Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond comprehension
For about an hour i have been trying to write a review. I have revised and restarted so many times that i have lost count. It is so hard to compare this album to fallen. This is because Fallen sold MILLIONS of albums and to say that it was very successful would be an understatement. However The Open Door offers so much more than Fallen. With The Open Door you can really...
Published on 10 Jan 2008 by J. Edwards

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but struggles in comparison with "Fallen"
I suppose if "The Open Door" had been Evanescence's first album, instead of 2003's splendid "Fallen", then this review might be more favourable. As it is, "Fallen" set a tough standard to emulate - the task made more complicated by the departure of key members of the band, in particular Fallen's guitarist and co-writer Ben Moody - and Evanescence have failed to do it...
Published on 16 Dec 2006 by alextorres


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond comprehension, 10 Jan 2008
By 
J. Edwards "I'm A PC" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Open Door (Audio CD)
For about an hour i have been trying to write a review. I have revised and restarted so many times that i have lost count. It is so hard to compare this album to fallen. This is because Fallen sold MILLIONS of albums and to say that it was very successful would be an understatement. However The Open Door offers so much more than Fallen. With The Open Door you can really feel every emotion in the different songs. There are aggressive rock-out songs like "Sweet Sacrifice" and "Lithium" that really hit the spot when you're in the mood for a badass heavy song. There are gentle, calming, soothing and most of all happy songs such as "Good Enough" and to me; the main emotion missing from Fallen was happiness. There are almost indescribable songs such as "Cloud Nine" and "Snow White Queen" that really pack a punch yet are so unique that you may have to listen to them again to discover how much you really like the songs whereas you probably immediately adore the others. Songs like "The Only One" and "Lose Control" are the most different and probably the catchiest songs of the album once you've sang along with the lyrics. Coming to the end of the album is "Lacrymosa" that combines beyond amazing vocals with great guitar playing and stunning classical symphony. What's left if your still begging for more is "Like you" which is a sad and brilliant melody and probably my all time favourite song; "Your Star". I don't quite know how to describe "Your Star". It starts melodically and peacefully with vocals that top all other songs, and then it gets going with the introduction of the guitars and drums, and changes to a completely outstanding track that deserves to be listened to again and again, with an utterly immense ending. To conclude, now that I have the open door, I will be sticking to it when I want my dose of Evanescence. The open door simply has much more to offer to me than what fallen does and The Open Door is most definitely my favourite album. I'm not asking you to think that too, but if you agree that this album is incredible and if you prefer the change from Fallen then please answer yes to "Was this review helpful?" Thank you for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 July 2007
By 
Mrs. J. Harle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Open Door (Audio CD)
Having read some bad reviews, I was a bit dubious as to whether this would be as good as Fallen. However, I listened with an open mind and I can't see what the critics were on about! It's just as good as Fallen (admittedly not better - but that's a tough album to beat). Highlights include the single 'Call me when you're sober', the beautiful and haunting 'Good enough', and 'Lacrymosa' - anyone familiar with the original Lacrymosa from Mozart's Requiem will have chills going down their spine just like I did. Anyone who liked Fallen should have this in their collection too, it's well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Progression !!, 18 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: The Open Door (Audio CD)
After reading some of the previous critics reviews, and having heard only the `samples` on the Amazon Web Page, it was with caution that I purchased this CD. Fallen was one of the `landmark` albums of this century so far, and as is nearly always the case when an artist begins it's recording career with such a powerful and mature work, the follow up piece is often received critically. Having listened to `The Open door` several times, I simply cannot understand the negatives expressed by prior reviewers. It is beautifully written and produced. The musicianship is both powerful and at the same time harmonious with Amy's ever maturing vocals. The album builds throughout, and reaches a crescendo of creativity in the pen-ultimate song. What's more, it really isn't that different from `Fallen`. It is definitely more complex, and will take a little longer for the songs to become familiar, but I hasten to guess that after a while, this album could well eclipse it's much vaunted predessor. We live in an age of instant gratification. If something , whether it be music, food, a film or whatever, doesn't give an immediate thrill, then many just move on to the next offering. I recommend this excellent album most highly, and I am sure that some of those initially disappointed by it, will, if patient come to thrill to it just as much as they did/do with `Fallen`.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maintaining that connection! Amy Lee's passion is still present after such turmoil!, 5 Nov 2006
By 
K. D. Squire (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Open Door (Audio CD)
After the massive success of Fallen and selling nearly 15 million albums world wide the long awaited return of evanescence hit the scenes on october the 3rd.

After huge restructuring of the band the new album could of changed dramatically in either direction however it changed for the better the new drummer and guitarist are a fantastic addition to Amy Lee's vocals and piano.

The tracks follow the same path as fallen they speak of deep felt feelings of hate, love, pain and passion towards old loves, ex bandmates and troubled pasts. Through this the Open door album retains that passion for the audience that the fallen album created.

Hard hitting drums, and resonating vocals coupled with the occasional classical orchestra and rifts from guitarist John Lecompt give the open door album its new edge that shoots evanescence into the future and gives new meaning to rock!

Its standout tracks, give this album such meaning and devotion from fans and deserves to surpass its predecessor in all award ceremonies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fallen through The Open Door, 13 Nov 2006
This review is from: The Open Door (Audio CD)
Evanescence's second studio album `The Open Door' opens with the strong, hard hitting rock song 'Sweet Sacrifice' which signals the end of Fallen's theme of vulnerability and begins TOD's theme of empowerment. This crisp introduction proceeds into first single 'Call Me When Youre Sober' with its chugging riffs and blunt lyrics reflecting Amy Lee's new found strength. Contrasting these two epic rock efforts are the three ballads of the album. The tense, mournful 'Like You' explores Amy's longing desire to be with a lost loved one and gives a glimpse of weakness which is also apparent in the melodic, self-doubt filled 'Lithium'. This uncertainty is ultimately eclipsed by happiness though in last track 'Good Enough' which captivates via its potent combination of piano graced with Lee's stunning vocals. The album's beautiful centerpiece 'Lacrymosa' is a magnificent metal adaptation of a part of Mozart's Requiem. Amy Lee's delicate voice entwined with a string orchestra results in the best song of the album and possibly of Evanescence to date. The pulsating eastern motif filled rock track 'Weight of the World' delivers a fresh sound by the band whilst the resonating 'Your Star' depicts loneliness with its slow, solemn intro and intricate guitar playing. The two heaviest tracks on TOD are the chilling 'Cloud Nine' with its sci fi studio effects and the spiritual 'The Only One' which has a thumping backdrop and inspiring lyrics. 'Snow White Queen' is an enchantingly gothic song which delves into both a victim and stalkers mind. This track is brilliantly disorganized and reminds me of Haunted with its pure darkness. This darkness becomes even more sinister in 'Lose Control' which has wonderful guitar riffs and delightful metaphors. Lee's severely distorted vocals result in this being the most unique track of the album. Finally we have John LeCompts contribution in 'All That Im Living For', a pleasing but predictable song which lacks the albums endearing quality of adventure and experimentation.

Overall a brave and beautiful sophomore effort by Evanescence which gives you an insight into Amy Lee's world. B+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its good, but good enough?, 7 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: The Open Door (Audio CD)
So, yes this album is very different and at first [if like me] you may seem a bit dissappointed, but please PLEASE give it chance, so given not all the songs have that killer hook you would have expected, and yes there does seem to be something lacking, but for whatever this album lacks it makes up for in creativity and originality. Each song has a very personal feel to it, very well written and sung beautifully by the wonderful Amy Lee. Standout tracks for me are "Snow White Queen", "Cloud Nine" and the beautiful "Your Star" as well as many others. The main criticism is that alot of this album sounds very similar, but this isnt down to Miss Lee, more due to the similarities in the musical score on each track. I dont like this as much as Fallen but top marks for creating a diverse and different follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but must be given a chance, 22 July 2008
By 
Luke Swinson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Open Door (Audio CD)
I bought this and played it in my car, as i have a long and boring motorway journey every day, and as i already had Fallen in the changer i was able to directly compare the two. And at first i think this didn't help - I felt that those who had levelled criticism at this album were right. It does seem a little bland and underwhelming at first listen compared to its catchier predecessor.

However i stuck with it and after the third time of listening i really started to get into some of the tracks. I must admit that turning it up loud did help!

I think that once you give a bit of attention to the album, some of the subtlety and originality comes out in most of the tracks, which i think are actually all more 'individual' than on Fallen.

I still think Fallen is the best album, as it has that real punchy and instant lure that Open Door lacks, but if you are willing to give this a go as a less 'commercial' album it works really well. My favourite tracks at the moment are Call me when you're Sober and Only One; but that's liable to change as i listen and i think that's what makes this album interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why is this album rated so badly?, 29 Aug 2007
By 
Ms. L. Hern "Immortal Paradox" (Britain, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Open Door (Audio CD)
Please, at first we've got to accept that it's a lot different to "Fallen" which is believed that it was perhaps impossible to come up with an album that is just as good but I believe that Evanescence have done it and made their music a whole lot better. It starts off with a fantastic song called "Sweet Sacrifice" which stretches Amy Lee's vocals to the possible limit and yet she still sings it superbly, to move onto the end of the album which, what I am trying to say is that every song puts perhaps a different limit to Amy's voice and to the band itself which shows just how much hard work they put into it. I think when listening to music, we've got to accept a change. And that change is shown in this album. Recommended for people who are fans of Evanescence (like me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is fantastic. One of the best albums of 2006!, 12 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Open Door (Audio CD)
1. Sweet Sacrifice - 9.5/10

2. Call Me When You're Sober - 10/10 Great first single!

3. Weight of the World - 9.5/10

4. Lithium - 100/10 Oh, Lithium. One of my favourite songs on the album. Sometimes I cry when I play this song:'( Beautiful!!! (and great second single)

5. Cloud Nine - 9/10

6. Snow White Queen - 10/10 This is a great song. Oh, what a creepy music:-)...

7. Lacrymosa - 100/10 oh...Lacrymosa is an amazing song and a very creepy song, too. I think this song is my favourite...

8. Like You - 9.5/10

9. Lose Control - 9/10

10. The Only One - 10/10 Very good!

11. Your Star - 100/10 - Oh gosh! My second favourite on the album! A beautiful song and very mystical!

12. All That I'm Living For - 7/10 - I like this song, but not my favourite.

13. Good Enough - 100/10 What a beautiful song!!! Amy's voice is amazing in this song, probably my 3rd favourite.The Piano work is awesome!

GREAT JOB EVANESCENCE!!! Definitely one of the best albums of 2006.

So much better than 'Fallen'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back on top., 5 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: The Open Door (Audio CD)
It WAS well worth the wait. A vivid collection of songs that delve perhaps a little deeper than that of Fallen. The absence of Ben Moody is not with notice, some of the more catch melodies have gone - but in their place is an angst ridden vocal delivered by a unique artist - Amy Lee.

Highlights for me include: Weight Of The World, All I'm Living For & of course Call Me When You're Sober.

In a world where the likes of Kelly Clarkson & Pink dip their toe in a world of Rock, Evanescence has proved that it takes a little more guts, and little more power and just a little bit more 'world wearyness'. Order it now, come October, when the fire's roaring, wind howling and red wine pouring - you'll wonder what winter warmth was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Open Door
The Open Door by Evanescence (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews