Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! Can't stop listening to it!
Loved this album! Good to have an album that you can play right through and enjoy every track! Few of my favourites are 'here on this earth', 'escape me' and his collaborations with Calvin Harris and Nelly Furtado. Seen Tiesto play in Edinburgh at start of this month and he was fantastic! Can't wait to see him again.
Published on 24 Mar 2010 by Susie Chick

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars really poor
This is a really poor trance artist album. Ive been into trance big time for the last 10 years now and needless to say have purchased a number of artist albums over the year and will push the boat out and say this is the worst one i have ever heard. I bought this in the knowledge that i had always preferred Tiesto when seeing him DJ in clubs or when compiling his search...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by Mr. S. J. Spooner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars really poor, 27 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. S. J. Spooner "Sam Spooner" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
This is a really poor trance artist album. Ive been into trance big time for the last 10 years now and needless to say have purchased a number of artist albums over the year and will push the boat out and say this is the worst one i have ever heard. I bought this in the knowledge that i had always preferred Tiesto when seeing him DJ in clubs or when compiling his search of sunrise albums, compared to his own productions, but i spent the tenner and thought id give this a go.

The result - a album of poor, cheesy, non-descript dance music. He has crammed so many songs on here as well and just cherry picked some celebrity vocalists to make the album look more appealing. Non of the tracks are particularly driving, interesting or uplifting and some of the vocals are hideous. The tracks are all really short as well with no build up/intro/outro and certainly no chance to use any for CD mixing/DJ purposes if thats your cup of tea. And i agree that although most songs are not even really trance, they are also not really anything else in particular and wouldnt do well in the charts. "I will be here" the current release is probably the most catchy!

I cant think of much more to say about it really other than dont bother. much better recent artist albums can be found by jon o'callaghan or cosmic gate and although i only thought armins Imagine was average to good, it absolutely wipes the floor with this. I got armins universal religion 4 at the same time as this and that is worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tiesto abandons depth & melody for pop-synth mediocrity, 23 Jun 2011
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
As a dedicated follower of Tiesto's melodic sound since I was about 14, I cannot tell you how disappointed by this album I was. I know the style had been changing over the last few albums, but it's here that the days of depth, progression and haunting melody, characteristic of the In Search of Sunrise series; Revolution, In My Memory, Nyana, Just be, Magik 1-7 and so forth are well and truly gone. I only hope someone follows that great path that he has set, as he has abandoned it himself. Kaleidoscope has almost nothing going for it. The tracks are cheesy, and fail to be catchy or memorable. They are, largely, tacky and cheap sounding pop-synth trash, with pop artists providing vocals, including Nelly Furtado and Dizzy Rascal. There is no depth here, and it's even quite self-indulgent in places. High points? The track featuring the Cary Brothers wasn't too bad, but the best tracks are probably 'Always Near' and 'Surrounded by Light', which are nice instrumentals, and are very rare melodic respites during an otherwise disappointing listening experience. Sadly, both tracks are very short.

I think the In search of sunrise mix series is the best mix series money can buy, especially the earlier installments. It baffles me that someone who could so patiently assemble the hauntingly beautiful 'In search of sunrise 3' could produce this shallow piece of nothing. I can only assume that he wants to appeal to a bigger audience, having become bigger than the trance genre himself. In doing so, he has abandoned so many of his fans. I'm just glad I went to see him play at the In search of sunrise 5 & 7 parties, before this genre shift occurred.

So, so disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 29 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
I have been a huge fan of Tiesto's reocrdings - all I would rate as above average to excellent. However, this was such a disappointment - it isn't trance remotely, and whatever it can be categorised as, is terrible. I understand that Richard Durand has now become the DJ responsible for the In Search of Sunrise albums due to Tiesto's discredited work. Tiesto: what has happened? you have sold out and let us down... :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tiesto Trash, 10 Oct 2009
By 
Alan "carrd2" (Stafford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
I never thought I would find myself reviewing an album by Tiesto in this way. His own albums have never been as good as his usually excellent compilation ones, particularly the very good In Search of Sunrise volumes, but this album is absolute rubbish.
When I saw the playlist and saw that the majority of tracks had 'featuring' after the title, I had presumed that I'd be listening to average trance with contributions from guest vocalists. It's worse than this - for a start, the awesome flowing trance brilliance that Tiesto was infamous for in the last 90s/early 00s (Urban Train, 643 and Love Comes Again for example) is nowhere to be seen, and there isn't even an element of more modern contemporary trance on this album. It's basically random beats and electro synth sounds slowed down with an overbearing and commercialised vocal slammed on top.
The problem is, I wouldn't even recommend this album to a pop music lover. None of the songs are even cheesy enough to be catchy, and frankly they all sound pretty similar. Maybe more people will be attracted to the album with names such as Calvin Harris and Nelly Furtado on the playlist, but don't expect anything amazing even if you are a fan of such artists.
On the odd track with no vocals, all we have are non-uplifting, non-thought provoking sounds put together in what seems like five minutes. Anyone with a £50 music package and a keyboard could create this themselves pretty quickly.
For lovers of old Tiesto music, this album is a crying and depressing disappointment. His compilation albums, albeit with no In Search of Sunrise (yet) this year, are still good, but it seems that his love for the limelight has been overtaken by his desire and ability to create quality classic trance music. I'm all for an artist changing their stance or genre if afterwards it's still as good quality, but not only is this totally different, it genuinely has no thought or admiration attached to it.
For loves of trance, Tiesto of old or just generally good quality music, I would strongly urge you away from this album. Let's just hope Tiesto changes back to his better days soon, or else he may face total 'non-commercial' abandonment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars First impressions - uninspired commercial sell-out, 6 Oct 2009
By 
R. Wilson (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
Oh dear... can this possibly be the same man that brought us the magic of the recent In Search Of Sunrise mixes who's now churning out radio-friendly, uninspired, middle-of-the-road commercial homogenised dance?

There are the beginnings of some nice tunes here but none of the touches that would make them really special, and there are too many one-finger synthesiser melodies that could be from any dance album of the last decade. And of course there's the obligatory attempt to sound a bit like Deadmau5. The whole thing sounds like it was composed in a committee meeting, which is suspect is not too far from the truth.

Having said all that, the track with Nelly Furtado is quite catchy. It'd be better for a decent remix though.

Overall, you can actually judge this by its cover. If the slightly disturbing leather-clad chav look they appear to have given Tiesto appeals to you, you might like the music. Otherwise, don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tiesto - Kaleidoscope, 27 Sep 2010
By 
R. Wesley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
1st album I've bought by tiesto - was expecting something more mixed and trance but like it nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Increadably Dissapointing, 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
Tiesto has always been a bit of a pioneer in his field. Always innovating, always adding his own twist to a track. This was expertly shown throughout the first three studio albums (In My Memory, Just Be and Elements Of Life) all of which were better than the last and way ahead of the pack musically.

Kaleidoscope is nothing like this. it sounds dated, derivative and lacks any sort of anthemc feel that you'd expect from Tiesto. It's not terrible. It's just not very good. ALL of his other work is an order of magnitude better than this. It's actually the only album I've bought recently where I'd have wanted a refund on if it were possible.

Een worse is that it doesn't get better if you listen to it a few months down the line. it's still derivative, uninspired and a little dull.

A shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tiesto's Change of Approach is Not So Great, 20 July 2010
By 
Dean Corbett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (MP3 Download)
Having being a tiesto fan for years this album was a definite purchase but this is not the tiesto i have come to know and love. This ends up being more of a pop album as opposed to the more rave and trance albums tiesto has been making for years. However, this album still contains some of the older style tiesto tunes. Louder than boom is a fantastic track as well as i will be here and who wants to be alone which act as a saving grace to the album. Overall i was disappointed with kaleidoscope but thats not too say its a bad album, its just not as good as his previous work. If you are a diehard fan then its worth checking out but otherwise i would check out magikal journey, which is far superior.

Kaleidoscope 5/10
Escape Me 7/10
You Are My Diamond 6/10
I Will Be Here 9/10
I Am Strong 5/10
Here On Earth 6/10
Always Near 6/10
Its Not The Things You Say 4/10
Fresh Fruit 6/10
Century 7/10
Feel It In My Bones 8/10
Who Wants To Be Alone 9/10
LA Ride 7/10
Bend It Like You Dont Care 6/10
Knock You Out 8/10
Louder Than Boom 10/10
Surrounded By Light 4/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Selling out?, 8 April 2010
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
I am a huge Tiesto fan but this latest offering has been a disappointment. There are still moments of Tiesto's "style" and innovation but this in general is a more commercial CD with some poor vocal arrangements that are testimony to Euro Pop influences. The live concert is fantastic and I would encourage fans to experience tracks from this CD at an arena with the sound system giving full credit to the signature track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! Can't stop listening to it!, 24 Mar 2010
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
Loved this album! Good to have an album that you can play right through and enjoy every track! Few of my favourites are 'here on this earth', 'escape me' and his collaborations with Calvin Harris and Nelly Furtado. Seen Tiesto play in Edinburgh at start of this month and he was fantastic! Can't wait to see him again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kaleidoscope
Kaleidoscope by Tiesto (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews