Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up There With Ray, Paul and Noel
At 51, I am surely not the type of listener the Arctic Monkeys were aiming for. But, having heard Johnnie Walker play the track "Mardy Bum" and being wowed by it, I got a young colleague to lend me his copy of the album. It's wonderful. On first hearing, my "elderly" ears were about to dismiss it as a row, then the lyrics got through. I think Alex Turner is as...
Published on 23 Aug. 2007 by Sue

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good debut, but overhyped...
You have to feel sorry for the Monkeys. The way the media have latched onto this "greatest new band EVER" have shoved them into the spotlight when perhaps they aren't quite ready. They are still young, they are talented, but this is a debut album that shows the band have a better career ahead of them.
It probably would be very hard to live up to the amount of...
Published on 21 Mar. 2006 by Mr. J. WARE


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up There With Ray, Paul and Noel, 23 Aug. 2007
At 51, I am surely not the type of listener the Arctic Monkeys were aiming for. But, having heard Johnnie Walker play the track "Mardy Bum" and being wowed by it, I got a young colleague to lend me his copy of the album. It's wonderful. On first hearing, my "elderly" ears were about to dismiss it as a row, then the lyrics got through. I think Alex Turner is as excellent a spokesman for his generation as Ray Davies, Paul Weller and Noel Gallagher before him. Much more appropriate (and clever) than the whingeing of the likes of James Blunt. A superb album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun, 20 Jan. 2011
I'm probably in the biggest target target audience for this (late teen) but despite all the hype surrounding it along with all the criticism, I can't really see where most of the criticism comes from. If you're not into indie-rock then yes, you probably won't like the Arctic Monkey's debut particularly, but you're missing the point. The album is fulled with a bunch of fun and funky tunes with stories layered on top. Alex Turner, whilst his voice isn't as developed as say Humbug, adds to the rawness and feel of the record. The guitars and bass work well together to bring some neat tunes to the album, and the hard-hitting drumming is very well done, particularly on the album opener, "The View From The Afternoon".
My main gripe with this album is that each track isn't particularly different from each other, in terms of tone.

I ordered the Vinyl of this because I knew the CD wasn't very well mastered, and the large gate and sleeve is a nice addition to anyone's collection. The vinyl sounds allot nicer to my ears than the CD, with more smooth and audible bass, although there is still some compression applied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably one of the best albums ever released, certainly in the top five of this century. As much as I love the Arctic Monkey's later sounds, there's something raw and very British about their first album which is never quite seen again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good debut, but overhyped..., 21 Mar. 2006
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You have to feel sorry for the Monkeys. The way the media have latched onto this "greatest new band EVER" have shoved them into the spotlight when perhaps they aren't quite ready. They are still young, they are talented, but this is a debut album that shows the band have a better career ahead of them.
It probably would be very hard to live up to the amount of hype this band have had, but the album doesn't disappoint. It's a strong collection of songs with a varied style. But they are not the greatest thing in music at the moment. It will be sad to see the band not be able to get over this ebut due to the way people have hyped them up, because their music shows that they can write a tune, and perform well, and that given time they should be able to get even better in their career.
But, I digress. This album is on the whole an average offering, with some good songs, and some stinkers, and a lead singer that really does need some singing lessons.
The boys can pluck a tune, certainly, and some very good tunes, check out the last song, A CErtain Romance, and opener The View From The Afternoon. However, on the whole, when the lead singer Bursts into song, he usually spoils it, as he sunds like a drunken wailing cat. The music is tuneful, the singing is tuneless.
But that's not much of a negative factor, because most of the songs are pretty good, and can work around this flaw. Perhaps Vampires Is A Bit Strong is the standout track of the album, and the only song that approaches five star greatness. A searing, rollicking full length song, where even the singing isn't too bad.
The album is short. Most of the songs are not very long, with the exception of Vampires, and the listen is finished quite quickly. But it wasn't a disappointment. They've made their name in the record books, and tht's great, but don't believe the hype - this is not the best album ever created, but don't count the Monkeys out. Hopefully, they'll be around for a long time to come, instead of being a debut hit wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good start., 1 July 2007
Now, don't believe all the negative reviews. So yes, the guitarist may not be Slash, and the singer might not be up to that standard of Matt Bellamy, but hey. These tunes are as catchy as ever, and the drumming, I think, is rather great. When the sun goes down is very good with the quiet bits at the start and end, and a fabulous main section. Dancing Shoes, once again is a good ol' fun singalong song!

Definitely recommended, and showing a lot of promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They make me feel 18 again, 17 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
Putting raw talent aside, what makes the Arctic Monkeys stand out? They have that rare, precious ability to appeal to all ages. I'm 49 but they make me feel 18 again. Great lyrics about small town teens touch on universal themes. And that amazing voice could do for Sheffield what The Beatles did for Liverpool. This is a great first album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but nothing to get too excited about, 8 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
I've no particular beef with the Monkeys but more so with the hype that surrounds this album and for that matter with the curent crop of UK 'indie' bands: Hard Fi, Kaiser Chiefs, Razorlight, Franz Ferdinand, Ordinary Boys, Editors et al. They're all generally OK but to make out that any of them are saviours of rock and all that bull is too much. The bottom line is that it's all been done before. While Britpop largely rehashed and updated the sounds of the 60s the current crop have taken late 70s-early 80s punk/New Wave and Ska as their blueprint. The Monkeys have had more than their share of hype. Check out the 100 best British albums in a recent NME and you'll find 'Whatever..' at #5!!! I wouldn't say it's a cr@p album but then again I cant see it becoming a classic 10, 20 years down the road. The musicianship's OK but nothing special. The singer's voice is a tad annoying in a Mike Skinner kind of way and the songs are mildly quirky at best. Still, I guess it's better to have this on in the shops than any of the staple boy band, r n b, fluffy pop and rap tosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much hype - not completely undeserved, 23 Jan. 2007
By 
Aria Murasaka "a world traveler" (http://muses-garden.blogspot.com) - See all my reviews
Even before listening to their music, this band is interesting in two respects: their age (all members were 19-20 y.o. when the album was released in January 2006) and the way their songs became popular even before the release of their first album through demo tapes and, more importantly, file-sharing on the net. As a result, not only were people able to sing along during their gigs before the songs were officially published, but their album was the fastest sale for a debut album in the UK. Some critics however pointed out that they have also beneficiated from a strong support by the highly influential music magazine NME, earning them the label of "NME band". They've refused to appear on UK television since late 2005 or at prizes ceremonies, like the Brit Awards, adding to the controversy surrounding them

Anyway, once you strip away the hype, what's left? Well, I'd say a pretty decent first album, which musical landscape is a bit of a "the Clash meet Trainspotting", combining a sound bordering on the punk rock of the former with a contagious, albeit sometimes unfocused, youthful energy and lyrics reflecting the realities of working class life but devoid of the strong political positions ever present with Joe Strummer. With more than half the songs running below 3 minutes, and only two above four, it is extremely fast-paced. This is especially true of the first half of the album, which runs more on raw energy than anything else and, as a result, passes you by in a bit of a chaotic blur, despite the highly recognizable and entertaining first single "I Bet you look good on the dancefloor"

Things change, however, with the quieter and somewhat moody "Riot Van", allowing the listener to finally enjoy the rich and surprisingly nuanced voice of lead singer Alex Turner; and they keep improving over the last half-dozen of songs. The more measured energy distiled let us better appreciate other aspects of their music: the more intricate structure of "Perhaps Vampires is a bit strong but...." and "A certain romance", the clever rhythm of "Red Light indicates doors are secured", and when the pace picks up again ("When the Sun goes down"), it isn't as overwhelming as it feels gratifying and pleasurable

They came top in a good number of "top album of the year" lists. I can't agree, as I think others would far more deserve that honor - Midlake's "The Trials of Van Occupanther", Band of Horses' "Everything all the time", M Ward's "Post War", Editors' "The Back Room", not to mention sensation Gnarls Barckley's "St. Elsewhere" or, obviously, Thom Yorke's "The Eraser" all come to mind instead. Arctic Monkeys are a lot of things, but original is not one of them. There's no original sound, no ambition to break new grounds. But their enthusiasm is contagious, and they do propose an overall highly enjoyable first act, and deserve to be watched out for their next album, rumored to be released as early as late Spring this year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great band, great tunes, great lyrics., 24 Dec. 2005
By 
If you like honest gritty unpretentious rock/indie music you will love the Arctic Monkeys. The sound they go for is more akin to 70s punk than modern indie rock. Whoever produced this album did a fantastic job in capturing the essence of what a rock band should be. There's plenty of space in the mix and theres a great energy that comes through all the tracks. They captured the performance of a great band, rather than just an overproduced, overpolished, sanitized studio album.
The songs are all at the least good and alot are exellent. Lots of great catchy guitar riffs and great vocals. They seemlessly intersperse ballsy funky rock guitar riffs with in yer face punk riffs, and ocaisional mellow indie jangly riffs. And over the top of it all you get witty & gritty ramblings about mordern life.
If i had to describe them in terms of other bands i'd say they are like a mix of The Pixes, The Clash and the Hives. But to label them as being like any one other band would be a great dis service to them. They have their own thing going on, and its a joy to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but with fillers, 3 May 2007
By 
Mr. Neil Anderson "footielover1343" (UK (2006 October)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album has moments of magic on it, well just over half of the album is magic but i'm afraid to say its overhyped and didn't live up to my expectations.

The very good songs are-

The View From The Afternoon

I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor

Fake Tales Of San Francisco

Dancing Shoes

Riot Van

Mardy Bum

When The Sun Goes Down

From The Ritz To The Rubble

A Certain Romance

Don't get me wrong, the Arctic Monkeys have produced some of there best work on their debut but the thing this album lacks is consistancy. If you want a 5 star very consistant album i would go for their recent album, Favourite worst nightmare.

This is a very good album, If you've got enough money by both of the Arctic Monkeys albums but if you have only got enough for 1, i would go for Favourite Worst Nightmare.

This band is a talent but their best is yet to come, probably after Favourite Worst Nightmare.

A Sold debut from a very good band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews