Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you liked The Cult before you'll love this.
The Cult's last release was 1994 and on the basis of this album compared to the lack lustre solo outputs of Duffy & Astbury, the break would have appear to have done them some good. Having powerhouse drummer Matt Sorum back from Guns 'n' Roses helps too.
Produced by the legendary Bob Rock, this is basically a cross between "Sonic Temple" and...
Published on 8 Jan 2002 by Alister King

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing wall of sound
I had high hopes for this album but I was sadly disappointed. Billy Duffy is a great guitar player and Astbury's voice is brilliant but on this album they are wiped out by a really repetitive wall of lumpen guitar noise. The Cult are at their best when the guitars really chime not when they just chug chug along. The only song that really hits the spot is My Bridges...
Published on 28 Aug 2001 by darsham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you liked The Cult before you'll love this., 8 Jan 2002
This review is from: Beyond Good And Evil (Audio CD)
The Cult's last release was 1994 and on the basis of this album compared to the lack lustre solo outputs of Duffy & Astbury, the break would have appear to have done them some good. Having powerhouse drummer Matt Sorum back from Guns 'n' Roses helps too.
Produced by the legendary Bob Rock, this is basically a cross between "Sonic Temple" and "Love" but heavier.
The album kicks of with a huge great riff on "War (the process)", goes straight into "Saint" and continues apace with "Rise". By now you know you're in for a good ride and the air guitars are very much out.
There's a little bit of groove and one ballad to break things up a little, Ian Astbury waxing lyrical about the usual stuff (gothic, ghosts, the sky and the Devil), but it's Billy Duffy's ferocious guitar that wins you over. A collection of great guitar driven rock tracks. If you liked The Cult before you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best album they have done so far.............., 1 Nov 2002
By 
Darren Catterall "cultpjfan" (Wigan,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Good And Evil (Audio CD)
From the opening bars of War(The Process) to the full on blitz of My Bridges Burn this is The Cult at their most enduring.
It's all here.
You like the slow songs like Edie...you get Nico....you like Horse Nation from Dreamtime you get American Gothic.
Or you just want them to be what they always we're in the fans eyes...the best UK rock band since Led Zeppelin.
Check out Breathe...the first time I heard this I got goosebumps.
Billy's guitar playing is just as good as in the Sonic Temple days,the guy who taught Johnny Marr no doubt,but did Marr ever play anything as good as the stuff on offer here?
Nope,don't think so.
Ian's voice is still as striking as ever.
No mistaking Ian when he is in full flight.
This album is pure 100% Cult.
Buy it,listen to it,love it!
Simple as that.
The Cult are the most under-rated UK rock band of all time.
They deserve your time to appreciate them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Coke Classic, this is Cult Classic, 29 Oct 2005
This review is from: Beyond Good And Evil (Audio CD)
The Cult have gone back to their roots with an album that is possibly their best-ever. The high-watermark of their heyday career was Sonic Temple, but this comes close and possibly exceeds the quality of that album. What is a shame is that the record company and band parted ways soon after release and so the promotion for the album has been poor to say the least. If you like rock music of the AC/DC, Aerosmith type vintage then you will love this album - and it proves that the Cult can still produce great music, not just nostalgia for the 80s. Get it, turn up the stereo and campaign for a new album from Ian and Billy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Cult rock back to form., 9 Jun 2001
By 
thetincanman (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beyond Good And Evil (Audio CD)
Many years have passed since The Cult's last release, arguments caused the band to exploded in the middle of their world tour. Now back together, the break has done them good. A new line up (well no shocks there!) and a collection of great, honest rock tracks. Sounding a bit like a cross between "Sonic Temple" and "Love" with small amounts of "The Cult" album thrown in for taste.
The album kicks of on War. A great stomp along track which sends you flying across the room when the opening riff pumps out of your speakers. Then into The Saint and Rise which maintain the 100mph approach to the songs. Take the Power and breathe inject a little bit of groove into the procedings and then its Niko, the only "ballard" on the album. What makes it stand out from their other slow songs is the fact that they haven't tried to rewrite "Edie" again. The album plays through some good songs and then ends on the superb My bridges Burn.
If you liked The Cult before you'll love this. If you're new to the band, this is the one to buy. You won't be disappointed. This album has already been well recived in the States and their tour has been packed. Heres hoping the UK will be the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEYOND GOOD it's brillant !, 6 Jan 2004
By 
paul (Basingstoke, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beyond Good And Evil (Audio CD)
I was never really a cult fan apart from buying the Electric they were only a "goth" rock band in my eyes which I happened to like a few songs!, I actually borrowed this album first from my local library with the attitude" oh yeah .... the cult " I remember them ! wonder what happened to 'em? ! "........... WELL what happened was that they made a teriffic rock album!, crunching heavy guitars , ripping vocals! and melodic too! , first thoughts on hearing the first two tracks guitars were ... yep they been listening to Zeppelin again! but thats not a bad thing! I had to buy this album .. and it is one of my favourite newer albums of the late '90's . Just check it out, BUY IT! If you like guitars & rock ! I just wish I could have seen them tour with this album in the UK , I would have definatly gone to see them play it live! The cult are back ! # nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The more you listen the better it gets., 14 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Beyond Good And Evil (Audio CD)
Although The Cult are unlikely to ever again produce an album as virtually perfect as LOVE they continue to write excellent songs. With Beyond Good and Evil they have cemented their place in the rock scene following on from ELECTRIC and SONIC TEMPLE. There is a hard edge to many of the songs on this album which is refreshingly raw rather than overly polished. The highlights at first listening are WAR, RISE, TAKE THE POWER, SHAPE THE SKY and TRUE BELIEVERS but as is the case with much work of The Cult other songs come into their own the more you listen. Ian Astbury is back to his powerful best whilst Billy Duffy once again laces the tracks with just the right guitar work. Ultimaltely this album proves once again what a talented writing team Astbury and Duffy are. - Mark Ellershaw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super-charged Cult at their best, 2 Oct 2001
This review is from: Beyond Good And Evil (Audio CD)
I've been a 'background' Cult fan for many years, as I was never allowed to gigs as a teenager unless they were at the local yoof club, but this album has now made me crave for gigs again, ten years down the line. The album is classic Cult style with a modern, sometimes industrial edge, guitars still ring in familiar tones and the riffs are original and fantastic. This album would heave a venue into action, meanwhile I will bounce around the living room until I find out when they're touring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lumphammer rifforama ala Sonic Temple period, 18 Jun 2001
This review is from: Beyond Good And Evil (Audio CD)
Well,yes,this is a great ROCK album in a similar vein to Sonic Temple and Ceremony. War and American Gothic swing with midtempo lumphammer dynamism.Take the Power and Speed of Light (aka Black California) are awesome chunks of heavy rock energy. But this album lacks the personal lyrics and the diversity of their last The Cult album, which, with Love are me favourites. This is music for American fans, and I prefer Ian and Billy when they're more adventurous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great comeback album, a welcome return, 24 April 2007
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Beyond Good And Evil (Audio CD)
After a veritable age away, The Cult return with a remarkable record. Again, not a true hard rock record in the stadium sense, the band have built on the previous American-style alternative rock album 'The Cult' and upped the ante a bit with even heavier guitars. The songs are strong and the band are kicking butt once more, at no time do they give the impression that they're just going through the motions. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This one goes up to 11, 12 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Beyond Good And Evil (Audio CD)
The first thing you notice about Beyond Good and Evil is that its loud. Really loud. I know thats a stupid thing to say but the 'everything louder than everything else' mix on the CD made it pleasurable listening in the car although contributed nothing to my headache.
This is undeniably a return to the 'Sonic Temple' Cult of old, with a bit of modern detuning into the bargin. The first 5 songs come at you with some great grooves, 'Rise' being a particular stand-out. This then moves into the softer 'Nico', which for some reason briefly reminded me (don't laugh) of 'under pressure' by Queen, with a similer driving beat and appegios picked out by Billy Duffy.
'American Gothic' acts as a great centerpiece, with contrasts between light and shade in the chorus. The remaining tracks are great as well, but still seem to struggle to keep up with the opeining sequence of songs.
A pleasently surprising return to life for Duffy, Astbury and whoever else happens to be in the band this month. Looking forward to them touring over here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Good and Evil
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews