well as succesful effort to reproduce this era accurately,although the historical facts of the period are treated more loosely.Quite possibly the most expensive series ever filmed,it is truly a grandiose spectacle.The fact that it is a joint British-Italian-U.S. production had a positive effect,as the fictitious "personal/family"part of the story is neatly weaved with the historical facts.The cast,predominantly British,is superb.All male characters ,plus the women characters of Atia,Nibe,and Servinia,are more convincing than one could hope for.Two exceptions only.The actresses playing Octavia and Cleopatra are,from an aesthetic point of view,totally insignificant,especially the first one.It is hard to believe that the producers could not have selected two aesthetically pleasing women to play these "femmes fatales".
All in all,however, the series is a pleasure to watch.Much better,from any point of you,than what we have seen in many a year.It is a great pity that it was "summarily concluded" in two seasons,instead of the planned five or six,due to the exorbitant production costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic show, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome - Season 1-2 - Complete (HBO) [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
How did I manage to miss this when it was first broadcast?? Bought the blu-ray box set after a recent trip to Pompeii got me fascinated with all things Roman and I absolutely LOVE it. Watched both series in 2 weeks and to be honest, it's completely spoilt all other TV shows for me (for now, at least)! I wish they'd commissioned a few more series! Who cares if it's not 100% true to history, it's fabulously entertaining and I'm sure I shall be rewatching many times in the future. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't get better, 7 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. J. Virdi "jaspal_virdi" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rome recounts the events surrounding the time of Julius Caesar's ascendency as emperor of the Roman Empire. This is not a retelling of historic events, but a look at the seedy underbelly that the historians missed. This, my friends, is unmissable drama. Both seasons of Rome will leave you wanting more. The story of Pullo and Vorenus is the highlight of this show, and the surrounding characters a brilliantly brought to life by a talented cast.

Simply fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious Filth!, 30 Jan 2008
By 
Nolene-Patricia Dougan "Dougs" (Ravara, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Revenge, treacherous intrigues, incest, betrayals, bloody violence, corrupting power, and explicit sex all contribute to the glory of Rome.
Rome delights viewers by giving them a delicious taste of the villainous history of the Roman Empire, between 52 B.C. and 31 B.C.. We see the rise and bloody fall of Julius Caesar and also the political machinations that followed, between Mark Antony and Gaius Octavian Caesar (Augustus Caesar). The stories of these characters are well-known to most of us, with writers such as William Shakespeare and Robert Graves offering us detailed character portraits. However, this is where Rome strives and succeeds to be different. Rome throws out all of these noble, heroic, and clichéd images and starts afresh. Antony, for example, is portrayed as the ultimate lad, his thirst for excess and vice unrelenting, and he just loves a good barbarous battle. Whereas Octavian is an intelligent and often cruel political strategist, who prefers to sit in his tent as the battle commences. Yet, this rehashing of characters is not all that Rome has to offer, for its genius lies in other quarters.
Rome brings to life creatures that are only briefly mentioned by historians, such as Vorenus and Pollo, two soldiers whose exploits are at centre-stage of all the action. And, according to Rome, both men have a profound, if often accidental, influence on Roman history. Vorenus is unintentionally responsible for Julius Caesar's death, and Pollo is responsible for Cleopatra's claim on the Roman Empire. If there are any heroes in Rome, Vorenus and Pollo are the most likely candidates. Vorenus is an honourable soldier, whose dedication to doing the right thing often leads him to ruin and unhappiness. However, Pollo is an entirely different sort of creature. He is just such a lovable, "big-bear," who the viewer can easily forgive the odd, homicidal rampage. Both men are fiercely loyal to each other, even after an argument, and they save each other's lives on numerous occasions.
But Rome's "piece de resistance" is without a doubt the character of Atia of the Julii, played by Polly Walker. She is scheming, vengeful, cruel, and, at times, foul-mouthed; you cannot help but adore her. She perceives life to be a series of trivialities sent by the God's to vex her. Only when she realises that she has lost Antony and that her son has become a cold, callous opportunist, just like his mother, do we see a solemn side to Atia's nature.
Of course, some will argue that Rome takes considerable liberties with history, but what writer worth their salt would ever let history get in the way of a good story?
Rome informs us of the salacious and villainous exploits of Roman nobility, yet it does not forget the Plebs and the Foot Soldiers, who constitute the life-blood of any empire. This epic saga is tantamount to glorious filth, and you will love every violently lecherous minute of it.
In short, Rome is a sumptuous production that sports a superb cast and outstanding writers, and is, quite simply, sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rome - Season 1-2 - Complete (HBO) [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free]
£29.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews