Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-stop brilliance from punk-folk-pop phenomenon
The Pogues were one of the unlikliest pop bands of the 80s, with their mad fusion of Irish folk and London punk, but their musical talent, and the lyrical brilliance of frontman Shane MacGowan, also made them one of the best. This compilation puts together (virtually) all their finest moments on one top value CD, from Latin carnival freakout 'Fiesta' to the desolate...
Published on 6 Jun 2001

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good compilation but .....
a good sample of the pogues, I bought this to replace a few LP's that I bought years ago. I particularly wanted 'a rainy night in soho' - achingly beautiful on their EP 'Poguetry in motion', but oh what a dissapointment this was. 'They' have let some CLUMSY HALF-DEAF DONKEY in the studio loose on it, and this CD has a re-engineered version which has none of the purity...
Published on 14 Jun 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-stop brilliance from punk-folk-pop phenomenon, 6 Jun 2001
By A Customer
The Pogues were one of the unlikliest pop bands of the 80s, with their mad fusion of Irish folk and London punk, but their musical talent, and the lyrical brilliance of frontman Shane MacGowan, also made them one of the best. This compilation puts together (virtually) all their finest moments on one top value CD, from Latin carnival freakout 'Fiesta' to the desolate romance of 'A Pair of Brown Eyes', from the urban squalor of 'The Old Main Drag' to the blissed out sun-kissed tranquility of 'Summer in Siam'. For rousing rebel and drinking songs, there hasn't been a better band than The Pogues in the last twenty years. This CD is consistently enjoyable, funny, boisterous and tuneful, and more than occasionally poignant and profound. Their duet with the Dubliners on 'The Irish Rover' and everyone's favourite Christmas hit 'Fairy Tale of New York' (with the much lamented Kirsty MacColl) are of course included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good compilation but ....., 14 Jun 2002
By A Customer
a good sample of the pogues, I bought this to replace a few LP's that I bought years ago. I particularly wanted 'a rainy night in soho' - achingly beautiful on their EP 'Poguetry in motion', but oh what a dissapointment this was. 'They' have let some CLUMSY HALF-DEAF DONKEY in the studio loose on it, and this CD has a re-engineered version which has none of the purity of the origonal, and instead much additional noise. The rest of the CD is great, it would have been superb as a whole but for this glitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-stop brilliance from punk-folk kings, 4 April 2001
By A Customer
The Pogues were a phenomenon, an unlikely blend of folk tradition and punk attitude fronted by a jug-eared gap-toothed pisshead and druggie who was also the most literate and talented songwriter of his generation. This CD has 21 of their finest moments, from the descolate romance of A Pair of Brown Eyes to the wild Latin American revelry of Fiesta, from the feisty reworking of traditional tune The Irish Rover (with their idols The Dubliners) to the simple but profound balladry of A Rainy Night in Soho. And loads more, including, of course, A Fairy Tale of New York featuring the late and very much lamented Kirsty MacColl. Any greatest hits collection misses off some tunes it shouldn't (Thousands are Sailing, Dark Streets of London and Birmingham Six all arguably deserve a place here) and the other Pogues must be pissed off (only one original Pogues song not written by Shane is included - with good reason in my opinion), but this is a great CD filled with brilliant tunes, ideal for bellowing along to while driving or drunk (but not both). Buy it - you deserve it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 30 Mar 2003
By A Customer
It was "The Fairytale Of New York", that classic christmas song that sparked my interest in the Pogues. It's an awesome compilation of Irish folk music thats you will humm for ages afterwards. A brilliant CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is truly the best of the Pogues. If you've heard a song you like from this band it's probably on this album. I bought it as a bit of a party album and it delivers this in spades. I wouldn't sit still in a dark room to listen on my own but that's not what the Pogues are about. This is music for a good time and I'm pleased I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best just got better, 5 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This is perhaps a superfluous album for hardened Pogues fans, but it's nevertheless great stuff including loads of the songs that you wished had been on the initial Best of album. So alongside classics such as Dirty Old Town, The Irish Rover, and Fairytale, there are riproarers such as The Sick Bed of Cuchulainn, If I Should Fall from Grace, and The Boys from the County Hell, and slower, but equally gripping tunes such as Waltzing Matilda and The Old Main Drag. As an album, this fuses very well together, and presents a thorough view of the career of the Pogues. It's the nature of the band that the variety of songs they produced means that everyone has their own favourites, and this album in the main plumps for general taste winners, but this is a great entry into the world of Pogues music and style and not a bad version of a 'fan's own' compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love the pogues, buy it, 15 Jan 2010
By 
L. Odowd "laurenmcf6785" (glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The pogues are one of my favourite bands aswel as my step dads so when I bought him the "best of" he totally loved it. Would recommend for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairytale of an Album, 14 Jan 2008
Released as The Pogues first started their now annual Christmas tours this album is, as the wrapper proclaims, `The Very Best of The Pogues'.

Not as complete as a full compliment of the original five Pogues albums or the two volume `best of/rest of' compilations it is a perfect introduction to one of the greatest bands to ever stand up, or even fall over, on stage.

Although omissions are easy to spot `Thousands Are Sailing' and `The Repeal of the Licensing Laws' being obvious, it does contain `The Band Played Waltzing Matilda' and so what we loose on the swings we gain on the roundabouts. Not that you can loose with this album, everyone a winner. If you don't own any Pogues albums, buy this one, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Again!, 18 April 2001
The Pogues and particularly Shane McGownan have often being vilified and ignored by large sections of the media. This compilation furthers, however, the argument that the group are deserved of special mention in any reflection of music of the latter stages of the 20th century. This album in contrast to their previous curtailing "Best of" 14 track effort is both more reflective of the diversity of the Pogues music and also offers a better insight into the depth and distinctiveness of McGowan's often underestimated song writing ability with the inclusion of songs such as"The Old Main Drag","Summer in Siam" and "If I Should Fall from Grace with God". "And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda" is also a welcome addition. One criticism however-how can the dropping of "Thousands are Sailing",arguably McGowan's greatest effort,be justified. Overall however it is an exeptional compilation and a worthy purchase for an music fan with any degree of appreciation for quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as always the pogues at there best i just love to sit listening and singing along.i highly recomend this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews