Customer Reviews


317 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up There With Ray, Paul and Noel
At 51, I am surely not the type of listener the Arctic Monkeys were aiming for. But, having heard Johnnie Walker play the track "Mardy Bum" and being wowed by it, I got a young colleague to lend me his copy of the album. It's wonderful. On first hearing, my "elderly" ears were about to dismiss it as a row, then the lyrics got through. I think Alex Turner is as...
Published on 23 Aug 2007 by Sue

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good debut, but overhyped...
You have to feel sorry for the Monkeys. The way the media have latched onto this "greatest new band EVER" have shoved them into the spotlight when perhaps they aren't quite ready. They are still young, they are talented, but this is a debut album that shows the band have a better career ahead of them.
It probably would be very hard to live up to the amount of...
Published on 21 Mar 2006 by Mr. J. WARE


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up There With Ray, Paul and Noel, 23 Aug 2007
At 51, I am surely not the type of listener the Arctic Monkeys were aiming for. But, having heard Johnnie Walker play the track "Mardy Bum" and being wowed by it, I got a young colleague to lend me his copy of the album. It's wonderful. On first hearing, my "elderly" ears were about to dismiss it as a row, then the lyrics got through. I think Alex Turner is as excellent a spokesman for his generation as Ray Davies, Paul Weller and Noel Gallagher before him. Much more appropriate (and clever) than the whingeing of the likes of James Blunt. A superb album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun, 20 Jan 2011
I'm probably in the biggest target target audience for this (late teen) but despite all the hype surrounding it along with all the criticism, I can't really see where most of the criticism comes from. If you're not into indie-rock then yes, you probably won't like the Arctic Monkey's debut particularly, but you're missing the point. The album is fulled with a bunch of fun and funky tunes with stories layered on top. Alex Turner, whilst his voice isn't as developed as say Humbug, adds to the rawness and feel of the record. The guitars and bass work well together to bring some neat tunes to the album, and the hard-hitting drumming is very well done, particularly on the album opener, "The View From The Afternoon".
My main gripe with this album is that each track isn't particularly different from each other, in terms of tone.

I ordered the Vinyl of this because I knew the CD wasn't very well mastered, and the large gate and sleeve is a nice addition to anyone's collection. The vinyl sounds allot nicer to my ears than the CD, with more smooth and audible bass, although there is still some compression applied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arctic Monkey's CD review, 28 Jan 2013
The CD arrived quickly, it was new therefore in a great condition and I love every single song on it, I would definitely recommend this CD to any Arctic Monkey's fan out there :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like them you like this album, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really simple, if your a fan, than buy it.
If you don't know it.... give it a shot, its quality stuff!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album about life, 15 Dec 2012
By 
M. D. Chapman (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great CD and yes its not new but remains current due to the descriptive lyrics. Great band, great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :), 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I recieved my item I got it on the date that it was due and it was in next to new condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps a social history document as well as a brilliant album!, 8 Oct 2011
By 
Maybe in years this come this album will be seen as giving an insight into the opinions and activities of the late teenage and early twenties males in the UK. That might a bit pretentious but Alex Turners honest, smart and funny lyrics are that good.

The first half of the album gives an insight into the Sheffield social scene in which the band members seem to have immersed themselves. Not for the faint hearted by the sounds of it!

Even if you are not interested in the lyrics the short sharp rock songs will have you hooked in no time.

Favourite songs - I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor, Still Take You Home, Red Light Indicates Doors are Secured and When the Sun Goes Down.

An album to listen to over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars music to laugh with..., 18 April 2008
By 
If you love raw, energetic rock/indie music with clever lyrics that'll make you choke whilst you sip on your pint of Stella then this is for you... Turner is a story teller of note and the music makes a perfect backdrop. There's a slight dip mid-album, but it's bookended by such talent that all's forgiven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They make me feel 18 again, 17 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Putting raw talent aside, what makes the Arctic Monkeys stand out? They have that rare, precious ability to appeal to all ages. I'm 49 but they make me feel 18 again. Great lyrics about small town teens touch on universal themes. And that amazing voice could do for Sheffield what The Beatles did for Liverpool. This is a great first album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing past the hype, 14 Sep 2006
By 
F. Zaman (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Despite what snobby music listeners may think about the Arctic Monkeys, I've found my own snobby bum completely shimmying shamelessly in my bedroom dancefloor to this album. I'm a latecomer to the craze which surrounds this band, only actually hearing their song 'I bet you look good on the dancefloor' covered by the Sugababes on a Music Award Show... which since resulted in a constant rotation of this delightfully addictive album.

What isn't there to like about this band? Just over 40 minutes of bangin' tunes which send rhythmic convulsions through the body; the album is fuelled with such youthful vigour demonstrated through great guitar riffs over beating drums and slapping basslines, not to forget the brilliant (sometimes cocky, but always permissible) tongue-in-cheek vocals.

The Arctic Monkeys have produced an album that defiantly stands out from the many of these current 3-minute-songs British acts. What sets the Arctic Monkeys apart is within their 3 minutes, there's a lot more going on... You have the mix of amusing anecdotal lyricism, touched with sentiments in all the right places; the undeniable honesty of their tales and feelings resonated in every track... allowing varying emotions to quietly hang/loudly fall (depending on tempo) on a momentus part (which, for me is most perfectly epitomised from 01:38 onwards on 'Ritz to Rubble', absolutely outstanding moment); there's such great timing found within each track, paying attention to when the vocals commence to then lightly pause and allow the guitars to come through, then right through the climax with the drums and the shouty choruses... The presence of such great execution through each track leads to a superbly flowing album overall.

Nothing left to say, besides... See past the hype, get on your dancing shoes & enjoy the great music.

*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab186a44)

This product

Only search this product's reviews