Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like angels in flight...
The Memory of Trees opens with what has to be one of enya's most impressive instrumentals so far, a great piece that almost makes you feel like you are floating away on clouds of crimson, and then its into the vivacious hit single 'Anywhere Is' which is one of those songs that is so catchy you wonder why it hasn't been written before! ( I can still remember what I was...
Published on 30 Sep 2003 by WessexMatt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not my favourite from Enya.
Published 5 months ago by Mrs. N. Allis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like angels in flight..., 30 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Memory Of Trees (Audio CD)
The Memory of Trees opens with what has to be one of enya's most impressive instrumentals so far, a great piece that almost makes you feel like you are floating away on clouds of crimson, and then its into the vivacious hit single 'Anywhere Is' which is one of those songs that is so catchy you wonder why it hasn't been written before! ( I can still remember what I was doing when I first heard it on the radio, it made that much of an impression on me!) It has to be up there with 'Orinoco Flow' as being on of Enya's greatest!
Another type song that I really like and Enya does so well is 'Pax Doeorum', it has a slightly darker feeling - Latin chant to it, which gives some great contrast to the album. Other favourites include 'China Roses', and the more simple yet perfectly performed 'Hope Has a Place' & 'Once You Had Gold' In which the clarity & beauty of enya's vocals really shine through.
The overall feel of this album is of being more lavish, than Enya's previous ones, with even more lush multi-layered ethereal vocals and keyboards than before, and although it doesn't quite have the same emotional feel as her Watermark or Shepherd Moons albums, it certainly has a more uplifting edge to it.
At the end of the day a perfect album to escape to, relax, uplift and inspire you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In New Age Music - Enya is the Best of the Best, 8 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Memory Of Trees (Audio CD)
'Anywhere Is' is the star song of this album. While I consider 'The Memory of Trees' to be her best album, they are all very good in terms of transporting your mind to distant places you may never travel to in your lifetime. In the end, although I must be 'On My Way Home', a journey with Enya is always worth repeating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational Artist!!, 21 Feb 2006
By 
Victoria Noble "vixen87" (Maidstone, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Memory Of Trees (Audio CD)
- Being of irish origin i guess i am biased however, this is an amazing album. Enya's music is both sensual and dramtic - the track "Pax Deorum" sung in latin is so powerful yet calming and never ceases to hit me in a way that no poetry or art or any other music has ever done before!!
- on the other hand tracks such as "Athair Ar Neamh" are so peaceful and tranquil.
- all of the songs are beautifully composed and stick quite strongly to the traditional gealic origins which are made to soar through Enya's haunting yet warming vocals.
- i find that there is a deepness to enya's music that enables anyone to become drawn in and find it very personal - i find her music both Audible and physical there is a body to the music that i have found missing in other celtic music!
there is a real variety to this album and highly recommend it. also "Watermark" is a very good and traditional 'enya-styled' album as i find "A Day Without Rain" lost some of it's intimacy!
anyway really hope this helps
Kind regards
Vicky (18)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful - deserves more stars than I can give here, 21 July 2004
By 
Mary Chrapliwy (NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Memory Of Trees (Audio CD)
Firstly, I admit to being an ardent Enya fan. Still, some music touches your heart in ways nothing else can. This CD contains just such music. This music is atmospheric and uplifting. Enya has a voice like fine crystal, pure and beyond compare. The most beautiful track on this CD is Athair Ar Nearmh - it has crystal clear beauty of such quality that you can only imagine the angels of heaven being capable of achieving it - you just need to close your eyes and feel the beauty of it. I am in complete awe ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I have been given one moment from heaven...", 13 Jun 2010
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Memory Of Trees (Audio CD)
'The Memory of Trees' has become my second favourite Enya album after 'Watermark'. 'The Memory of Trees' proved to me that Enya is still a force to be reckoned with. The single that was lifted from this wonderful album, 'Anywhere Is' is a catchy tune and moves along nicely then makes way to the almost hymnal 'Pax Deorum' which opens with sounds of rainfall. Enya's voices and musicality on this track on almost pitch perfect. For someone who does all the vocals and plays all the instruments herself, she makes a truly exquisite sound.

The rest of the album is nearly flawless and the tracks flow together really nicely. Finishing off with the wonderful closing track 'On My Way Home' this album is testament to her genius and skill as a multi-instrumentalist and singer who sings both lead and backing vocals. Truly stunning and wonderful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The memory of trees, 17 Jan 2004
By 
Trevor Baynes (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Memory Of Trees (Audio CD)
Enya is one of the most relaxing artists around today. For non-taxing music do listen to these marvellous tracks particularly late at night. You will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 5 Jan 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: MEMORY OF TREES (Audio CD)
[One CD, with a running time of 44 minutes.] Ah...this wonderful CD shows off Enya's silky smooth voice. The eleven tunes are hauntingly beautiful. I won't try to categorize her music, it is simply too rich and complex.
The paperwork includes the words to ten of the songs (The Memory of Trees is a musical number), and two nice color pictures of Enya. (I love extras!) So, if you like Enya's past hits, then I think that you will like this one as well. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good album, 11 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory Of Trees (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for my husband, who is always playing Enya CD's in his car. He was delighted with it and plays it all the time. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill!, 28 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Memory Of Trees (Audio CD)
Everything about this album - the music, the production, the quality is fantastic. It is my favourite of all of Enya's albums, and may even be the best of my entire collection. Haunting and beautiful - every last track. I just got A Day Without Rain (Nov 2000) - it is worth a listen but The Memory of Trees will spend umpteen times longer in my CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peaceful, relaxing and calming, 6 April 2000
This review is from: The Memory Of Trees (Audio CD)
This has to be one of Enya's best, sit back relax and drift away with the music, Enya takes you away on a magical journey to a far away place where every thing is beautiful and light, remember the trees, hear them singing..... INSPIRATIONAL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews