Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous Trio
With all three fantastic movies full on action and suspense what could you ask for better than this. The Day After To-morrow will freeze your butt off and with all the things going on with a twist here and there, and the scenes of the flood that rocks the planet foundations something going on all time you can't move because you don't want to miss a thing, now that is a...
Published 7 months ago by Robyn B. Mcgorm

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 films a great price
Average Action Films. Independence Day stands out. All have good CGI effects. and they are entertaining.My grand children will enjoy them.
Published 23 months ago by A. R. Robson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous Trio, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doomsday Collection [Blu-ray] [1996] (Blu-ray)
With all three fantastic movies full on action and suspense what could you ask for better than this. The Day After To-morrow will freeze your butt off and with all the things going on with a twist here and there, and the scenes of the flood that rocks the planet foundations something going on all time you can't move because you don't want to miss a thing, now that is a must see. As for the marvellous acting by the cast taking you beyond your limits getting a blanket to hug and keep yourself warm in summer it's different with a top storyline. Than we go to a bit warmer movie known as The Day Stood Still with brilliant acting from all the cast getting aliens involved now with the special effects makes wonders in this movie top of the class so now we get rid of the blanket as it's getting warmer again with Independence Day. Now that is something of a treasure to own and have in the library the aliens didn't get too involved in our last movie but this one they want to be greedy and take over our planet earth, For a while it seemed to be possible with their superior weapons but they didn't count on us humans not giving in to the end. All the movies I have rated A grade plus for the ideas and interest that won't let you go until the very end so before you watch this collection make sure you have plenty on popcorn and time. So sit and relax, put your feet up. Get comfortable for a wonderful night in with sheer first class entertainment with this fabulous collection. By the way don't say I didn't warn you. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter Destruction from start to the last second, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doomsday Collection [Blu-ray] [1996] (Blu-ray)
The rating above is not only for the quality of the films, but also the film selection.
first of all; Independance day. a classic film with a great cast. not many people havnt seen this film, and if you are one of those unlucky people. watch it soon. not only a great film overall its cast include superstar Will smith, 'The Fly' and 'Jurassic Park' actor Jeff Goldblum plus others.
Fantastic direction from Roland emmerich.

Next we have a remake in form of The Day the Earth Stood Still.
Whilst many questioned the film as a whole and of the performance from keanu Reeves , I found it too be still enjoyable. a film shouldnt be taken so seriously all the time. sometimes you just want a film to be a film. when you begin looking to deep, it ruins the fun of cinema.

and lastly The Day After Tomorrow. This film i can watch over and over, something me and my dad love. great cast, superb effects. granted they are getting outdated now, but the film is several years old and still holds well. Great film, one of my all time favourites.

You wont be disapointed by this boxset. Blu ray quality is superb. and the films speak for themselves. Great addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Good, 18 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doomsday Collection [Blu-ray] [1996] (Blu-ray)
This is a very good collection of sci fi films that look amazing in HD, the only small problem I have with it is that Independence Day is the theatrical verson and not the uncut. While I probably would not have changed my mind about purchasing the collection I felt a little disappointed that it was not stated.

This is the only reason that I couldn't give my review five stars as I may end up getting a future release of Independence Day uncut.

But please don't let this single problem put you off buying this collection the films do look very very good in HD and I am recomending the purchase of it to all who read this review.

I hope people find this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amzing movies and value!, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doomsday Collection [Blu-ray] [1996] (Blu-ray)
The Day after Tomorrow is one of my fav films of all time and it looks great on blu-ray! To get each of these films for just over £4 is nothing short of amazing. Independence Day looks stunning. The Day the Earth stood Still is the remake. Is it a poor remake? Well, the original was ALWAYS going to be a hard act to follow! At this price................it`s a steal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Sci-Fi goodness!, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doomsday Collection [Blu-ray] [1996] (Blu-ray)
Not much to say except these Sci-Fi films look amazing in Blu-Ray played through my PS3.

Very happy with purchase and the price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misadvertised item, 6 Aug 2011
This review is from: Doomsday Collection [Blu-ray] [1996] (Blu-ray)
There's two really good blockbuster disaster movies here and one red herring. I can't say enough good things about Independence Day and The Day After Tomorrow - both of these are top notch films. The let-down is The Day The Earth Stood Still because it's not the 1951 classic but the 2008 rehash.

I was disappointed to read Amazon's own review of this box set because they've got the wrong version of TDTESS listed here. A simple glance at the box or looking on any other e-tailer's page shows the correct line-up, the correct version. I had hoped Amazon was right and they were wrong but alas, no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great value and service good all round box set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3 great movies for a bargain price, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doomsday Collection [Blu-ray] [1996] (Blu-ray)
To get three blurays for less than £9 is a bargain in anyone's books and this boxset has three of my favourite scifi films. I already have them on dvd but couldn't say no to this set at the price. 'The Day After Tomorrow' is an excellent film from the effects point of view and from a slow build up becomes a race against time with humans pitted against the elements in what seems to be an impossible situation. It manages to remain gripping throughout. 'The Day The Earth Stood Still' is a remake of the Michael Rennie version from the '50's but although not a patch on the original still manages to convey the ominous feeling of the unknown visitor and his robot guardian. Brought up to date with good effects and a different angle, this is still an enjoyable film in its own right and different enough with a suitably gripping climax. 'Independance Day' has to be my favourite out of the three with it's slow burn start of the shadow falling over the moon to the alien ships hovering over the cities. No one realises the true intent of the aliens until Jeff Goldblum finally works it out. From then on it's a rollercoaster ride and a big gung ho American action movie. Great for a jumbo bag of popcorn! As I said before, for the money you can't go wrong. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars value, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Graham k (portsmouth ;uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doomsday Collection [Blu-ray] [1996] (Blu-ray)
three very good films in one box,got this as exmas gift for my daughter and hubby ,they were the first blu ray films they had and they loved them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of sci-fi films, 14 Dec 2013
This review is from: Doomsday Collection [Blu-ray] [1996] (Blu-ray)
Decent movies which I had seen before but enjoyed. Would make a great gift for those that haven't seen them yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doomsday Collection [Blu-ray] [1996]
Doomsday Collection [Blu-ray] [1996] by Roland Emmerich (Blu-ray - 2009)
£4.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews