Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GlobeTrotting Sims 3
I have posted this review after reading many misleading reviews about sims 3 world adventures. I bought this game about a month ago, and although I have not been stuck on it and playing like crazy, I am sure this was worth my money.

The Bad:
*Hard to play between characters - It is very hard to be searching through a tomb and then look after a child ( they...
Published on 17 April 2010

versus
104 of 107 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bugs aside...
As so many reviews have focused on the bugs the game has, I will try to focus my review on the gameplay itself, as the bugs will eventually be resolved through patches.

World Adventures is an attempt to take the Sims series in a new direction. It adds a puzzle element to the gameplay. Sims go abroad and whilst there can go on 'adventures' which include...
Published on 5 Dec 2009 by Mrs. J. D. Spangler


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 107 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bugs aside..., 5 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. J. D. Spangler "The Why Bird" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: World Adventures - Expansion Pack (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
As so many reviews have focused on the bugs the game has, I will try to focus my review on the gameplay itself, as the bugs will eventually be resolved through patches.

World Adventures is an attempt to take the Sims series in a new direction. It adds a puzzle element to the gameplay. Sims go abroad and whilst there can go on 'adventures' which include collecting objects, visiting places, befriending locals and perhaps most significantly exploring tombs. The tombs are a series of rooms filled with hidden doors, rock falls, traps, secret levers and treasure. The puzzles you need to solve in order to explore the tombs are generally quite simple- pushing statues onto pressure panels, 'inspecting' suspicious wall panels and so on. They may challenge younger children, but teens and adults will have no problems with even the more advanced tombs (which are longer, but not really any more difficult).

Though there seem to be a large number of tombs, they are not randomised, so once you have solved them once working through them with a different Sim family becomes a slightly dull exercise in just clicking in the right spots. This leads to limited replay value for this expansion pack, however with the possibility to download user-made tombs, this should keep the interest going.

In order to travel your Sim must pay a fairly large amount of money, and can only stay in the destination for a few days. Later trips can last longer once you have earned enough points for a higher level of visa, but this does lead to some frustration when your Sim gets sent home half way through a tomb. Many people have complained that travel is too expensive, however Sims come home with large amounts of treasure which can be sold and will easily cover the cost of the next trip. There is also a compulsory two-day wait between trips which prevents you working through the expansion pack too quickly.

Sims do not age whilst on holiday, so Sims cannot live in the holiday worlds and babies, toddlers and visibly pregnant Sims cannot travel. Sims needs still have to be met, and you can purchase dried food and a tent to use inside tombs to avoid having to go all the way back to base camp in the middle of a level. Friends and relationships can be made, and if you wish your Sim can invite a 'foreign visitor' to stay at their house for a few days.

As you would expect from an expansion pack, the game also adds in some new wants and lifetime goals, a few new skills (such as martial arts) some extra personality traits and some new objects and building equipment.

All in all, not a bad little pack which adds a decent amount of content, but nothing so exciting that I would recommend it to someone who isn't already a Sims fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GlobeTrotting Sims 3, 17 April 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: World Adventures - Expansion Pack (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have posted this review after reading many misleading reviews about sims 3 world adventures. I bought this game about a month ago, and although I have not been stuck on it and playing like crazy, I am sure this was worth my money.

The Bad:
*Hard to play between characters - It is very hard to be searching through a tomb and then look after a child ( they can't go in tombs ) as well. However, this minor glitch can easily be solved by either only taking one of your sims on holiday or just creating one character to play with. Altogether, I don't think this was the creators fault,I am certainly at a loss on how they could have improved this in playing.
*Not much to do - I found in some places, there was not much to do. It is more like just playing in a different village but I still felt this is a great game. It depends on what your characters like. Of course, going on holiday is fun anyway because you do not have to worry about school, homework or even your job - and you don't get sacked or demoted for it.

The Good:
* Fun and interesting, a great change in scenery.
* New activities, traits and styles.
* Exciting new places and people, tombs to explore and new friends to invite over to your house as well!

Just to say, on my laptop ( a £520 Packard Bell) it works perfectly ( make sure you can run it and have enough space for it as it is rubbish when slow). I could find NO glitches or actual problems in the game, It does not shut my down. Those who complained either had a faulty disc ( not sims 3 world adventures fault) or their computer/laptop could not run it.
Also, tombs do not become THAT boring. There are many to do, if you are quick with things like that, take it easy and do NOT keep going to Egypt. Not to mention that some tombs are easier than others. I found one in Egypt exceptionally hard.

Did you know:
* You can invite foreign friends to your house in the usual simsworld
* You can marry foreigners ( but sadly not live in their houses)
* How expensive each holiday is is chosen at random. In one game France was cheapest ( like in our normal human world) but in one, Egypt was!
* IT IS A GOOD GAME

To finish this review, I would just like to day that, overall I enjoyed this game and think it is worth your money and time. I also hope you found this review helpful and do buy sims 3 world adventures. Thank you for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining expansion pack, 10 Aug 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: World Adventures - Expansion Pack (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This expansion pack is pretty good, your sims get to travel to different countries such as France,China and Egypt and explore whilst doing missions/tasks. Egypt deffinatly has more to do in it, with plenty of pyramids and tombs to check out. France could be a bit more interesting though!.

however if you think this game is going to be like sims 2 Bon Voyage, you would be sadly misstaken. Bon Voyage has alot more things to do in the game overall!, you had a vacation memory log which gave you the incentive to complete everything in it like sight seeing, trying the local dishes etc.. whereas you don't get anything like this in world adventures, nowhere near as much stuff to explore and do.

In all honesty i've been playing the sims from when the original sims games came out and they just seem to be trying to revisit all the old games in the new expansion packs, without success.. they should be trying to come up with some new original ideas..

Overall i do think its a really entertaining expanison pack, but as with most sims 3 expansion packs these days they could always be better. The games used to be more value for your money, you were able to get heeps of new outfits/hairstyles and household furniture but now they just incourage you to buy their stuff packs and store content instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished game, Full of glitches, 1 April 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: World Adventures - Expansion Pack (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I just bought this expansion recently and have come across a few problems...

The first time I clicked 'Travel' it worked fine, i could do adventures in France, no problem. however the problem happened when i arrived home with a 'replica sim' yes i had 2 of the same guy! i had to move him out as it confused things.

Now every time i got to travel when i arrive there my sim has disappeared and i can't play...there are many other glitches in this game which is a BIG shame EA don't get into gear and fix them. i'm really shocked they retailed it at this state!

As for those on the brink of buying..perhaps stave off this for a while until it's more playable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great game..so far, 21 Nov 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: World Adventures - Expansion Pack (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
ok, so after reading through most of the reviews here, I am more than happy to have not bought my game at amazon this time around. Had some issues with amazon when the base game was released and so opted for the safe (if more expensive) way of buying on high street.

Did not, as many report, have any issues with installing, saving the game etc. The only problem was my custom content which blocked me from actually travelling to the destinations in the game. This was resolved quickly though and I am now enjoying the game. I havent had much time playing it so far but from what I have seen, it is a great add - on. The problem really lies with EA who again were not able to provide a bug-free game.

It does give the whole SIMS 3 world a new dimension. Not only are you able to travel abroad but you are able to really get into the game. With that 'Travel" add on in Sims 2 I was usually bored very quickly as there was not too much to do. Now, my first vacation with my sims was over quickly and I always had something to do with them. Great new worlds to discover and also lots of interaction stuff with other sims possible. The added extra items to the build mode are ace and so far I am not missing my custom content. :)

So, for all you out there thinking of buying the game. You need to really install all the patches EA provides and remove all your CC, then the game is great.

:DD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too buggy to play, 22 Jun 2010
By 
M. Green "Cook and reader" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: World Adventures - Expansion Pack (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This expansions starts off well enough but in order to progress at all you need to have a series of holidays. Trouble starts because the load times are a bit long. Trouble doubles because the occasional corruption creeps in. The game eventually becomes unplayable with crashes and hanging and lost progress. I gave up about 12 hours in. Very dissatisfied with the whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Continuously crashes, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Stockport, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: World Adventures - Expansion Pack (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Bought this along with Sims 3; although my system requirements match and in fact exceed the requirements on the packaging, the game constantly crashes after only about 20 minutes of play and needs to be restarted, losing everything you have just done. Far too frustrating to play, really disappointing. Would not buy any of these again or recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holidaying in Sims 3, 23 Mar 2010
By 
A John (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: World Adventures - Expansion Pack (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I was a little surprised when this came out as the first expansion pack for Sims 3. Holiday for Sims 2 had been fun - but I had felt there were better ideas to hit the expansion zone first. However, I have been pleasantly surprised.

The Sims can choose from 3 exotic destinations. The price is out of range for any newly created Sims, but very affordable for second generation families. Once abroad, your Sim can take up adventures, solving puzzles and earning visa's for longer stays, or expand skills. For anglers, there are new fish to catch, for gardeners there are new plants to harvest and grow, and for cooks there are new recipes. There are also some entirely new skills, martial arts, and photography. I found the photography one to have a full range of gameplay all of its own, as I tried to get Sims to complete a photo collection. However - I did miss the ability to purchase and look through the photo collections, which was present in the Sims 2 version.

As other reviewers have pointed out, once you have solved a puzzle, there's no real challenge for a new Sim going to the same place. But that would take a little while. Officially you don't age while on holiday - but I've found that's not quite true. A child who goes on holiday as soon as they age up to child, will be half way along that age path when they come back. This might just affect Mac's - but its a little irritating for children and teenagers.

For any Sims 3 fan - this isn't really going to disappoint though. There is plenty here to get excited about, and it's well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Clare "clare030182" (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: World Adventures - Expansion Pack (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Unlike other reviewers I have had no installation problems. I do occasionally have glitches with the custom content installation but this problem began with the 1.8/2.3 patch before I even had world adventures so I'm not convinced this has anything to do with this expansion pack.

This expansion gives you 3 new skills -

photography - You have to go on holiday to buy a camera (there are 3 types) but then you can start taking photos. As you gain skill points you can take different types of pictures (size/colour) and you can either put them up in your house or sell them for profit. The bit I love about this is that there are different picture sets (challenges) to complete and I've been trying to escape from a crazy mummy and take it's picture at the same time before. Fun!! This also gives new lifetime wishes too.

nectar making - grow your own strains of grapes and then crush them and make them into wine. You can also experiment with different kinds of fruit to make other recipes, some will be amazing and others terrible. Wine ages if you put it in nectar racks and can be worth a lot of money. You get a nectar machine to improve this skill. (You have to go to France to start this skill.)

martial arts - Become a martial arts champion with this new skill. You can get new actions including spar, meditate and zenteleport. You also have the option to compete in a tournament in the same way you do chess phoning and challenging the next opponent. You get a practise dummy and block breaker to improve this skill. (You have to go to China to start this skill.)

The holidays ... you have 3 destinations - France, China and Egypt. You start on a level one visa which means you can only go away for 3 days. When you are in different countries you stay at a base camp and check the activity board there for different challenges. These could be as simple as finding 3 gems (there are new ones to find as well as space rocks and metals), talking to locals or as complex as exploring a tomb and finding a hidden paper. The tombs are all booby trapped of course and I've almost died several times. A tent, shower in a can and dried food can be bought in local markets to help you stay in tombs and finish your quests. Every time you complete a challenge you get visa points and ancient coins (which you spend at a special merchant, the higher your visa the more you can buy) and simoleans. The hardest challenges make you country hop to complete them.

There are a few new personality traits too to do with travelling to make your sim more able to enjoy the nomadic life.

You can also buy a vacation home in a different country and when you travel there it will ask if you want to stay at your house or base camp.

I love this game. If you are an avid simmer you will not want to miss out on the extras it gives you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but a bit limiting, 21 April 2010
By 
Mr. Cd Thompson "Caltomo" (Shropshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: World Adventures - Expansion Pack (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A very entertaining game full of secrets and puzzles lots more game play. Essentially this expansion is Bon Voyage for the Sims 3, but with an adventure aspect to each holiday. For each holiday you choose between Egypt, China and France and then length of time (3-15 days). Each location takes you to a separate neighbourhood, each designed and populated to portray the culture and architecture of that particular region. In Egypt you search ancient burial tombs and pyramids, or you can purchase an SLR camera and improve your photography skill. In China you search secret basements, temples and the fabled Dragon Cave. You can also practice your martial arts skill at the Dojo, which will aid you in fights against mummies. In France you search the well protected Landgrabbe manor, or you can indulge in the art of producing nectar (wine). All the tombs you explore have secret rooms and corridors, and some require you to solve puzzles by pushing statues and standing on pressure pads. Overall I enjoyed the new environments and skills, but it is very easy to complete quickly leaving you with very little to do in each environment except a few menial courier jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sims 3: World Adventures - Expansion Pack (PC/Mac DVD)
The Sims 3: World Adventures - Expansion Pack (PC/Mac DVD) by Electronic Arts (Mac OS X, Windows Vista / XP)
£15.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews