Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bloody brillant
wow what a brilliant album loved it the first time on first listen. i don't know why it would take time to get used to it . theres no mistake its the monkeys at there constant best . i love the climax on do me a favour and 505 . brilliant album .

and for a person like me that has counted the moments , days weeks to the next album . its worth the wait...
Published on 10 May 2007 by L. zeeman

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MMMM, not sure
I think I might get slated for this but am I the only person who thinks the first album is a whole load better. Don't get me wrong musically it is tight, flawless infact. They have obviously come on leaps and bounds but something is missing. OLD YELLOW BRICKS, TEDDY PICKER and BALACLAVA are the exception to the rule. One thing I liked about the first album was the...
Published on 10 Dec 2007 by Paddy


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bloody brillant, 10 May 2007
By 
L. zeeman (jozi) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
wow what a brilliant album loved it the first time on first listen. i don't know why it would take time to get used to it . theres no mistake its the monkeys at there constant best . i love the climax on do me a favour and 505 . brilliant album .

and for a person like me that has counted the moments , days weeks to the next album . its worth the wait BRILLIANT!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly awesome..., 17 April 2007
Seriously, I was nearly put off buying this album when reading some of the earlier reviews posted. Many people had the opinion that the "new sound" of this album was awful. Well, please do take my word for it (as well as those of other reviewers below) that such opinion is pure guff. This album and the work it encompasses, whilst a departure from the earlier "Whatever..." album, is still the Arctic Monkeys, but bigger, better and an absolute stomper of a follow up album. I'm ashamed I even doubted them in the first place. Well worth the money, well worth more than a fleeting listen, and well worth at least five minutes of my time reviewing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quality grower, 5 May 2007
By 
R. Rutter "clagnut" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a weird one. It's one of the albums which, when you listen to it for the first few times, doesn't exactly grab you, but somehow you know it's good, and further down the line you're gonna love it. I saw them do Teddy Picker and 505 on Later last night and found myself saying Blimey, these really are good songs." And so they are.

So, if this album doesn't smack you round the head on the first few listens (like the first album did) then fear not, it'll get you in the end - the song writing really is quite special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This ones a grower, 25 April 2007
By 
Didn't think they could top the last one and after a first listen was sure I was right. How wrong after 5 listens this is even better. Make sure this is in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MMMM, not sure, 10 Dec 2007
I think I might get slated for this but am I the only person who thinks the first album is a whole load better. Don't get me wrong musically it is tight, flawless infact. They have obviously come on leaps and bounds but something is missing. OLD YELLOW BRICKS, TEDDY PICKER and BALACLAVA are the exception to the rule. One thing I liked about the first album was the laddishness, references to nights on the lash in any town really and above all catchy tunes. Other than the songs I mentioned above this album isn't that catchy. Don't get me wrong, they are one of my favourite bands still, I just reckon expectations of them are off the scale. This is still a good album to get you dancing and bass lines continue to be well funky.....just give me the first album anyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arctic Monkey's - Phase II, 1 May 2007
By 
J. Bronze (Northeast, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Any comparisons made with the preceding album are foolish. This is a successful Arctic Monkeys. No longer are they fighting and getting thrown in a riot van. No longer getting chucked from club queues from bouncers who want it all to kick off. They are no longer Brian.

The change in this album is vast and it would have been disappointing if they'd tried to emulate their first album. They've expressed the fast, intense life of living it at the top which is evident in the pace of Brianstorm. Telling us nothing stays at rest with the changing pace of Balaclava. This House Is A Circus speaks for itself. And Teddy Picker is pure genius.

Yes they haven't moved completely away from the Sheffield boys as in between all the vast differences there is the occasional song that could easily fit into the 1st album. Fluorescent Adolescent is the best song in the album and has all the cheek and lyrical fluency of Mardy Bum and A Certain Romance. I believe Only Ones Who Know is the only major disappointment on the album. Its placement in the album seems to suggest it's an attempt of slowing down the whole album, similar to Riot Van, but unlike Riot Van, just isn't as clever. But this is Phase II.

Arctic Monkeys are showing their true colours with this second album - they are not a stand still band trying to recapture the spark of past success. They are a band that are evolving with the culture of their local surroundings, which is what music is right?

Words over sound to convey an experience experienced by those making the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New fan of Arctic Monkeys, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a newish fan of AM I am still exploring their early material and I love this album. The lyricism of Alex Turner is clearly still developing but early signs of his brilliance are all here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They raise the bar but can't always jump it, 12 July 2007
My take on this album is quite simple really. The Arctic Monkeys have learnt to create even better songs than their previous best here. Brianstorm showcases this, as does the following Teddy Picker. These songs demonstrate not only brilliant writing, but also a move away from the pedestrian sonic aesthetic of previous work. 505, meanwhile, is simply a genuinely very good, heartfelt song.

So the Arctic Monkeys have written even better songs. The problem? Well, even though they're better at their best, the overall average quality is lower. D Is For Dangerous and Balacalava are both... a bit rubbish. Old Yellow Bricks likewise. Other moments verge on forgettable.

In short, it's worth it for some very good songs but don't expect a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you've heard, Beware..., 17 April 2007
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is one addictive listen. I haven't repeat listened to anything so much in years (not even their first album, and that is saying something)
This album is a huge step forward that I'll bet alot of people didn't expect from the band. Far from cracking under the pressure the Arctic Monkeys have delivered one heck of a strong album, an effort to be proud of.

Songs like 'Teddy Picker,' and 'Balaclava,' give listeners what they've came to expect from the band, with jaunty riffs, brash chords and their unique brand of lyrical genius (fans will know what I mean)
And songs like 'Only Ones Who Know,' display a melancholy ballad-ry like 'No Buses,' or 'Riot Van.'

A special mention is also in order for drummer Matt Helders who's skill has improved exponentially, impressive considering most people would already say he's the most talented member. The fills on this record are awesome, and his technical disco meets rock swagger style fits the album very well.

The stand out songs are the energetic 'This House is a Circus,' the chilled out '505,' and the aforementioned 'Teddy Picker.'

Buy this right now, you won't hear a better album this year; its basically still the Arctic Monkeys sound, but executed and produced much better, a mature and professional version of the raw and lovable debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't fail to please.., 13 Jan 2008
One of the biggest Indie Rock bands return with a powerful energized sequel, that doesn't fail to please. Listeing to the singles 'Brianstorm', 'Fluorescent Adolescent' and 'Teddy Pciker' prove to you that this album is going to be good. For anyone who has their debut album, it may take a bit to get use to, as this is nothing like their previous one. It's that different, I can't compare and say which one is better. But believe me, it really is an outstanding album. One disapointment about it that I actually feel applies to their previous album, is that I feel that they rushed through it, as the twelve tracks seem to fly buy within twenty minutes. Overall, if you liked the singles, then you'll love this. If you like Arctic Monkeys, it'll take a bi to get use to their new style, but it truly is great.

Top Picks:
-505
-Do Me A Favour
-Teddy Picker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Favourite Worst Nightmare
Favourite Worst Nightmare by Arctic Monkeys
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews