Customer Reviews


328 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up There With Ray, Paul and Noel
At 51, I am surely not the type of listener the Arctic Monkeys were aiming for. But, having heard Johnnie Walker play the track "Mardy Bum" and being wowed by it, I got a young colleague to lend me his copy of the album. It's wonderful. On first hearing, my "elderly" ears were about to dismiss it as a row, then the lyrics got through. I think Alex Turner is as...
Published on 23 Aug 2007 by Sue

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good debut, but overhyped...
You have to feel sorry for the Monkeys. The way the media have latched onto this "greatest new band EVER" have shoved them into the spotlight when perhaps they aren't quite ready. They are still young, they are talented, but this is a debut album that shows the band have a better career ahead of them.
It probably would be very hard to live up to the amount of...
Published on 21 Mar 2006 by Mr. J. WARE


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up There With Ray, Paul and Noel, 23 Aug 2007
At 51, I am surely not the type of listener the Arctic Monkeys were aiming for. But, having heard Johnnie Walker play the track "Mardy Bum" and being wowed by it, I got a young colleague to lend me his copy of the album. It's wonderful. On first hearing, my "elderly" ears were about to dismiss it as a row, then the lyrics got through. I think Alex Turner is as excellent a spokesman for his generation as Ray Davies, Paul Weller and Noel Gallagher before him. Much more appropriate (and clever) than the whingeing of the likes of James Blunt. A superb album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun, 20 Jan 2011
I'm probably in the biggest target target audience for this (late teen) but despite all the hype surrounding it along with all the criticism, I can't really see where most of the criticism comes from. If you're not into indie-rock then yes, you probably won't like the Arctic Monkey's debut particularly, but you're missing the point. The album is fulled with a bunch of fun and funky tunes with stories layered on top. Alex Turner, whilst his voice isn't as developed as say Humbug, adds to the rawness and feel of the record. The guitars and bass work well together to bring some neat tunes to the album, and the hard-hitting drumming is very well done, particularly on the album opener, "The View From The Afternoon".
My main gripe with this album is that each track isn't particularly different from each other, in terms of tone.

I ordered the Vinyl of this because I knew the CD wasn't very well mastered, and the large gate and sleeve is a nice addition to anyone's collection. The vinyl sounds allot nicer to my ears than the CD, with more smooth and audible bass, although there is still some compression applied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arctic Monkey's CD review, 28 Jan 2013
The CD arrived quickly, it was new therefore in a great condition and I love every single song on it, I would definitely recommend this CD to any Arctic Monkey's fan out there :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like them you like this album, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really simple, if your a fan, than buy it.
If you don't know it.... give it a shot, its quality stuff!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album about life, 15 Dec 2012
By 
M. D. Chapman (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great CD and yes its not new but remains current due to the descriptive lyrics. Great band, great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
FAB!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Present so I don't know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loooove it, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this for my friends bday and she loved it! Everyone is buying their newer album but I honestly think that their older albums are much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my son and he love's it, I'd have no problem recommending it, its a great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad..., 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a classic. If you haven't got it then do. Written when the lads still had to queue in taxi ranks, before "that rock n roll" made them rich. Gritty, funny, great tunes. An amazing way to burst on the scene. And ruddy lovely to hear on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews