Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Collection!
An excellent collection at any price. The majority of the tracks are the original 'Cadence' recordings made between 1956 and 1961. In other words his classic period before signing with CBS/Columbia. As well as the early singles you get many tracks from his albums of the time ('Andy Williams' from 1958, '... sings Rogers & Hammerstein', the excellent 'Lonely Street' &...
Published on 17 April 2010 by Jack Burnham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The quality is excellent throughout and early Andy Williams recordings were pop songs ...
This 5cd boxed set is simply just ok. The first 3cds are original studio recordings from around 1956 to 1962. From my UK perspective, these are the most interesting as many were released on the UK London American label but all of them Barnaby original recordings. In both cases, this means the buyer is getting 60 tracks of original "A" and "B" side hits and...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. 16334578rpm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Collection!, 17 April 2010
An excellent collection at any price. The majority of the tracks are the original 'Cadence' recordings made between 1956 and 1961. In other words his classic period before signing with CBS/Columbia. As well as the early singles you get many tracks from his albums of the time ('Andy Williams' from 1958, '... sings Rogers & Hammerstein', the excellent 'Lonely Street' & more). Yes, there are some live tracks too, but these are also of superior quality. Neither the arrangement nor the sound suggests that they were recorded live, it's only the final applause that gives the game away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RIP ANDY WILLIAMS, 29 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits Legends - Andy Williams (Audio CD)
Only CDs 4 and 5 of this set include well known material ! I am 54 and most of the songs on 1 2 and 3 were unknown to me but overall I am very happy with this collection ! Brilliant performer and nice to have a selection of his well known hits !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 9 Jan. 2010
By 
S. lackenby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits Legends - Andy Williams (Audio CD)
timeless classics, in one album, what more can anyone ask for,
spend time reminiscing with this one, you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Hits Legends Andy Williams, 21 April 2010
By 
This review is from: 100 Hits Legends - Andy Williams (Audio CD)
A must for all Andy Williams fans there is everything on here.

Delivery was eficient and fast no problems at all.

a great deal of feel good misic for a very low price. Excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The quality is excellent throughout and early Andy Williams recordings were pop songs ..., 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits Legends - Andy Williams (Audio CD)
This 5cd boxed set is simply just ok. The first 3cds are original studio recordings from around 1956 to 1962. From my UK perspective, these are the most interesting as many were released on the UK London American label but all of them Barnaby original recordings. In both cases, this means the buyer is getting 60 tracks of original "A" and "B" side hits and misses and some early album tracks. The quality is excellent throughout and early Andy Williams recordings were pop songs rather than ballads. These three cds show the transition from pop to ballad and it would be the latter rather than the former Andy Williams was known for. What isn't obvious are the last two cds. Nowhere on the inner or outer packaging does the word 'live recording' appear. Had I seen 'live recording' anywhere, I would've gone elsewhere to purchase. The majority of tracks on both cds are 'live recordings' and, as great as they are, they are not the original CBS (in the UK) studio recordings we all know and love. If you are buying this set for his later hits such as 'Moon River' or 'Almost There' they are simply 'live' versions allbeit brilliantly performed and recorded but in some ways poorly edited and mastered. I believe the makers of this set should have clearly defined 'live recordings' somewhere obvious as customers are being led to believing they are all studio recordings which they're not. In any case, the UK CBS recordings - a better 'best of' - are available on cd elsewhere and which are studio recordings. I give the set three stars as just ok because that is how I see it. I am put off further purchases of these 100 Hits Legends because I fear the same may well occur again in another set which isn't good. I hope this will help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only Andy Williams album you'll ever need, 11 Feb. 2013
This review is from: 100 Hits Legends - Andy Williams (Audio CD)
There was a time in the 70s when Rock Critics would dismiss Andy Williams as of no importance but the public take no notice of this kind of thing
Then came the Lounge Revival and Williams slotted right in
But then why should these people even bother-Williams was never a rock singer even though his early Cadence career saw him dabbling in it same as Perry Como
As far as I'm concerned there were plenty of highs such as his discovery of the New Christy Minstrels and there were plenty of firsts like recording British songs at a time few were doing-in his case it was the Anthony Newley hit Do You Mind and the Eula Parker song Village of St Bernadette
His first hit was in 1944 and came via Bing Crosby by singing bvs as one of the Williams Brothers on Swinging On A Star.Some 10 years later came the RCA Victor label who only issued one title out of a recorded 6 on their X subsidiary.This was followed by the Cadence contract for which he charted at least 10 titles including the chart topper with his cover of Charlie Gracie's Butterfly.All the racordings from this label are on this Legends series no doubt because Williams purchsed his masters and set up a label called Barnaby
Signing to Columbia in 1962 he remained on the label till the end and more or less became known as an albums artist always playing safe with a string of covers which began with his vocal version of Acker Bilk's Stranger On The Shore.
The final hit in the U K was with The Other Side Of Me in 1976 but in March 1999 came a surprise hit with a reissue of the 1967 hit Music To Watch Girls Go By when it was used for a TV Car Commercial and did even better than its former No 33 position by making the Top 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Searching for a suitable song for my forthcoming wedding, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits Legends - Andy Williams (Audio CD)
I particularly purchased this album because it had 'the Hawaiin Wedding Song' on it. I remember it as a record bought by my mother in 1960s which I heard and heard and heard. I am now on the search for a suitable 'first dance' song for my partner and I to dance to at our forthcoming wedding in July 2014. I think it perfect but he's not so sure - so I'm still on the search.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not All Studio Recordings, 4 Oct. 2012
By 
Robert of Northallerton (Northallerton, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits Legends - Andy Williams (Audio CD)
I primarily purchased this item because I wanted to hear 'Moon River'. I was very disappointed because the 'Moon River' recording is from a Live Performance complete with irritating applause. Unfortunately (for me) there are other tracks that contain applause and / or spoken introductions to recording. Some people may enjoy hearing applause whilst listening to music but I do not so be aware of my comments, it may help you to decide upon your purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Williams, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits Legends - Andy Williams (Audio CD)
A good overall compilation of Andy Williams work who I consider as the very best of the crooners. Great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value but most tracks on CDs 4 & 5 are live., 8 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. A. Jenkinson (Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits Legends - Andy Williams (Audio CD)
On initial sampling I'm very pleased but not clearly stating which tracks are live is a bit of a con.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Hits Legends - Andy Williams
100 Hits Legends - Andy Williams by Andy Williams (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews