Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars August
`August' is one of those albums that gets better with repeated listening and I have to say it is one of my favourites from Clapton's back catalogue. It is quite dated now, with heavy eighties production, but with Phil Collins at the production helm and the era it was written in, this is to be expected. This has some awesome tracks on it and the album opener `It's In The...
Published on 5 Jan. 2010 by Spider Monkey

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile album from Eric Clapton
This is a worthwhile album from Eric Clapton with some excellent tracks including the duet with Tina Turner 'Tearing Us Apart' and a fairly decent version of Robert Cray's 'Bad Influence'. One of my favourite tracks on this album is 'Miss You' which is superb and once more confirms EC's great vocals as well as some excellent guitar work. 'Holy Mother', 'Behind The Mask',...
Published on 1 July 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars August, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: August (Reissue) (Audio CD)
`August' is one of those albums that gets better with repeated listening and I have to say it is one of my favourites from Clapton's back catalogue. It is quite dated now, with heavy eighties production, but with Phil Collins at the production helm and the era it was written in, this is to be expected. This has some awesome tracks on it and the album opener `It's In The Way That You Use It' is best known from the film `The Colour of Money' but is a credible track in it's own right. This album also features a duet with Tina Turner on `Tearing Us Apart' which has great feel to it and the last three tracks stand out for me and end this album on a high. `Holy Mother' has a highly emotive solo and shows what one man can do with one note if he has emotion and skill in his playing, `Behind the Mask' has become a eighties classic now and I love the overall feel and drive of this track and `Grand Illusion' has a brooding feel that ends this album perfectly. This album is overlooked by Clapton fans and there are plenty of amazing albums of his to choose from, but this has a special place in my heart and offers up some great music. Although it is very much `of it's time' it also shows everything good about the eighties with solid song writing and musicianship. Well worth adding to your Clapton collection at some point.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clapton goes all contemporary!, 22 Jun. 2013
This review is from: August (Reissue) (Audio CD)
August saw Eric Clapton taking something of a leap of faith, abandoning his usual approach of including two or three traditional blues covers - the closest he came here was "Bad Influence", a contemporary number, courtesy of Robert Cray. The result was Eric's most modern sounding and commercially successful (UK) solo album to date. The extensive use of synthesisers hasn't dated the album unduly, due at least partly to Phil Collins' skilful production and it still sounds vibrant today. But it's not an uncompromisingly modern album; the use of horns evokes Clapton's solo debut and a storming duet with Tina Turner on "Tearing Us Apart" is a reminder of his duets with Yvonne Elliman and Marcy Levy. Eric's in good voice and from the purposeful opening bars of "It's In The Way That You Use It" to the last fading notes of the moody epic "Grand Illusion" there isn't a weak track here. Although "Grand Illusion" isn't described as a bonus, it didn't feature on the lp and had appeared as a B-side to the 12inch single version of "Behind The Mask", along with "Wanna Make Love To You" which appeared later on the Crossroads box set.

There are few spectacular guitar solos, but there are some guitarists who only need to play a single note and you know it's them - E.C. is one, and his ability to show how much can be said with just one (in this case, bent) note is ably demonstrated on "Holy Mother". Written by Eric and Stephen Bishop and dedicated to The Band's Richard Manuel, it's an emotional mini-masterpiece. Blues fans weren't so taken with August's contemporary approach but Collins proved his point that Clapton could move with the times: he certainly emerged with musical credibility intact and, arguably, this release paved the way for the classic follow-up, Journeyman. 5*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile album from Eric Clapton, 1 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: August (Reissue) (Audio CD)
This is a worthwhile album from Eric Clapton with some excellent tracks including the duet with Tina Turner 'Tearing Us Apart' and a fairly decent version of Robert Cray's 'Bad Influence'. One of my favourite tracks on this album is 'Miss You' which is superb and once more confirms EC's great vocals as well as some excellent guitar work. 'Holy Mother', 'Behind The Mask', and 'Grand Illusion' certainly help to make this an album worth buying. Personally I have come to enjoy this album the more I listen to it, and I'm glad to have it in my collection. If I could I would give this album a three and a half star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eric Clapton - August, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August (Reissue) (Audio CD)
Slightly different album from Eric Clapton relative to some of his earlier work, this occasion working with Phil Collins and other artists popular in the late 1980's. Behind the Mask and Grand Illusion are, in my opinion, the best tracks but there are a number of strong pieces on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars class act, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August (Reissue) (Audio CD)
Bought the vynl album when it 1st came out and wanted the cd to replace a much played album.I think this album was one of Eric's best.With Phil Collins on drums and Tina Turner on backing vocals how could you not be impresssed, tearing me apart is bliss to the ears."Hold On"has a tremendous solo played by Eric at his best.Love this album, a must for any Clapton fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars August: Eric Clapton - Clapton under a bad influence, 31 Aug. 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: August (Reissue) (Audio CD)
I have to admit that I never really `got' this album, or other people's acclaim for it. In the late `80's, this was seen as a bit of a revival for Clapton, both artistically and commercially, but it has always left me cold. Over produced with lots of synthesisers by Phil Collins, Clapton sounds a bit uninterested in proceedings and a little overpowered by the slick backing. I recognise the need for an artist to move on and change style, but it's the passion of the man that made his earlier solo stuff great, and that sounds distinctly missing here. For me it's a rather bland affair, with nothing on it that really sticks in the mind. It's just another album of 80's drum machine soft rock. 2 stars only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Replacing the Tape, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August (Reissue) (Audio CD)
I first purchased this album on tape and never replaced it when upgrading to CD. The remastered version is so much better and whilst it incorporates modern technology, the tracks and music is still great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album, 9 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August (Reissue) (Audio CD)
Although this is quite a 'pop commercial' album and Eric was unhappy at the extent of the commercialism, I love this album. A world away from his blues stuff which I normally prefer, this is a guilty pleasure for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How can you not love Eric!!, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August (Reissue) (Audio CD)
I had this album when it first came out in the 80's and decided I needed to have the CD version for the car. Its fab, I love it as much now as I did way back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August (Reissue) (Audio CD)
Bought this a long time ago. It is one of my favourite albums from Eric Clapton. Have left review previously for this item! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

August (Reissue)
August (Reissue) by Eric Clapton
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews