Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And the ghosts are rattling at the door and the devil's in the chair, 1 May 2010
By 
A. Willard (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rum Sodomy & The Lash (Audio CD)
The Pogues were a bit of a life-saver for me in the desert of the London music scene of the early 80's. After punk disappeared up its own bottom and with the onset of the dreaded New Romantics they were a breath of fresh air (well, when I say fresh, more like a breath of overflowing ashtray and stale, spilt beer air, but you know what I mean). Their roots may have been in Irish music but their audience were the London Irish, the children of the immigrants of the 40's, 50's and 60's, who occupied great swathes of North London. Shane MacGowan's songs were about us, not some bloke in Dublin or Cork.

This was their second album produced (not very well, if you ask me) by Elvis Costello. It opens with two of MacGowan's greatest songs, the fantastic drunken, deathly rant of `The Sickbed Of Cuchulainn', and `The Old Main Drag' a bitter but beautiful song about the terrible fate of a rent-boy. It couldn't possibly keep this standard up and, truth be told, didn't. `Pair Of Brown Eyes' and `Sally Maclennane' are two more terrific MacGowan songs but there's a few others on here which aren't up to much.

There's a few covers too. `Jesse James' and `Navigator' are fine but I've never been a fan of `Dirty Old Town' and while their version of `The Band Played Waltzing Matilda' is sincere, it's not really a patch on Eric Bogle's original. Allied with Costello's dull, flat production the original album is, in my opinion, just about worth four stars.

But this re-issue comes with the addition of the `Poguetry In Motion' EP and as this contains `Rainy Night In Soho', possibly MacGowan's finest song, as well as three other good 'uns, five stars are definitely called for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent re-issue, 28 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Rum Sodomy & The Lash (Audio CD)
Probably The Pogues' best album, well the original band anyway. Raucous and wonderful, with the energy of punk, some fantastic songs on here played with energy and passion. While the later "If I Should Fall From Grace With God" album is more technically proficient and more rounded, it is this album that shows The Pogues' real spirit. The extra songs on here are well worth a listen also, mostly great songs too. A classic of its kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Raucous!, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rum Sodomy & The Lash (Audio CD)
I was introduced to this years ago, and was doubtful I'd like it. Loved it! It's impossible not to get swept up in the high energy of some of the tracks. You might not always be sure what they are lamenting, celebrating or protesting against, but dagnabbit, you're with them every step of the way! I went back to this after loving Bellowhead's recent "Broadside" tour/album. Give both a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars St Patrick's Day magic - 2015 Rhino vinyl version, 17 Mar. 2015
What more to say that hasn't been said ? Pogues classic. No. 437 in Rolling Stone Top 500 albums of all time. One of the 1001 albums you must hear etc. A pair of brown eyes, Sally Maclennane, Dirty old town plus 9 others. Great songwriting, singing and playing. Not a weak track. Lovely Rhino 180 g vinyl, flat, no noise. Well done all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Pogues, 24 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rum Sodomy And The Lash (Audio CD)
This album captures the Pogues at their most lyrical and their most musically potent. It is an album that sticks two fingers up at the Irish folk traditionalists and stakes a claim for Folk music in the modern era. It contains Pogues classics, Sally Macleanne and A Pair of Brown Eyes and also more thoughtful numbers such as Waltzing Matilda, which hinted at Shane Magowan's untapped genius for a killer lyric. Subsequent Pogues albums suffered from a polished maturity that didn't sit well with the music, but this is the sound of The Pogues as they should be, rough and ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rum Sodomy and the Lash, 18 Jan. 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rum Sodomy And The Lash (Audio CD)
Probably worth the purchase price for the epic "The Band Played Maltzing Matilda" alone, this is a awesome recording and was maybe the highest height the Pogues ever reached.
Classic folk mixed with no-nonsense punk, the band show a youth and vigour that was never quite recaptured and McGowan is on top form with penned tracks like the sweet romantic "Pair of Brown Eyes" or the drunken riot of "Sick Bed of Cuchulainn". Add to this some traditional songs given the Pogues treatment (Navigator and Jesse James both stand out for attention) and you have the ingredients for a wonderful album.
Top Marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wild and free, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rum Sodomy & The Lash (Audio CD)
That's how I felt when i first heard the ribald tunes on this record. It galavants all over the mythical lore of the Irish Rover and his environs; that involves a lot of drinking and the aftermath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rum Sodomy & The Lash (Audio CD)
One of the greatest albums ever. This was the album I grew up with in the mid 1980's, as this was a perfect combination of punk and folk. It's an album for everyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 8 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Rum Sodomy & The Lash (Audio CD)
Simply fantastic frantic Irish folk. I'm dublibers fan and was highly impressed. You don't need the greatest hits as this is better, as long as you don't want fairy tale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still magic, 26 April 2013
By 
Michael Jenkins (glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rum Sodomy & The Lash (Audio CD)
Bought this years ago when it first came out on vinyl, and it has lost none of it's power and potency, absolute magic album. Wish I had kept the vinyl edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews