Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title but unbelievable value
First, let's be clear what this album isn't. It isn't a beginner's guide to African funk. Out of 35 tracks, maybe half a dozen could be classified as funk in any meaningful way. In fact, if I was playing a strictly funk set, there's hardly anything here I'd risk putting on. So, if you've bought this because you enjoyed the Africa Funk or Club Africa compilations, you're...
Published on 27 May 2010 by S Ounsworth

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but:
Worth having as there is a broad range of modern African pop on this set BUT most of it is not funk!!!
Published on 25 Sep 2010 by G. Platt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title but unbelievable value, 27 May 2010
By 
S Ounsworth (brighton,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to African Funk (Audio CD)
First, let's be clear what this album isn't. It isn't a beginner's guide to African funk. Out of 35 tracks, maybe half a dozen could be classified as funk in any meaningful way. In fact, if I was playing a strictly funk set, there's hardly anything here I'd risk putting on. So, if you've bought this because you enjoyed the Africa Funk or Club Africa compilations, you're probably going to be disappointed.

But if your interest is in African music in its own right, specifically 60s and 70s West African electric dance music, this is just a joy. For a [...] post free you'd expect one CD of fairly obvious tunes, but instead you get three full length CDs stuffed with great tunes which are actually for the most part pretty obscure. I'm into this stuff and most of the tunes if not the artists were new to me.

Don't be put off by the price. This is one of those times when something that seems too good to be true is straight up. Senegalese band Xalam's "Ade" (arguably one of the very best tunes ever recorded by an African band and virtually unobtainable in its original form) is worth your [...] alone; the rest of the set's just one enormous extended bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick and slick, 17 July 2010
Agreed with the other reviewers: I picked this bad boy up on a 2 for [] quid offer in a high street store. For the price it is unbelievable quality.

As with any compilation it's a mixed bag, but the vast majority of the tracks included in this selection are definitely not filler. As the other reviewer said it's not funk in any recognisable sense in the US tradition but most tracks carry a heavy groove.

The tracks swing from the lyrical to the heavyweight to the spiritual. The general level of musicality is outstanding. The quality of recording is pretty good, it's got a nice grittiness that doesn't compromise the music itself.

This is probably one of the cheapest ways of seriously expanding your mind, so do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too Inexpensive?, 19 Nov 2009
By 
B. PRINCE "Sound King" (Portsmouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to African Funk (Audio CD)
When you see a 3 album set for such a low price, with a cover that looks (deliberately) amateur, the natural reaction is that it cannot be any good, or that the tracks will be in your collection on other albums. But if you want a primer to African music, upbeat dance, feelgood beats, or maybe want to take your guitar playing in a different direction...whatever the reason, this is a great place to start. These beginners guides will boost your collection, Nascente have a solid reputation, and this one is put together by Nigel Williamson, a contributing editor for the World Music mag Songlines. Track notes brief but informative, crazy horns, guitar lines that twist and turn, complex rhythms, dancehall voodoo, perhaps knowing what the words are about would spoil it. You can't go wrong. Open your ears and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but:, 25 Sep 2010
By 
G. Platt (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to African Funk (Audio CD)
Worth having as there is a broad range of modern African pop on this set BUT most of it is not funk!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They cook like no other - great value, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to African Funk (Audio CD)
The real mother lode of African Funk can be found on the Analog Africa Label, but, for a few quid, this is as good a starting place as any. 3cds , just listen and groove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great anthology of African music, 23 April 2013
By 
Mr. Lawrence Knight (Egremont Cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to African Funk (Audio CD)
I don't know about beginners but it is a great place to start I suppose. 3 cds of African music mostly from the 70 & 80's.. Every style is represented & every track is great no filler! Buy it now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FUN,FUN…., 13 Aug 2014
By 
js mckay (south africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to African Funk (Audio CD)
GREAT ALBUM,DONT KNOW IF IT'S ALL FUNK,BUT HEY IT'S FUN,FUN AND WHO CARES WHAT YOU CALL IT IF YOU'RE HAVING A FUN TIME?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to African Funk (Audio CD)
every funk fan should have one in ya collection...x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheerful, lively, diverse, 25 Nov 2010
By 
Chris Gill (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to African Funk (Audio CD)
Bought as an introduction to this area of music, I have listened through this 3CD collection twice and it has made me feel cheerful and happy each time. It's a lovely mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginner's Guide to African Funk
Beginner's Guide to African Funk by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews