Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicholas14
Very efficient, easy to install, and value for money, it's cheap but not nasty 'does the job'
I have installed 3 around my house, and they don't look bad in daylight either.
I'm running long life bulbs in them. It's a no brainer,
Or spend more money on one that will rust. Go figure!
just buy one! you cant go wrong.
Published on 16 Jun. 2012 by Nicholas A. Roberts

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plastic bulkhead light
It was cheap and it works, although the PIR detector in my sample is less sensitive than claimed: you have to be within a couple of metres to trigger it. It seems to be waterproof. It was difficult to wire up and also to fix to the wall. The screw holes do not allow for adjustment so unless your drilling is exact the light will be crooked. Most infuriating of all,...
Published on 24 Oct. 2012 by A. Palmer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicholas14, 16 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES88 GLS / 13W ES Plastic Bulkhead with PIR Motion Detector Black,60w (Kitchen & Home)
Very efficient, easy to install, and value for money, it's cheap but not nasty 'does the job'
I have installed 3 around my house, and they don't look bad in daylight either.
I'm running long life bulbs in them. It's a no brainer,
Or spend more money on one that will rust. Go figure!
just buy one! you cant go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exterior wall mounted light - Byron Elro ES88 GLS / 13W ES Plastic Bulkhead with PIR Motion Detector Black,60w, 28 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Byron Elro ES88 GLS / 13W ES Plastic Bulkhead with PIR Motion Detector Black,60w (Kitchen & Home)
Ideal light for those darker evenings without being too over whelming. The 60w bulbs are sufficient to illuminate the paths and entrances. Altogether good quality product at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Byron Elro ES88 GLS / 13W ES Plastic Bulkhead with PIR Motion Detector Black,60w, 30 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES88 GLS / 13W ES Plastic Bulkhead with PIR Motion Detector Black,60w (Kitchen & Home)
Byron Elro ES88 GLS / 13W ES Plastic Bulkhead with PIR Motion Detector Black,60w

I've just installed this bulkhead unit with motion detector, which was delivered a couple of days ago ahead of time.

If you are looking for a simple straight forward unit with little electrical skills required then this is just fine for you.

My only criticism is the lack of instructions, particularly covering the commissioning of the motion detector, this is sort of covered by a rather obscure set of diagrams without any explanation.

It's a pity because this shortcoming is completely unnecessary. On this occasion a picture is not on its own better than a few words of explanation.

PS. I liked it so much that I bought another to put outside my garage. Excellent product.

I've just bought my third one...very pleased with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plastic bulkhead light, 24 Oct. 2012
By 
A. Palmer "apal" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES88 GLS / 13W ES Plastic Bulkhead with PIR Motion Detector Black,60w (Kitchen & Home)
It was cheap and it works, although the PIR detector in my sample is less sensitive than claimed: you have to be within a couple of metres to trigger it. It seems to be waterproof. It was difficult to wire up and also to fix to the wall. The screw holes do not allow for adjustment so unless your drilling is exact the light will be crooked. Most infuriating of all, the plastic cover cannot be clipped back in place unless two tiny black tags are lined up correctly with its rim. The tags are easily overlooked and are not mentioned in any instructions. They are presumably designed to make the assembled body and cover more rigid. The whole is constructed from quite flimsy plastic. On the plus side the plastic seems to flex rather than crack and there is very little to go rusty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not easy!, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES88 GLS / 13W ES Plastic Bulkhead with PIR Motion Detector Black,60w (Kitchen & Home)
This light is brilliant for its purpose, which is to light up my dark garage on entry (from the house) to go to freezer, top up the dustbin or throw away a few empty bottles, and saves me putting on the main fluorescent lighting. However, you will need to be a good DIY person to fit, dealing with the cheap and nasty structure in terms of cover (doesn't quite fit), threading the wires into terminal block, and getting the screws into the back for wall mounting. Not sure how you reach screw down on the left (left it out)! But it works well and you get what you pay for. But I would recommend it for value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lamplight, 19 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Byron Elro ES88 GLS / 13W ES Plastic Bulkhead with PIR Motion Detector Black,60w (Kitchen & Home)
Had purchased this type of lamp some months ago, and have had no problems. However, my latest purchase works o.k. but I've had a problem with the lamp's cover and despite numerous attempts, have failed to fix it securely. This is a design fault which needs to be rectified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic light!, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES88 GLS / 13W ES Plastic Bulkhead with PIR Motion Detector Black,60w (Kitchen & Home)
Instructions are minute, and minimal - l could just read them with glasses on!! The junction box is in the wrong position for ease and you need to remove filament holder to access junction box. That said it's cheap and does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible design, 22 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES88 GLS / 13W ES Plastic Bulkhead with PIR Motion Detector Black,60w (Kitchen & Home)
Whilst this looks OK and does the job, installing it is a real fiddle due to the terrible internal design of the unit. What should have taken 15 minutes took nearly an hour of frustrating fighting with the innards. And I'm no amateur - 30 years of electronics engineering expertise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad for the price, 6 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Byron Elro ES88 GLS / 13W ES Plastic Bulkhead with PIR Motion Detector Black,60w (Kitchen & Home)
The build quality is not too great to be honest! Once you have removed the white cover to install the light and the bulb the white never fitted back in properly thus now making it non water tight now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sensor light, 7 July 2013
By 
P. Hellingsworth "Saver" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES88 GLS / 13W ES Plastic Bulkhead with PIR Motion Detector Black,60w (Kitchen & Home)
It arrived in good time. It is installed and works very well. The timers are easy to set to our requirements, however it was awkward getting the front cover off during installing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews