Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance/Disco heaven
With a disc for each of the 70s, 80s and 90s, this is a fine collection of Disco and Dance classics, each in its original extended form. So faithful are the transfers to CD that you can even hear the vinyl crackle as the needle beds-in for Chaka Khan's belter 'I'm Every Woman', while The Sugarhill Gang's seminal 'Rappers delight' took me straight back to the birth of...
Published on 15 Nov 2010 by Captain Pugwash

versus
1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTE GARBAGE!!!
I couldn't disagree more with most of the reviews for this cd compilation. I've listened to all three cd's today, that's a few hours I'
m not going to get back! and I can't believe titled it "the biggest anthems..." Seriously regred wasting my money on this rubbish.
Published on 6 April 2011 by MR G A TITHER


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance/Disco heaven, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: 12"" DANCE: The Biggest Anthems from 3 Decades of Club Culture (Audio CD)
With a disc for each of the 70s, 80s and 90s, this is a fine collection of Disco and Dance classics, each in its original extended form. So faithful are the transfers to CD that you can even hear the vinyl crackle as the needle beds-in for Chaka Khan's belter 'I'm Every Woman', while The Sugarhill Gang's seminal 'Rappers delight' took me straight back to the birth of commercial rap music. Donna Summer's disco leviathan 'I Feel Love' provides several minutes of unadulterated pleasure, and Chic's 'Good Times' is a reminder of why the producers were the kings of late 70s/early 80s dance music.
80s highlights include 'Blue Monday', and 'Love Can't Turn Around' by Farley Jackmaster Funk, while the 1990s are represented by such luminaries as Adamski, Dee-Lite and DNA featuring Suzanne Vega.
Overall this is majestic selection of danceable chart hits from the halcyon decades of dance music, and with a track listing that eschews some over-familiar tracks for lesser known gems, this is a thoroughly essential purchase for all lovers of great pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12"dance the biggest anthems from 3 decades of club culture, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12"" DANCE: The Biggest Anthems from 3 Decades of Club Culture (Audio CD)
12"dance 3 cd box set ,best box set ive ever bought in a long time best value for monie,could not find in hmv localy till i came on amazon for them would highly recommoend for the music lover ,raver ,club goer who likes this type of music,.its a must would make ideal gift for anybody .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have a dream of Rhino Records compiling a "Dance Nuggets", 19 Nov 2009
By 
Stan FREDO (BORDEAUX, Aquitaine, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 12"" DANCE: The Biggest Anthems from 3 Decades of Club Culture (Audio CD)
In one form or other (mainly ol' vinyl 12-inchers), I have bought 20 of the tracks spread on these 3 CDs. And I've heard/taped/danced to pretty much all the rest (even Sheila. But, in France, it is deemed to be, at best, a "guilty pleasure"). It is indeed a valuable comp of historic dance tracks for a neat price. First instance of seeing 'Good Times' and 'Rapper's Delight' back-to-back on an album. Teen and 20-something crate-diggers should buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRIDGE THE DECADES, 27 Feb 2011
By 
Patrick Pearson "pp" (mk uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12"" DANCE: The Biggest Anthems from 3 Decades of Club Culture (Audio CD)
GREAT 3 IN ONE 70s 80s 90s.
Cannot fault this collection.sure i have heard most of these before but never on the same compilation
CLEVER! CLEVER! music for all the family.Value is outstanding .
i can hear families fighting over what disc to play first.nineties disc for me.
loved "killer" by Seal,made me remember how great this track is.
Utah Saints "something good" describes this collection.
It is probably my favourite featuring vocal by the talented ,underated Kate Bush.
we love you Kate ,please play live for all your fans.
got to go,must play it again.....well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dancing for parties, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: 12"" DANCE: The Biggest Anthems from 3 Decades of Club Culture (Audio CD)
Purchased for a party, and how great it was to boogie to some of those 12"/ long play classics spanning 3 decades!! Party continued well past the Witching hour! Great to find them in this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, great value!, 5 Oct 2009
This review is from: 12"" DANCE: The Biggest Anthems from 3 Decades of Club Culture (Audio CD)
There are a loads of original extended mixes on this album which I've been trying to get my hands on for ages. All the classics are on here - a really well thought out track list and a genuine education in the progression of dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 6 Nov 2009
By 
A. High (Northwood UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12"" DANCE: The Biggest Anthems from 3 Decades of Club Culture (Audio CD)
I saw the advert for this on TV and after a quick look at the track listings went ahead and ordered it. I was a little disappointed as the advert seemed to play all the best bits but on the whole this CD is quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zcellent, 9 Oct 2009
This review is from: 12"" DANCE: The Biggest Anthems from 3 Decades of Club Culture (Audio CD)
Very good collection, my only complaint is there are not enough tracks from late 70's. Hopefully therte will be a volume 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for driving!, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12"" DANCE: The Biggest Anthems from 3 Decades of Club Culture (Audio CD)
I love this album, it has a great selection.I would definitely buy more like this one again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Dance Anthems album!, 5 Oct 2009
This review is from: 12"" DANCE: The Biggest Anthems from 3 Decades of Club Culture (Audio CD)
This tracklist looks AWESOME!!!
Some of the biggest dance anthems from my lifetime and before are on here- Inner City, Sister Sledge, New Order, Beats International, Sugar Hill Gang, S Express, Tom's Diner, Donna Summer, Chaka Khan, Everything But The Girl, Adamski (!!)- I tried to get some of these on 12" when I got my 1st turn tables and they were dis-continued, so to have the chance to buy the full original 12" mixes of so many of the biggest anthems in history is excellent news.
Will be buying this on lunch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews