Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars12
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2011
When the critically-acclaimed "Batman - the Animated Series" premiered on Fox in the early 90's, it was obvious that the same production team would take a stab at DC fellow stablemate, Superman. "Superman - the Animated Series" ran on the WB from 1996-2000 and had the same top quality writing, animation, and use of top name acting talent as had its predecessor.

The series is especially notable for assembling some of the best "voices" for any animated series. Dana Delaney is great as Lois Lane while David Kaufman perfectly assays the role of Jimmy Olsen. Just like Kevin Conroy is the definite Batman/Bruce Wayne, appearing in five episodes of the show, Clancy Brown is perfection as Superman's nemesis, Lex Luthor.

The last, but certainly not least of the main characters is Superman/Clark Kent, voiced by Tim Daly. The former "Wings" star does a good job of bringing "Ole Blue" to life. However, it is the actor's turn as Bizarro in three installments that is a treat for the ears. It's hard to imagine that Daly voices both Superman and his not-too-bright Doppelganger. That is a testament to Daly's skills as an actor.

In addition to the main characters, recurring and guest villains are also brilliantly portrayed by the likes of Mike Farrell and real-life wife Shelley Fabares (Pa and Ma Kent), Malcolm McDowell (Metallo), Brad Garrett (Bibbo and Lobo),Corey Burton (Braniac), Gilbert Gottfried (Mr. Mxyzptlk), Michael Dorn (Kalibak and John Steel), Ed Asner as the deliciously wicked Granny Goodness, and Michael Ironside as the despot Darkseid.

Speaking of the latter two, Asner and Ironside appear as their respective characters in the best episodes of the series, which include "Little Girl Lost,Parts I and II," "Apokolips, Parts I and II," and "Legacy, Parts I and II." These installments not only are inspired by legendary Jack Kirby's Fourth World series but demonstrate a more intense look at the Man of Steel as he faces what is arguably his greatest foe in the form of Darkseid.

"Apokolips, Part II" also features one of the most surprising deaths of ANY television series, bar none.

In addition to the series 54 episodes, this compilation has some really good audio commentary on several episodes, interesting looks at the myth of Superman, and a short piece on Darkseid.

While some may decry the fact that there are some double-sided discs in the set, the bargain price makes up for that marketing strategy.
55 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
I won't repeat what has been said about this series: its great.

However, a lot of people don't know that this product is not region locked although it is labelled as a region 1 product here and on the box. I have tested it on a variety of DVD players: Mac Pro, Sony BDP-S760, S360 and a Panasonic (can't remember model name). I also own Batman Volume 3 and can play it on said players as well here in the UK.

Only gripe about this set is that the DVDs are rather strange. The first disc in every season looks great - a graphically decorated DVD but the second disc of every season is a mysterious blank two sided DVD but it does work on both sides.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
I actually watched the whole series on download and just had to get this on an original copy. I loved every minute and Im a big smallville fan so anything to do with Cal-El and Jor-El and Krypton, Im all about that!!!
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
The same team of talented group of individuals who created the early 1990s classic Batman Animated Series! And what a team! Yes, I can wish that a so-called "teen-directed" animation was written with more adult-orientation and sensibilities. It seems that the adult-themed American animations like the Batman and Superman 1990s shows were "one-offs" - today's versions are backward regressively poorly and ill-judged re-boots. Just by this DVD and enjoy.'Nuff Said.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
This series is a must-watch for any fans of Superman, or of animation in general. This is part of the DCAU series, and leads directly in to the Justice League cartoons. I picked this up and was not disappointed, although the hefty customs charge was an annoyance (I wish they would release this, and the Justice League DVDs, for the UK market).

Most of the DVDs are double-sided, so the label art is limited and basic where it is present. The set really shines in its content: the full series, several commentaries, and a few extras. The series features stylised animation that has held up well, and the voice acting is superb. This is definitely worth the money.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
I don't know why I haven't bought this sooner - it's a must for any Superman fan!! Definitely one of the best DC animated series around.

Just be careful who you buy it from - when mine arrived in the post it was all smashed and broken.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
The live action series are always limited by budgets and often it shows **Cough - Lois & Clark - cough**, however with a cartoon they can do whatever they want and this enables some very entertaining stories with some great villains.

This even beats Smallville for me as the best interpretation of Superman and Tim Daly is the only voice of Superman for me, Clancy Brown does the definitive Lex Luthor and really bring the characters to life.

Superman is not as strong in this as he has been portrayed in the comics so often he gets a beating, although he always wins in the end - he is Superman after all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Love this series so much just wish they had continued it. Loved the drawings of superman and lois, to my mind the best they have ever looked in cartoon.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
I was never a Superman fan and would never had thought of buying this. I am a huge Batman fan and had all the Batman animated series episodes.
Then the New 52 came along and i thought i would have a look at Superman, read it and loved it!
So i bought the entire Justice League animated series (partly because Batmans in it) thought to myself actually Supermans quite cool so i took the plunge and bought this.
So far im half way through season 3 and loving it, not looking back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
Excellent, exactly what was ordered, prompt posting and arrival, new DVD will buy similar again, thoroughly enjoyed watching series and may let the kids watch it too, though probably not
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)