Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did Kazakhstan benefit exactly?
Sacha Borat aka Borat, the charmingly offensive, Kazakhstan reporter has written and appeared in a hilarious anti-PC film that tramples over every cringing, PC attitude, where previously, 'decent' folk once feared to tread. His exploits in seeking to introduce America for the benefit of Kazakhstan TV have deeply upset Kazakhstani politicians and tourism officials alike...
Published on 12 Mar 2007 by T. Charles

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent yet enjoyable in places
After all the anticipation and hype I was expecting something fuller than this. The comedy starting off so well seemed to dry up for extended chunks of time
Dare I say it BECAME boring asthe character starting off so promising struggled to fill out the script . Snippets of film and story lines brilliant I wish they could have developed more and cut out some of the...
Published on 19 July 2007 by Eye Can


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did Kazakhstan benefit exactly?, 12 Mar 2007
By 
T. Charles "Tim Charles" (Middle East) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sacha Borat aka Borat, the charmingly offensive, Kazakhstan reporter has written and appeared in a hilarious anti-PC film that tramples over every cringing, PC attitude, where previously, 'decent' folk once feared to tread. His exploits in seeking to introduce America for the benefit of Kazakhstan TV have deeply upset Kazakhstani politicians and tourism officials alike. (Did Kazakhstan have a tourist industry before this film?)

But the joke is really on America and Americans and the way that they respond to Borat provides the humour of the film. Their endemic racism, homophobic and their tendency to take things literally and their inability to send themselves up produce some very funny episodes.

Aided by the memorably named Azamat Bogatov, 'Borat' does pander to the lowest common denominator, but somehow he gets away with each outrageous scene and stunt. How he managed to avoid arrest is open to speculation. From watching the film again, it is conceivable that more of the stunts were staged than initally seemed possible. The extras to promote the movie, which are included in the DVD package are worth viewing, as are the deleted scenes. Sacha Baron Cohen's appearances to promote the movie, (chat shows in the US and openings in cities around the world) were conducted in character. Indeed, such is his total immersion in the character that he reminds me of the late, great, Peter Sellers, who was similarly transformed by the characters he inhabited, often to the point that he couldn't step back out of character.

How Cohen plans to follow up this triumph will be eagerly awaited. Nothing else he has tried has worked as well as Borat. The Bruno character is more the stuff of short sketch than full-length feature film. In the meantime, savour the outrageousness of this DVD. Highly recommended.

All stand for the Kazakhstan National Anthem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent yet enjoyable in places, 19 July 2007
After all the anticipation and hype I was expecting something fuller than this. The comedy starting off so well seemed to dry up for extended chunks of time
Dare I say it BECAME boring asthe character starting off so promising struggled to fill out the script . Snippets of film and story lines brilliant I wish they could have developed more and cut out some of the padded out scenes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAWAWEEWAH!, 9 Jan 2007
Best movie-film ever. I would like to purchase this movie-film. Everybody must buy it. I could not stop laughing when I saw this movie-film. I saw it in November when it came out and I'm still quoting lines from it and watching clips of it on YouTube. It's amazing how Sacha Baron Cohen pulled this act off. I would really love to own an ice cream truck and have a pet bear, just like Azamat and Borat in the film. This film has made me want to visit Kazakhstan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INFERIOR POTASSIUM!, 16 April 2007
By 
Mr. A. Sands "Sandsman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
If you don't know what this is about by now, then you must have spent the last 6 months in solitary. Put simply, if you like Sacha Baron Cohen's work, taking the mick out of Americans, and naked men wrestling, then this is for you. If you don't like either of the above, then I'm thinking maybe this isn't for you.

It's funny to keep reminding myself whilst watching this that most of it is real. The best part of it is the whole Borat concept itself, and how totally oblivious/ignorant and un-pc he is. On top of that, the reactions of some of the people he meets are just as bad, but they're real, he's not.

I think this is a very funny/cringe-worthy film and I enjoyed it, but don't let your friends spoil the film for you! That happened to me and it kind of spoilt some of the jokes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny - but not a masterpiece, 19 Mar 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I enjoyed Borat. In fact, I enjoyed it even before I put the DVD in the machine...

The actual disk itself is made to look like a pirated copy of the film (complete with DVD-R printed on the disk and felt tip pen scribbling of the film title!).

My over all impression of the film was that it was really a series of sketches held together with a thin plot. But some of the moments of brilliance were enough reason themselves to buy the DVD.

The central idea is quite genius, take a character who is supposedly socially backwards and from a socially inferior community, plonk him in the richest nation in the world, and show how intolerent and socially retarded that country is too!

The truth is, you could make any country look as bad as the US looked - with a bit of biased editing. I'm sure that's what happened here to an extent, but the truth is that there happens to be a lot of racial intolerance in the "US and A". Nations outside of the US often view the US as very inward looking and right-wing, and this film showed some great examples of that.

Borat's inital landing in the US was fab. As he tries to greet Americans and kiss them on the cheek he encounters some pretty strong homophobic threats.

He also comes across some lovely people (the Jewish couple who put them up for the night) and the 'Street homeys' who teach him to look cool.

I thought it interesting that the latter of the aforementioned groups were the ones who seemed the most threatening, the 'underclass' - but they turned out to be more accepting than the middle-class group at the dinner party.

Borat did what Borat does best, shows the scary side of the world. The side which is fuelled by the flag waving, God-loving, gay hating, racist, middle class who exercise so much power and influence. He does this via a blend of staged and fly-on-the wall stunts.

As I said before, this isn't a masterpiece, it isn't a classic, but some of the scenes in this mockumentary stand out as a warning that those who claim to be moral guardians and virtuous are often the ones who harbour the most destructive and narrow minded of prejudices and hatred.

Plus - you get to see the funniest swimsuit ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Times, 22 Feb 2007
By 
Iain Mckay (closer to Kazakhstan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As an ex-pat living in Germany, I can say that I was somewhat apprehensive of the Germans reaction to the so-called anti-semitic parts of Borat. They are, quite obviously, very sensitive to the dark finger of racism. However, a series of well-constructed t.v and newspaper reports prepared the public here for its content. For example, Cohens Judaism and the, in my mind, masterstroke of Borat actually speaking Hebrew (with a very heavy accent) when he should be speaking Kazakhstani, illuminated satirical aspects of the film that attracted the Germans. The Germans have a great love of satire. In fact, combined with slapstick, it IS their national form of comedy. They have embraced Borat. As we all should. But of course with clothes on. Don`t use the film as an attempt to put down the US of A, because this film would have worked in Britain just as well. Ignorance has no borders. Quite simply the funniest and cleverest satirical film ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jagshemash!, 17 Jan 2007
Jagshemash! This movie - I like! Is great success. This is the world of bumbling Kazakhstani reporter Borat as he travels around the USA offending pretty much evreryone; women (he considers them lower than horses), gypsies (they have magical powers to shrink people), jews (they commited 9/11), homosexuals (sickening), Uzbeks ("arseholes"), Black people ("chocolate faces"), and pretty much everybody else (including Kazakhstani's). And while many people find it incredibly offensive, this film is just hilarious, a must. Sacha Baron Cohen (the actor who plays Borat) is a genius. High five!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than anticipated, 29 Aug 2007
By 
following on from the great Ali G comes Borat.

this is a great movie from concept to filming and quite how the cast are still alive having clearly offended (and if you are easily offended then don't watch this!) a huge number of Americans during filming is amazing in itself.

youu will at times be appalled and in fits of laughter all at once.

a must see movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars when ignorance is funny, 28 Feb 2007
By 
Sacha Baron Cohen's comic genius enables him to get away with behaviour which to most of us, would be suicidal. The antics of Borat, as he travels across the "Us of A" are hilariously funny, but nevertheless cringeworthy and a kick in the teeth! There are spine chilling moments, which leave you thinking, if this is American society, then God help us. For example, the comments about Jews in the rodeo, the young men from a college "fraternity" who refer to women as "bitches" and that American is governed by such minorities as Jews. Those who come off best are a group of young black men on a street corner, and a Black prostitute with a big heart....

It could be argued that Baron Cohen manipulates people and situations, but then, you cannot manipulate what isn't there already. Hilarious comedy, but with a powerful sting in the tail. Middle America cannot be very proud of herself, having watched this....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy Drownwatch? Is very nice!!!, 6 Mar 2007
By 
Ms. Felicia Davis-burden (Staines, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is one of the funniest films I've ever seen. I don't think I've laughed as consistently, or as hard, through any film before. Borat is a more fully developed character than Ali G, and I really didn't 'get' Borat when he first appeared on Baron Cohen's shows. But now I think Borat is Baron Cohen's finest invention - and here he is in all his incomparable, often unbearable glory.

'The Fight' with his travelling companian left me weeping and howling with laughter - and wait until you see 'Sexy Drownwatch', a brief but thrillingly awful spoof of Baywatch (wish they'd spoof an entire episode...) Delicious stuff.

All in all, a fabulously gross yet grossly clever laugh riot. Enjoy... Is very nice, and great success! High Five!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Borat [Blu-ray]
Borat [Blu-ray] by Luenell (Blu-ray - 2009)
5.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews