Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game! Stone circles, ancient curses & Celtic Legends.
Stone circles, ancient curses and the Celtic legends of Cornwall are explored in this re-released adventure game.

I've played through Barrow Hill a couple of times now, before writing a review for an online game store.

I'm a fan (always have been) of point and click style adventure games, which feature good stories. Barrow Hill is not only a great...
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by Dark Paths

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it was ok
ive recently got into these kind of games, and most have been really good, but this one was ok, a bit short wanted more
Published 15 months ago by abby prince


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game! Stone circles, ancient curses & Celtic Legends., 6 Sep 2009
By 
Dark Paths "Dark Paths" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barrow Hill: Curse of the Ancient Circle (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Stone circles, ancient curses and the Celtic legends of Cornwall are explored in this re-released adventure game.

I've played through Barrow Hill a couple of times now, before writing a review for an online game store.

I'm a fan (always have been) of point and click style adventure games, which feature good stories. Barrow Hill is not only a great adventure game, it also features a cracking story and a meticulously detailed square mile of (a slightly fictionalised) Cornish landscape. Stone circle enthusiasts are represented intelligently, with the player being left to decide whether the archaeologists are right to disturb the site, or whether the protesters are hopelessly misguided. Pagans, techno-pagans and the completely sceptical are all featured, making Barrow Hill a detailed and intelligent effort.

The flora and geology feels very accurate, the ancient site (the barrow of the title) is eerily atmospheric and the puzzles are logical, integrated and satisfying. Puzzles and story are what helps the adventure genre differentiate itself from the action orientated games of the FPS or RPG genre.

All game genres can have highlights, and Barrow Hill is definitely an example of great adventure gaming. Those seeking the mad pace of an action game, or the expansive grandeur of Oblivion, will probably find Barrow Hill rather slow, but the atmosphere, story and...most importantly...archaeology are spot on, well researched and detailed. The creators love of ancient sites, folklore and adventure games shines through the slightly 'low tech' approach to game construction, but as a debut effort from a single individual this is less than important. It's a super game, with lots of puzzles, great sound design and centres on an ancient barrow and stone circle on the Autumn Equinox. Perfect for some serious Halloween orientated puzzle solving.

This 'Focus' rerelease is a bargain! Grab one now, and start exploring Barrow Hill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barrow Hill, 11 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barrow Hill: Curse of the Ancient Circle (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I loved this. Having played most adventure games on the market I would put this in my top 3. So you don't know who are you are! Use your imagination, you can be who you want to be, including yourself. I live in Cornwall, the cafe/motel is not so out of place as you might think. The puzzles were very well thought out with clever and logical clues. The voice acting and graphics are acceptable to good. It is a great location to explore and I found it difficult to take a break in this game. The fact that you listen to characters in the game but do not speak to them was a plus for me, no endless "round and round" dialogue (The Longest Journey!). There is a reference to a deaf mute in the story and I wonder if you are this person?. I see no harm in referring to a walkthrough if you are stuck but I really would advise you have another look round in this game. I am no genius and only had to refer to a walkthrough once and then wished I hadn't as the answer was perfectly logical. Although you can only move forward, back, left or right I didn't find this awkward in reaching desired locations but sometimes irksome not to get a better view of something as you would in 360. The sequel to Barrow Hill is now out (a similar theme) and I am very much looking forward to playing it. It will have to be very good to beat this. Well done Matt Clark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars strange setting?, 2 Jan 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barrow Hill: Curse of the Ancient Circle (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I'd agree with most of the other reviews, however I'm quite surprised that no-one has commented on the rather weird juxtaposition of an american style motel and a winnebago in the middle of cornwall? A couple of stone cottages and a tea room would have made a much more accurate central focus for the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long, interesting play, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barrow Hill: Curse of the Ancient Circle (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This has kept me going for months. I play for a few days, get bored and then go back to it. Still haven't finished after a year or so, and I definitely needed a cheats guide to keep me moving forward. A good level of play for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, 17 April 2011
By 
Mrs H (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barrow Hill: Curse of the Ancient Circle (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I am not disappointed by this game. It runs well on Windows 7 although it is an older game. It is very atmospheric and certainly makes my flesh creep when playing alone at night. The puzzles seem of a fair difficulty (I haven't finished it yet) and variety. The interaction with the environment is what would be expected froma game a few years old which is basically a point and click adventure. I'm impressed by the different ideas that this basic technique is used for.

Good fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story line, Fantastic graphics... Fantastic fun!, 7 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barrow Hill: Curse of the Ancient Circle (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is a great point and click spooky adventure game. I've always loved games that make you think and this one certainly does, plenty of puzzles to work out and different places to go. The graphics are incredible, the music really adds to the atmosphere and there is a good mix of voice overs. Overall if you like a spooky game with a good storyline that really keeps you enthralled and entertained, then this is the game for you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Restore the Balance", 5 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barrow Hill: Curse of the Ancient Circle (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Barrow Hill is a wonderful, thought provoking and spine-chilling adventure. With multiple endings, we are left to choose whether to heed the warnings and `restore the balance' or to provide a quick fix. How will we escape the wrath of the reawakened ancients who dwell beneath the ancient stone circle, on top of Barrow Hill? We will return the ancient pagan gods to their restful slumber, or make a quick escape and let humanity deal with the fall out of abandoning the lessons of the past?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars quick delivery, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barrow Hill: Curse of the Ancient Circle (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The all family like this game and play it often. Keeps them entertained and graphics are pretty good too. Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it was ok, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barrow Hill: Curse of the Ancient Circle (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
ive recently got into these kind of games, and most have been really good, but this one was ok, a bit short wanted more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing rubbish, 6 May 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barrow Hill: Curse of the Ancient Circle (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Waste of money, very boring and slow, no direction, just wandering aimlesly about. Labouriously slow movement of direction, having to move all over the place just to look at an object. My advice is do not buy or waste your money, stick to the Dark Paralell games, I have never been disappointed with those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barrow Hill: Curse of the Ancient Circle (PC DVD)
Barrow Hill: Curse of the Ancient Circle (PC DVD) by Focus Multimedia Ltd (Windows Vista / XP)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews