Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Rad-Gumbo!
The original vinyl version of this album, is just amazing, sounding as fresh today as the 25 years ago when originally recorded. This re-mastered double cd album with extra material is just quite simply outstanding.
It's the only album that I can happily play for months on end in my car... there just isn't a boring or badly played track on there. Lowell George &...
Published on 24 Nov 2003 by Mr. Benjamin John Walker

versus
3 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tracks very 'samey'
Clearly brilliant musicians but once you've heard the first track there is little variation. A good niche group but can see why they didn't make it into the big time in the UK.
Published on 3 Mar 2011 by James Reilly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Rad-Gumbo!, 24 Nov 2003
This review is from: Waiting For Columbus (Audio CD)
The original vinyl version of this album, is just amazing, sounding as fresh today as the 25 years ago when originally recorded. This re-mastered double cd album with extra material is just quite simply outstanding.
It's the only album that I can happily play for months on end in my car... there just isn't a boring or badly played track on there. Lowell George & troops did good!
An essential buy... even if you're new to the 'Feat'.
Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best live album I have ever heard!, 29 Mar 2002
This review is from: Waiting For Columbus (Audio CD)
I can remember buying this on vinyl about 25 years ago. At the time I had tended to ignore live albums through a concern over musicianship. My fears were dispelled with this one album.From the opening few bars of Join The Band right through to Willin' you are in the company of genius. The band is tight throughout, the horns are outstanding and Lowell George's voice is sublime. My only frustration is that Lowell George died shortly after and I never actually saw them live, although I did console myself with his solo album and a number of back catalogue Little Feat albums, none of which captured the raw power of them live in the way that Columbus did.Every track is a gem, but the standouts are Dixie Chicken with its wonderful horns, Fat Man in the Bathtub, All That You Dream, Mercenary Territory and the remarkable acapello of Willin'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the single CD version?, 9 April 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting For Columbus (Audio CD)
If you already have the original single CD version of this and you're wondering if this new release is worth buying, the unequivocal answer is a resounding, yes! Remixed and remastered, every viable track from the original live recordings is here, complete with beautifully designed, superbly informative inlay artwork and a dinky card outer sleeve to protect the plastic jewel case.
The tracks themselves are crystal clear, with every instrument clearly audible. The new track order, although spliced together from two different venues and over several dates from each, works tremendously well to give a really seamless impression of a continuous performance (disc 1, tracks 1-12).
The original single CD, a direct lift from the vinyl double album, was a pretty disgraceful piece of work, but Warner Brothers have done the band proud this time, presenting a really excellent package at a bargain price. What must be one of the best ever live recording just got that much better. Go get it fella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare document of perfection, 25 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Waiting For Columbus (Audio CD)
I first heard this album shortly after it came out and was mesmerised. Lowell George spoke of his approach as creating a musical "cracked mosaic" and if you listen you can hear the simplicity and complexity of this masterpiece. It will take a few listens but give it a chance. Post George Little Feat is also laudable, until the dreaded Shaun Murphy joins and begins wailing bad country style. Enjoy this..a genius frozen in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best live rock album, 14 Jan 2002
By 
Mr. Dc Fowler "fowlerd17" (Portsmouth UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waiting for Columbus (Audio CD)
From the moment they come on stage the band and its supporting brass section, the Tower of Power Horns, present no-holds-barred funk and country rock. The band is one of the tightest outfits ever, the musicianship is superb with searing guitar and horn solos and you can hear the crowd go bananas, when you can hear the crowd (One of LGs asides - "You folks are crazy!"). The engineering is brilliant, each instrument is there to hear. There are well known tracks (Spanish Moon for example) which given the treatment here sound for my money better than the studio versions. This is one of the best band ever at its best in full flight and loving every minute of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another vote of perfection!, 1 Jun 2007
This review is from: Waiting For Columbus (Audio CD)
As others have said, this may possibly be the best live album ever! I do especially like the extended piano jam on "Dixie Chicken" and the Tower of Power Horns on "Mercenary Territory" and "Day or Night".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best live album ever., 16 Jan 2007
This review is from: Waiting For Columbus (Audio CD)
If you like Country with a boogie beat...

...you need this album. It's flawless. Every track is performed so well & the sound quality is so good, I can't fault it in any way. Little Feat actually play their awesome material better live than it is on record. Also the songs on the 'extras' disc are just as good as as the 'main' disc. I usually dislike live releases but I never tire of 'Waiting For Columbus'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best recorded live album, ever.....!, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting For Columbus (Audio CD)
I have had this on its original double LP for the past 25 years and have only just replaced it with CD. I then lent it out to an unappreciative friend who never played it and I cursed every day of the two months that he kept it.

Such was the believability of being 'there' with every nuance, every slight pause, every space in and around every instrument, you can visualise the very stage, and each of the six band members plus The Tower of Power horn section adding the spice and vibrancy. It was the seemingly so laid back and effortless, jazz-like approach that made it so listenable. The playing didn't sound like a churned out succession of the same songs but an enjoyably fresh and unique sounding gig.

The songs individually, made less impact and so when I much later bought Little Feat's Best Of - As Times Go By, I was mortally wounded, they sounding so wooden and constricted by their studio-ness in comparison.

Dixie Chicken and Fat Man In the Bathtub have to the best of this sublime lot. The very titles themselves indicate something rather off-cuff and enjoyably unusual. The original artwork of the sunbathing tomato, too, is special and is featured in a number of glossy books on distinctive album artwork. A nicely compiled mini-booklet with lots of good photos comes with the CD, as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was unsure..........but needn't have been., 7 Jan 2012
By 
Paul "NS1000" (Somewhere in England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Waiting For Columbus (Audio CD)
Yes I'm an old fussy bugger. Had all LF albums up to this on vinyl from my youth. Bought the CD's from the 80's, all dissapointing. The Last Record Album is in my opinion the best vinyl I own, as near to perfect as it gets. So after reading these coments I decided to buy this. As CD's go it's as good as it gets and shows just how awful the record companies have treated CD, MP3 would hardly have taken over if this was the norm.

Somebody please do this with the early LF albums before we loose the ability to own these at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tight, funky stuff: an excellent live album, 30 July 2000
This review is from: Waiting for Columbus (Audio CD)
The Amazon review got it right. This is excellent american rocking music from the late 70's. The Grateful Dead provided the best live recordings in the early 70's, this followed on in a more upbeat sort of way.
Saw them on tour with The Who and other notable bands at about this time and they stole the show - one of the best live bands of the time and this CD shows it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews