Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars35
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 14 September 2009
I've long enjoyed the repertoire on this disc and the performances of Jascha Heifetz in some of this repertoire hold a special place in my heart for the effortless way in which they balance technical accomplishment with real musical communication.

On this disc Benedetti completely achieves that balance. Her playing is technically brilliant. Some of the passages in the Saint-Saens sparkle with virtuosity. Yet the playing never fails to be musical. The technical accomplishment is always at the service of musical communication, with a wonderful delicacy to some of the quieter, more intimate moments. Her phrasing in the Vocalise is exquisite and she maintains a wonderfully full but clean tone throughout, that strikes the difficult balance between sounding overly thin and overly syrupy.

DG's recording is excellent and Benedetti's playing is admirably served by excellent orchestral and piano accompaniments.

A CD of familiar repertoire that is well worth buying.
0Comment41 of 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2009
This album is a beautifully composed and beautifully performed album. Without question Nicola is playing with more passion and with a different approach to her music. Spiegel im Spiegel is the mosssst beautiful recording I have ever heard. In my opinion Fantasie is an essential buy for any violin enthusiast but equally for a first timer to classical music this is THE album I would recommend.
0Comment27 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
Bit of a change for my musical taste but this didn't disappoint. Mood music - excellent quality of sound & playing
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
Heard Nicola Benedetti recording of Spiegel Im Spiegel on Classic FM and immediately went to Amazon and found this CD. Am excited with her talent that shines on this CD. Not to be missed - and a bargain for a fiver!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
You don't need to be told that Nicola Beneditti is a great violinist: she certainly is and this CD certainly underlines that fact. Am really pleased to have purchased this disc.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
She plays with feeling and the tone of the violin is wonderful. A nice choice and combination of works on this disc.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2009
When you hear a soloist live, it sparks an interest in their musical careers. Such was my own experience having heard Nicola performing live twice in Ireland (Mendelssohn and Sibelius Concerti). I therefore made it my business to buy her three CDs and was delighted to purchase this fourth one recently.
In both her live performances and in these recordings, I feel that the music is Nicola's primary reward rather than financial gain, the opposite so often being the case with other performers.
Her playing is warm, true and full of love for each piece she plays. Reading the CD sleeve, one can see the amount of research and thought put into these recordings, before finally putting her own personality into each piece. The CD would appeal to both the serious collector and the beginner.
The only thing preventing a five star rating here is that it is slightly disappointing to find repeats from her earlier CDs.
Difficult to pick a favourite track but I would go for the Vocalise.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
A wonderful CD and I play it regularly. Such depth and emotion in Nicola's playing. The music is truly wonderful.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
I like it. Your music taste may be different ;-)

I can't objectively comment on the production or the various tracks and playing ability of the artists as I don't have any thing to compare against.

Subjectively, it sounds good to me (it is played on some good quality HiFi)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Without a doubt the best album Nicola has made.
Outstanding choices in the music selected.
No fillers here just wonderful music played to perfection.
I have owned this CD for over 12 months and must play it at least once a week.
This is Nicola at here very best.
Highly recommended
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.