Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Marr joined the Cribs
So Johnny Marr joined the Cribs, and they've all been working on an album for a year. That's kind of bizarre, right? And It's not a bad album. In fact, it's quite good. But the thing is, it's not as 'Cribs' as it should be.

It's not as passionate as previous outings, not as rock and roll, not as violent or dirty. This is a record that asks for your attention,...
Published on 7 Sept. 2009 by J. P. Ellison

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Marr drags them up a gear
Not the Johnny Marr triumph I was expecting. I bought this album because Marr described it 'as good as anything I've done' at least according to Wikipedia. His guitar playing is as good as ever on the album with plenty of his signature style riffs an licks. However the album itself isn't worthy of the treatment he has given it and lacks a certain magic. The second half is...
Published on 2 Nov. 2010 by jester j


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Marr joined the Cribs, 7 Sept. 2009
By 
J. P. Ellison "jpellison" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ignore The Ignorant (Audio CD)
So Johnny Marr joined the Cribs, and they've all been working on an album for a year. That's kind of bizarre, right? And It's not a bad album. In fact, it's quite good. But the thing is, it's not as 'Cribs' as it should be.

It's not as passionate as previous outings, not as rock and roll, not as violent or dirty. This is a record that asks for your attention, rather than demands it. There's less in the way of shouting from the Jarmans, the lead guitar seems a little bit quieter than normal, and 'that' Marr rhythm can certainly be felt, sometimes for better (Ignore the Ignorant), and sometimes for the worse (Last Years Snow).

But don't let that put you off. 'Ignore the Ignorant' is another solid record from the Cribs, dotted with excellent moments. There's some lovely sing-along fodder (We Were Aborted, Cheat on Me, Nothing), a few songs that are just plain good (City of Bugs, Stick to Yr Guns, Victim of Mass Production), and, importantly, not too much in the way of filler (Again, Last Years Snow is probably the weakest track on the record).

So all in all, another accomplished album from the Wakefield bunch. But I get the feeling the whole thing will be much better in the flesh, as I shall find out at Leeds Academy in a few weeks time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Marr joined the Cribs, 9 Sept. 2009
By 
J. P. Ellison "jpellison" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ignore The Ignorant (Audio CD)
So Johnny Marr joined the Cribs, and they've all been working on an album for a year. That's kind of bizarre, right? And It's not a bad album. In fact, it's quite good. But the thing is, it's not as 'Cribs' as it should be.

It's not as passionate as previous outings, not as rock and roll, not as violent or dirty. This is a record that asks for your attention, rather than demands it. There's less in the way of shouting from the Jarmans, the lead guitar seems a little bit quieter than normal, and 'that' Marr rhythm can certainly be felt, sometimes for better (Ignore the Ignorant), and sometimes for the worse (Last Years Snow).

But don't let that put you off. 'Ignore the Ignorant' is another solid record from the Cribs, dotted with excellent moments. There's some lovely sing-along fodder (We Were Aborted, Cheat on Me, Nothing), a few songs that are just plain good (City of Bugs, Stick to Yr Guns, Victim of Mass Production), and, importantly, not too much in the way of filler (Again, Last Years Snow is probably the weakest track on the record).

So all in all, another accomplished album from the Wakefield bunch. But I get the feeling the whole thing will be much better in the flesh, as I shall find out at Leeds Academy in a few weeks time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album Of 2009, 15 Oct. 2009
By 
C. F. Boyle (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ignore The Ignorant (Audio CD)
This is an incredible album. I wasn't familiar with the Cribs before (this is their 4th album I think) and being a massive guitar head decided to take a chance on this after hearing Marr was playing on it. I saw the kitsch video for 'Cheat On Me' on NME.COM and was really, really impressed - the vocals on the track are (and on the rest of the album) utterly brilliant.

Anyway, I found it hard to believe that each song on this album just got progressively better and better - you listen to 'We Share The Same Skies' and in your heart youre thinking, 'Thats easily gotta be the highlight of the album.. the rest is gonna be filler' To my delight this was FAR from the case as the moody shudder of 'City Of Bugs' lurches into view - blowing it of the water and then the crowning glory of the absolutely exquisite 'Save Your Secrets' - its just totally sublime indie, the songwriting is unquestionably brilliant, the two guitarists play their hearts out and the singing... Jesus I cant believe how great the two twins sound on each song. It feels like i've discovered something uniquely special with this record (and band).

So these guys then, are my new favourite band - so much so that i'm gonna be investing in the rest of their back catalogue come Christmas. A genuinely likable bunch who it seems we can really believe in for a change. A rarity in 2009.

BTW you should definitely get the CD with the DVD version - theres a little documentary about the band and they all seem like brilliant, down to earth blokes. I hope Marr stays with them for good, theyre a great fit.

Any genuine fan of music could not fail to see the beauty of this album - many thanks to the Cribs for bringing these tunes into my life - theyll be with me for years and years to come.

Much love

x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marr fires on all cylinders!, 14 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Ignore The Ignorant (Audio CD)
Despite being twice their age, Marr seems to have found a new niche with The Cribs. The opening riff to "We Share The Same Skies" is simply stunning but I just can't help thinking that there are shades of The Smiths "You Just Haven't Earned It Yet Baby" in there?

A great record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Marr drags them up a gear, 2 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Ignore The Ignorant (Audio CD)
Not the Johnny Marr triumph I was expecting. I bought this album because Marr described it 'as good as anything I've done' at least according to Wikipedia. His guitar playing is as good as ever on the album with plenty of his signature style riffs an licks. However the album itself isn't worthy of the treatment he has given it and lacks a certain magic. The second half is much better than the first but there is little to keep you coming back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oi, grandad!, 29 Nov. 2009
By 
J. Jenkins (Dudley Port, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ignore The Ignorant (Audio CD)
It was hard to supress a 'huh?' at news of Johnny Marr joining The Cribs. Firstly, I was under the impression he'd not long ago shacked up with Modest Mouse, but I guess that's what's known as an 'open relationship'. Second, it just looks weird, leaving The Cribs resembling one of those dinosaur rock bands with one original member who hasn't succumbed to drug abuse or other general mishap. Most importantly, surely capturing the mojo of one of Britain's all time great bands isn't as simple as parachuting in their guitarist?

Well, yes and no. Marr clearly remains a songwriting force to be reckoned with; his input here is distinct, and has resulted in a great set of songs. The punk sound that dominated previous Cribs' outings is tempered here somewhat, and as a result the thrilling, seat of the pants rush of Men's Needs, where the songs sounded like they might collapse at any moment, has been exchanged for a more carefully crafted, disciplined approach. Even the songs that clearly follow the existing 'Cribs template' like Nothing and We Were Aborted are more polished. This does highlight the melodies in a more deliberate, matter of fact way, and there's no real clutter here. Marr's jangle sits well with the Jarman's grungy riffage, complimenting rather than dominating it.

Unsurprisingly, a lot of what's here sounds like The Smiths, from the arpeggiated sweep of We Share the Same Skies to the 'Panic' like jig of Ignore the Ignorant. Of course, inviting these sort of comparisons can be less than flattering. I've always thought the Jarmans' competent lyricists, but when you're accustomed to hearing Morrissey's unmatchably dextrous wit riding Marr's rickenbacker, the Jarmans can't help but seem a little less impressive, as if Daniel Radcliffe were to stand a little too close to Robert Pattinson on the red carpet.

Overall though, you have to commend The Cribs for managing such a distinctly different, yet still largely excellent record. They've obviously set out to make a change and succeeded on their own terms, where many of their post-punk peers' 're-inventions' seem undistinguishable to the naked ear (yes I'm talking to you Franz Ferdinand).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cribs, 20 April 2011
This review is from: Ignore The Ignorant (Audio CD)
This is a really great ablum of The Cribs. Johhny mar just makes the band more complete. This album is different to there other three albums but it is a great album to get !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Victims of mass production?, 1 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Ignore The Ignorant (Audio CD)
I just want to counteract any arguments that follow this idea of 'Ignore the Ignorant' not being 'Cribs' enough; that the album is not like their sharp, shouty predecessing albums. This may be true, but IT'S A GOOD THING! Bands need to evolve and I think the addition of Johnny Marr has helped them do just that. The four of them have created a richer sound in this album, and still kept that frustrated Cribs touch with songs like 'We Were Aborted'. The passion is very much still there; 'Cheat On Me' has some brilliant vocals and lovely guitar, as has 'We Share The Same Skies'. They've experimented, sneaking in what sounds like a Stone Roses influence in 'City of Bugs', with a bit of The Editors in there too. Sure, there may be one of two songs some would consider 'weaker' than the others, but one band cannot produce four albums in which every song is as quirky, violent and urgent as, say, 'Our Bovine Public'.
To conclude, the band have EVOLVED, and in a fantastic way, I'd say. Lovely album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cribs+Marr=Superb Album, 9 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Ignore The Ignorant (Audio CD)
This album is excellent the addition of Johnny Marr to the band has really progressed the sound. The Cribs have and always will be criminally underated and i really dont know why they are great songwriters and musicians. I have seen them live when touring this album and they were immense one of the best live acts around. I think this album is perfect catchy tunes with big choruses but still with the passion the cribs always displayed in previous albums. The best song on the album has to be city of bugs a masterpiece cant wait for the next album fingers crossed Marr will still be on board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is indie rock!!, 15 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Ignore The Ignorant (Audio CD)
I guess that many people are getting tired of idie....but I like it!!It is a clean and distinct sound!I also like this album, which entails one powerful ballad (save your secrets).I think this band has potentials and their songs have a nice rythm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ignore The Ignorant [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album: Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews