Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pro's and Con's
Just bought this for my wife, as she has just set up a dance school and no portable player she has tried seemed to be loud enough for a hall.Ok, firstly the Pro's :- 1: louder than any other portable we have tried 2: Heavy bass for the size 3:Good Remote control. Con's 1: Sound quality could be better, especially at higher volumes, but overall not bad (this is no BOSE...
Published on 7 Dec. 2009 by The King

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars good while it lasted
Had one work ok for 10 months, then none of the controls worked. Amazon brilliant... replaced with new unit. This one had the same fault. Both returned to Amazon. No confidence in JVC products anymore. Contacted JVC re the original unit, they were not helpful and in no uncertain terms told me to contact Amazon. Pointed out it was still under their warranty, but they...
Published on 30 Jan. 2012 by Only me


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pro's and Con's, 7 Dec. 2009
This review is from: JVC RV-NB50B CD Portable Boomblaster with Integrated iPod Dock and Twin Subwoofer (Electronics)
Just bought this for my wife, as she has just set up a dance school and no portable player she has tried seemed to be loud enough for a hall.Ok, firstly the Pro's :- 1: louder than any other portable we have tried 2: Heavy bass for the size 3:Good Remote control. Con's 1: Sound quality could be better, especially at higher volumes, but overall not bad (this is no BOSE Sound-dock) 2:No seperate bass and treble control to refine sound, sytsem has pre-set tone controls i.e Pop,Clear,Flat etc, which you select depending on your music listening taste. No horizontal hard handle, only a carrying trap, this is a bit annoying when picking player up, but there is a handle of sort at each end of the unit which looks like a speaker guard rail.Overall v-good, but with a few refinements would have made this player great. If you want a loud portable players it's prob the best out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal Music System, 2 Feb. 2010
By 
J. O'sullivan "Jos" (South London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JVC RV-NB50B CD Portable Boomblaster with Integrated iPod Dock and Twin Subwoofer (Electronics)
I bought the music system to use at my aerobic classes. I wanted something which could take CD, ipod and usb and this ticked the boxes. The system delivers a good sound - loud enough and sounds and feels professional.
The remote gives a little more control when changing tracks and music from CD to ipod etc.
The only minus is that it doesn't provide pitch change.

It also came with a strap to carry as it is pretty heavy - but I carry it about in a large sports bag for convenience and extra security.

So far so good and I'm happy and so are my participants at my class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stereo!, 7 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: JVC RV-NB50B CD Portable Boomblaster with Integrated iPod Dock and Twin Subwoofer (Electronics)
I bought this stereo to use for my Zumba classes in village halls. It is fantastic! Really great sound and easy to use 5 stars!! Excellent service from Amazon with very prompt delivery - thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 2 Oct. 2010
This review is from: JVC RV-NB50B CD Portable Boomblaster with Integrated iPod Dock and Twin Subwoofer (Electronics)
This is a great product. I am a dance teacher and needed something portable and loud that wasn't too expensive - this fits the bill! You can play CDs or use your ipod and it is very easy to use. A good idea if you can't afford a portogram. It is a bit bigger but just as loud, the only difference is that it doesn't have the speed changer. I recommend this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but ................., 8 May 2010
This review is from: JVC RV-NB50B CD Portable Boomblaster with Integrated iPod Dock and Twin Subwoofer (Electronics)
One thing you cant deny about this unit......It is LOUD ! (But not as loud as its RV- B 52 watt predecessors - Which would have been preferable even without ipod docking, unfortunatly no longer being manufactured by JVC) You will be hard pushed to find anything portable on the market today that can outgun the RVNB50B for Volume.

Overall it is pretty good - but could have been sooo much better, It does have a few quirky drawbacks

Power without control = Nothing, Sounding loud isnt everything, the Bass control has a 1- 6 volume control (0-6 would have been a bonus for those that like to 'Drop the Bass' in and out - You just can't do that with this unit)

The Bass this unit generates can in some room situations be overpoweringly 'Muddy' with no way of removing it even with the 4 presets that JVC have so 'Un-Generously' allowed to adjust your music to your own tonal settings, what really bugs me is JVCs 'One size fits all' approach to Tone control. The 4 preset sound modes are basic and really not enough for every audio situation....inclusion of a 3 or 5 Band Graphic EQ or even an Independant Treble control would have given this unit so much more. (A nice bouncing graphic display on the Back-illuminated Blue LCD display weould have looked great also - maybe on the next model please JVC)

Yet again JVC fails to cross the finishing line with just an FM radio band, it wouldnt have taken much more to include LW/MW for a more complete unit.

Build quality - Dissapointing - The feel of the plastic is best described as 'Cheap' (The ipod door and lock mechanism looks like it might come off in your hands) .The carrying strap is just a piece of Black webbing without a shoulder pad (It weighs 6.8 KG/15 lbs without batteries!) or even a pouch to hold the remote control. Some of the controls on the remote are not duplicated on the Boombox itself (Why !) So make sure you dont loose it.

This unit will require careful handling in an outdoor situation, the USB stick position is right on the side which makes it a no no for carrying around using USB media, it wont last 5 mins before it gets snapped off in the street.

4 out of 5 stars from me....... This unit is not the true Urban Street Warrior that it could have so nearly have been !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good for teaching dance in a hall with, 10 April 2011
This review is from: JVC RV-NB50B CD Portable Boomblaster with Integrated iPod Dock and Twin Subwoofer (Electronics)
Hi, This product is high quality. The sound isn't as perfect as I like it when it reaches high volume but I couldn't ask for anything better for my dance classes. Needed a loud portable music player and this not only does the job but a good one.

Perfect for instructors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JVC RV-NB50B, 4 July 2010
This review is from: JVC RV-NB50B CD Portable Boomblaster with Integrated iPod Dock and Twin Subwoofer (Electronics)
I bought this Hi-Fi on the strength of other reviews .They were wrong , sort of .
Let me explain . Although the majority gave it a **** rating , I have given it a ***** rating.
The fact is that like most people I try cheaper options first , and ,usually end up being dissapointed .
I decided to spend a little more money this time ,and , I have bought this item mainly for my new 8G i.Pod . I am impressed ,especially after sampling several other makes ,including Bose ,inMotion and Logic ,all of which sounded weak by my heavy bass standards .
No technical jargon from me ,{NOT suitably qualified } ,but in short , you have a complete/compact Hi-Fi ,with detailed sound , heavy bass 1-5 ,adequate C.D player , USB connection and good F.M. {but no DAB }.
No holes in walls , and ,apart from power cable ,no trailing wires .
To sum up ,if you prefer your music loud , but with detail ,from the Beatles and Stones to the present day Killers and all others in between ,then this is the one for you .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars good while it lasted, 30 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC RV-NB50B CD Portable Boomblaster with Integrated iPod Dock and Twin Subwoofer (Electronics)
Had one work ok for 10 months, then none of the controls worked. Amazon brilliant... replaced with new unit. This one had the same fault. Both returned to Amazon. No confidence in JVC products anymore. Contacted JVC re the original unit, they were not helpful and in no uncertain terms told me to contact Amazon. Pointed out it was still under their warranty, but they didn't want to help in any way. Will never buy JVC again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boomblaster, 20 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC RV-NB50B CD Portable Boomblaster with Integrated iPod Dock and Twin Subwoofer (Electronics)
the boomblaster was just what i was looking for. I teach exercise classes in halls so i needed a system that would be loud and clear in a noisey room. The boom blaster sounds great and is very clear, great for instructors. the only down point is that it is a little heavy when you are carrying it around to different places but apart from that, it is worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars boomblaster heaven, 30 Sept. 2010
This review is from: JVC RV-NB50B CD Portable Boomblaster with Integrated iPod Dock and Twin Subwoofer (Electronics)
although it is very large and heavy to take from dance class to dance class it has everything im looking for good sound lots of volume and verstile use cd or ipod
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews