Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars18
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 7 September 2009
So Johnny Marr joined the Cribs, and they've all been working on an album for a year. That's kind of bizarre, right? And It's not a bad album. In fact, it's quite good. But the thing is, it's not as 'Cribs' as it should be.

It's not as passionate as previous outings, not as rock and roll, not as violent or dirty. This is a record that asks for your attention, rather than demands it. There's less in the way of shouting from the Jarmans, the lead guitar seems a little bit quieter than normal, and 'that' Marr rhythm can certainly be felt, sometimes for better (Ignore the Ignorant), and sometimes for the worse (Last Years Snow).

But don't let that put you off. 'Ignore the Ignorant' is another solid record from the Cribs, dotted with excellent moments. There's some lovely sing-along fodder (We Were Aborted, Cheat on Me, Nothing), a few songs that are just plain good (City of Bugs, Stick to Yr Guns, Victim of Mass Production), and, importantly, not too much in the way of filler (Again, Last Years Snow is probably the weakest track on the record).

So all in all, another accomplished album from the Wakefield bunch. But I get the feeling the whole thing will be much better in the flesh, as I shall find out at Leeds Academy in a few weeks time!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 September 2009
So Johnny Marr joined the Cribs, and they've all been working on an album for a year. That's kind of bizarre, right? And It's not a bad album. In fact, it's quite good. But the thing is, it's not as 'Cribs' as it should be.

It's not as passionate as previous outings, not as rock and roll, not as violent or dirty. This is a record that asks for your attention, rather than demands it. There's less in the way of shouting from the Jarmans, the lead guitar seems a little bit quieter than normal, and 'that' Marr rhythm can certainly be felt, sometimes for better (Ignore the Ignorant), and sometimes for the worse (Last Years Snow).

But don't let that put you off. 'Ignore the Ignorant' is another solid record from the Cribs, dotted with excellent moments. There's some lovely sing-along fodder (We Were Aborted, Cheat on Me, Nothing), a few songs that are just plain good (City of Bugs, Stick to Yr Guns, Victim of Mass Production), and, importantly, not too much in the way of filler (Again, Last Years Snow is probably the weakest track on the record).

So all in all, another accomplished album from the Wakefield bunch. But I get the feeling the whole thing will be much better in the flesh, as I shall find out at Leeds Academy in a few weeks time!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2009
This is an incredible album. I wasn't familiar with the Cribs before (this is their 4th album I think) and being a massive guitar head decided to take a chance on this after hearing Marr was playing on it. I saw the kitsch video for 'Cheat On Me' on NME.COM and was really, really impressed - the vocals on the track are (and on the rest of the album) utterly brilliant.

Anyway, I found it hard to believe that each song on this album just got progressively better and better - you listen to 'We Share The Same Skies' and in your heart youre thinking, 'Thats easily gotta be the highlight of the album.. the rest is gonna be filler' To my delight this was FAR from the case as the moody shudder of 'City Of Bugs' lurches into view - blowing it of the water and then the crowning glory of the absolutely exquisite 'Save Your Secrets' - its just totally sublime indie, the songwriting is unquestionably brilliant, the two guitarists play their hearts out and the singing... Jesus I cant believe how great the two twins sound on each song. It feels like i've discovered something uniquely special with this record (and band).

So these guys then, are my new favourite band - so much so that i'm gonna be investing in the rest of their back catalogue come Christmas. A genuinely likable bunch who it seems we can really believe in for a change. A rarity in 2009.

BTW you should definitely get the CD with the DVD version - theres a little documentary about the band and they all seem like brilliant, down to earth blokes. I hope Marr stays with them for good, theyre a great fit.

Any genuine fan of music could not fail to see the beauty of this album - many thanks to the Cribs for bringing these tunes into my life - theyll be with me for years and years to come.

Much love

x
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2010
Despite being twice their age, Marr seems to have found a new niche with The Cribs. The opening riff to "We Share The Same Skies" is simply stunning but I just can't help thinking that there are shades of The Smiths "You Just Haven't Earned It Yet Baby" in there?

A great record.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
Not the Johnny Marr triumph I was expecting. I bought this album because Marr described it 'as good as anything I've done' at least according to Wikipedia. His guitar playing is as good as ever on the album with plenty of his signature style riffs an licks. However the album itself isn't worthy of the treatment he has given it and lacks a certain magic. The second half is much better than the first but there is little to keep you coming back for more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2009
It was hard to supress a 'huh?' at news of Johnny Marr joining The Cribs. Firstly, I was under the impression he'd not long ago shacked up with Modest Mouse, but I guess that's what's known as an 'open relationship'. Second, it just looks weird, leaving The Cribs resembling one of those dinosaur rock bands with one original member who hasn't succumbed to drug abuse or other general mishap. Most importantly, surely capturing the mojo of one of Britain's all time great bands isn't as simple as parachuting in their guitarist?

Well, yes and no. Marr clearly remains a songwriting force to be reckoned with; his input here is distinct, and has resulted in a great set of songs. The punk sound that dominated previous Cribs' outings is tempered here somewhat, and as a result the thrilling, seat of the pants rush of Men's Needs, where the songs sounded like they might collapse at any moment, has been exchanged for a more carefully crafted, disciplined approach. Even the songs that clearly follow the existing 'Cribs template' like Nothing and We Were Aborted are more polished. This does highlight the melodies in a more deliberate, matter of fact way, and there's no real clutter here. Marr's jangle sits well with the Jarman's grungy riffage, complimenting rather than dominating it.

Unsurprisingly, a lot of what's here sounds like The Smiths, from the arpeggiated sweep of We Share the Same Skies to the 'Panic' like jig of Ignore the Ignorant. Of course, inviting these sort of comparisons can be less than flattering. I've always thought the Jarmans' competent lyricists, but when you're accustomed to hearing Morrissey's unmatchably dextrous wit riding Marr's rickenbacker, the Jarmans can't help but seem a little less impressive, as if Daniel Radcliffe were to stand a little too close to Robert Pattinson on the red carpet.

Overall though, you have to commend The Cribs for managing such a distinctly different, yet still largely excellent record. They've obviously set out to make a change and succeeded on their own terms, where many of their post-punk peers' 're-inventions' seem undistinguishable to the naked ear (yes I'm talking to you Franz Ferdinand).
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
This is a really great ablum of The Cribs. Johhny mar just makes the band more complete. This album is different to there other three albums but it is a great album to get !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
Only played twice, but sounds solid. Nothing yet strikes me as being as good as "We Share the Same Skies".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
I wanted to broaden my music collection and this has got some great guitar playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2009
I just want to counteract any arguments that follow this idea of 'Ignore the Ignorant' not being 'Cribs' enough; that the album is not like their sharp, shouty predecessing albums. This may be true, but IT'S A GOOD THING! Bands need to evolve and I think the addition of Johnny Marr has helped them do just that. The four of them have created a richer sound in this album, and still kept that frustrated Cribs touch with songs like 'We Were Aborted'. The passion is very much still there; 'Cheat On Me' has some brilliant vocals and lovely guitar, as has 'We Share The Same Skies'. They've experimented, sneaking in what sounds like a Stone Roses influence in 'City of Bugs', with a bit of The Editors in there too. Sure, there may be one of two songs some would consider 'weaker' than the others, but one band cannot produce four albums in which every song is as quirky, violent and urgent as, say, 'Our Bovine Public'.
To conclude, the band have EVOLVED, and in a fantastic way, I'd say. Lovely album.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)