Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tango til You're Sore...
Fleetwood Mac are a group frequently associated with great stylistic leaps, but a close analysis of their work does not strictly bear this theory out. Sure, the early blues material is a world away from Stevie Nicks, but there is a path that one can use to connect the dots. Moving from the blues influences, taking them into an American soft-rock style, they arguably never...
Published on 9 April 2007 by Steven Dedalus

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic tracks mixed with the awful.
There are some truly classic pop/rock tracks on this album (Big Love, Elsewhere & Little Lies), which started out as a Lindsay Buckingham solo project and became the last album (and one of the best selling) Fleetwood Mac would record with the Fleetwood/both McVies/Buckingham/Nicks combo, amazing considering the band were no longer really talking to each other. The album...
Published 16 months ago by N. Goldsmith


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tango til You're Sore..., 9 April 2007
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Audio CD)
Fleetwood Mac are a group frequently associated with great stylistic leaps, but a close analysis of their work does not strictly bear this theory out. Sure, the early blues material is a world away from Stevie Nicks, but there is a path that one can use to connect the dots. Moving from the blues influences, taking them into an American soft-rock style, they arguably never changed over the course of the 70s, just got better at what they did.

By the 80s, personnel problems had slowed the band's out-put significantly (and for a band with a history of personnel problems like Fleetwood Mac, that's really saying something!) and they only released two albums during the decade; 'Mirage' and 'Tango in the Night'. Strangely, both of these albums are compromised, but in very different ways. 'Mirage' can easily be viewed as an attempt by the band to claw back some of the ground they lost commercially after 'Tusk', smoothing out the edges to such a point where several tracks verge on sounding bland. 'Tango', however, is a compromise in that it was not even meant to be a Fleetwood Mac album...

Lindsey Buckingham revealed a strong appreciation for new wave music in some of 'Tusk's' more idiosynchratic moments, and those experiments come to fruition on 'Tango in the Night'. Even though the sound has dated considerably, it is still possible to appreciate that 'Tango' is a thouroughly "modern" album. There is a sheen to the sound that keeps it fresh and crisp, synthesisers are used through-out the album, but are never too prominent, and many of the melodies have a distinctly new wave feel to them, and are far removed from the 'Californian' tendencies of the earlier Bukingham/Nicks era Fleetwood Mac. This is a modern 80s album, and is everything that implies.

Songwise, Buckingham and Christine McVie emerge with the strongest contributions, both penning songs and arrangements that are ideally suited to this new, modern Fleetwood Mac. Buckingham's songs are by turns dark and whimsical, retaining a melodic playfulness, as well as a harder edged sense of melodrama, several songs building to quite a dramatic climax (the title track being a prime example of this). McVie occupies the role of the pop writer on the album, providing material like 'Everywhere' and the timeless 'Little Lies'. However, she also gives us 'Isn't it Midnight', which really is the closest Fleetwood Mac ever came to possessing a new wave sound, with some scorching guitar work at the end from Buckingham.

Stevie Nicks, being largely absent from the recording due to personal problems and solo commitments, contributes a mixed bag of songs. Whilst 'Seven Wonders' is one of the best singles she ever wrote for the band, 'Welcome to the Room, Sara' is a bit too whimsical to be entirely successful, and probably would have been more at home on a Stevie Nicks solo album. 'When I See You Again', a slow ballad, is one of the worst things the Nicks/Buckingham era Fleetwood Mac ever recorded. Stevie's voice struggles the whole way through it, attempting to convey emotional intesity, but sounding like a cheese-grater has been rubbed accross her vocal chords, whilst the song takes a long time to make it's point, leaving not much of an impression by either melody or lyrics.

Given the time of it's recording, and the production techniques used, this is probably one of the albums where Mick Fleetwood and John McVie are least prominent. McVie's bass in particular is pulled way back in the mix and possesses none of the 'fatness' on display in songs like 'Dreams' or 'The Chain'. However, his sense of melodic invention is still apparent, greatly enhancing tunes like 'Everywhere'. Fleetwood's drums are also a little less unbridled than the used to be, gaining a tight, metronomic power that is appropriate for the songs. Although he does still get the chance to go a bit mad on 'Caroline'.

This is an underatted album, primarily because it doesen't fit into any easily accepted notion of what Fleetwood Mac are about. It is not a rock album, and it is not a singer-songwriter album. It is a pop album, but - perhaps crucially - it is a Lindsey Buckingham album, played by Fleetwood Mac. Which probably explains why so few of his 'actual' solo albums have been as artistically satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is possibly my favourite Fleetwood Mac album., 11 Mar. 2011
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Audio CD)
I originally owned this album on cassette which I purchased back in 1987 when it was originally released and have played it to death ever since and only recently I purchased it on CD to replace the cassette version. This album is still a knockout and remains possibly my favourite Fleetwood Mac album I own. All of the songs on here are of a very high standard and it's no wonder that Fleetwood Mac were at the top of their game when they made this album. I just love it for what it is and that is a great album.

The symbol start on the beginning track 'Big Love' is genius thinking and it probably explained why it opens the album. I couldn't really see it anywhere else except as an opening track. But this album spawned a handful of single releases including 'Big Love', 'Everywhere' and 'Little Lies'. Every track on here are tracks to sing-a-long to. Fleetwood Mac are and will be one of my favourite groups I listen to and they have produced some brilliant songs over the last 40+ years in their many guises. This Fleetwood Mac contained the members Mick Fleetwood, John McVie, Christine McVie, Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks. This group formation lasted until the early 1990's.

This album most certainly propelled Fleetwood Mac into one of the best groups of the 1980's and their songs, especially in the 1970's and 1980's, played a part in my growing up and I think that they are a great band. As far as this album is concerned, Fleetwood Mac gave us, in my mind, one of the best albums of the 1980's. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars back on track, 16 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Audio CD)
It took two album between Rumours and this to Fleetwood Mac to return with an album where ever track is fantastic. This was the first Mac album I bought and after that I then discovered Rumours. However the great singles Big love, Little Lies and everywhere are here but there is so much more than these singles. There are a couple of weaker tracks, when I see you again shows the strain on Stevie Nicks voice, but the best tracks appear to be when Buckingham gets together with McVie, Mystified and You and I part 1 are great tracks that stand up as good as the singles lifted from the album. Finally there is a knew expanded re-masted edition on the way so you may want to wait and check that out as it may contain you and i part one which was a great B side to big love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top quality pop tunes by the best in the business, 3 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Audio CD)
A decade on from Rumours this is an album with a sound that firmly underlines its period of release. Without the gentle love songs of their previous albums this record heads solidly in the direction of big, catchy pop tunes that grab instantly, but dont wear rapidly like a lot of music from the period. As usuall the rythm section of Fleetwood and McVie power the majority of songs and are prevalent on the strongest tracks on this album; "Big Love" and the fantastic "Little Lies". The album is let down possibly by too many songs in this popy mould and the track "Family Man" is awfull. However I would still class this as a great album on the strengths of about six songs which are just exquisite and arguably Mac at their best, and I simply dont tire of hearing. A bizzare album of the brilliant and tacky sides of Fleetwood Mac that is always in my CD box, cheesy, sunny, powerfull and class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best, 9 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Audio CD)
Aah... I finally replaced my very old cassette copy of this album with the CD and my God, was it worth the wait! This brings back such fantastic memories of my late teen-hood (when it was released) and I was slightly apprehensive about hearing it after several years' hiatus- would I have imbued it with an undeserved sentimental fondness, or would it sound as good to my now adult ears? I'm pleased to say it is even better than I remember; I hear things I didn't at 17, as well as what I know and love. This and 'Rumours' are in my opinion Fleetwood Mac's (at least in their latter incarnation) best albums and I highly recommend both to anyone unfamiliar with their excellent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FM's last creative high-water mark, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Audio CD)
Following the good but commercially disappointing `Tusk' in 1979 and its unremarkable 1982 follow-up `Mirage', the five members of Fleetwood Mac went their separate ways and didn't play together for several years.

`Tango in the Night' was the band's 1987 come-back, originally planned by Lindsey Buckingham as a solo project. It marks a return to form, and was eventually FM's second-best selling album worldwide after `Rumours'.

The strongest songs are from Buckingham and especially Christine MacVie, who wrote the best two of the album's four hit singles, `Everywhere' and `Little Lies'. Christine & Lindsey also co-wrote `Mystified', `Isn't it Midnight' and the album's excellent closer `You and I part 2'.

Stevie Nicks' contributions to TitN are more modest, as due to a persistent and unresolved cocaine habit she didn't show up to the studio for most of the sessions. `Welcome to the Room, Sara' is one only two songs penned by her, themed on her experience in rehab.

This is the final collection from the classic line-up of FM prior to the departure of Buckingham and Nicks for several years, and a fine album. Christine MacVie (after 30 years on the road) finally left the band, moved back to England and retired from the business, but the remaining foursome is still touring in 2013 and many classic numbers from TitN still grace their sell-out stage performances, as popular as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic tracks mixed with the awful., 25 Jan. 2014
By 
N. Goldsmith "goldsmith52" (Tunbridge Wells, Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Audio CD)
There are some truly classic pop/rock tracks on this album (Big Love, Elsewhere & Little Lies), which started out as a Lindsay Buckingham solo project and became the last album (and one of the best selling) Fleetwood Mac would record with the Fleetwood/both McVies/Buckingham/Nicks combo, amazing considering the band were no longer really talking to each other. The album degenerates toward the end to what I can only describe as classicly awful pop/rock (or pap/rock) and even for this combo of Fleetwood Mac, who were one of the best around for producing good pop/rock. For a dedicated fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Even when not firing on all cylinders they were still able to turn in a performance that other groups could only wish for., 17 April 2013
By 
Stephen Reid "Stephen" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Audio CD)
I heard this shortly after it was first released and it made an instant impression for its catchy melodies and infectious rhythms. No, not as good as 'Rumours' overall, but some tracks could very easily have graced that earlier album.

The strength of Fleetwood Mac in this classic line-up is that they had three singer / songwriters who could contribute to an album and sing lead. That was the strength of the Beatles too. In the era of CDs and their longer running times, that variety becomes important.

Stevie Nicks is here, but not to the fore as much as usual. She was drifting away from the group, under great pressure and working on solo material too. So, with her contributions reduced, it fell to Lindsay Buckingham and Christine McVie to step up to the mark. In my opinion it is McVie who excels. Her style of soft rock, backed by such a tight group, makes for easy and most enjoyable listening. Buckingham is still experimenting with different rhythms and constructs, some of which work but others of which now sound a tad dated.

Given the pressures faced by the group, it is remarkable that this album is as good as it is. It is testimony to the excellence of the group and the individual contributors that even when not firing on all cylinders they were still able to turn in a performance that other groups could only wish for.

This is a very good CD. Not as good as 'Rumours' but still very much worth owning and easily deserving of four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get tangoed in the night, 28 Aug. 2005
By 
R. tate (herts, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Audio CD)
can't go wrong with this album thats for sure. i saw my grandad's copy and decided to get my own copy and was completely in love with the tracks on it. from the likes of "Big love", "Little lies" to just the album tracks such as "When i see you again" and "Isn't it midnight", it'll have you playing it over and over. stevie's voice is sensational and the music just adds more to the lyrics making it one of my top 5 fave albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as Rumours, 24 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Audio CD)
An album almost as good as the ubiquitous Rumours seems almost too hard to wish for but here Fleetwood Mac came pretty close with six big hit singles of excellent quality, namely Big Love, Seven Wonders, Little Lies, Everywhere, Family Man and Isn't It Midnight this is almost a greatest hits in itself. Sleek production makes this sound fabulous on even half decent equipment, with Lindsey Buckingham firmly in control of the mixing board. But it isn't just those six top quality singles, the other six tracks are great too, with a well ordered album ringing the changes of styles and highlighting the strengths of each of the three vocalists.

This is an important album because it's the classic line up in all their glory before Buckingham took a sabbatical. One of the biggest albums of 1987, it still sounds fresh today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tango In The Night
Tango In The Night by Fleetwood Mac
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews