Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Born in Chicago - and it sounded like it!, 21 Sep 2008
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Butterfield Band's debut album from 1965 was traditional Muddy Waters-style Chicago blues but played with real power and authenticity that was miles ahead of any British band. It's hard to imagine now the impact it made at the time but I remember my jaw literally dropping when I heard the tough, forceful sound of "Born in Chicago" for the first time. Butterfield's harp is very much to the fore in many of the tracks and he gets a great thick, dirty wedge of sound that again no British player could get anywhere near. It's very much an ensemble record, played in an uncompromising traditional style and featuring wonderful songs by Elmore James, Little Walter and Junior Parker.

Although Butterfield didn't mean a great deal in Britain, in the States he was Alexis Korner and John Mayall rolled into one and inspired many of the harp players that came after him - Magic Dick, Kim Wilson, James Harman etc etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crank up the volume, 11 Oct 2010
By 
J. B. Egan "ridgeway" (somerset, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essential to play this at full volume until the windows rattle from their frames. Its so good to hear down home urban blues played with such power and punch. First heard this nearly forty years ago and it still commands my full attention.Its classic masterpiece. Do I express my case strongly enough?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!, 7 Sep 2012
One of the finest Chicago style blues albums ever made and a magnificent debut from the BBB. Mike Bloomfield's guitar playing is stunning and he and Paul Butterfield complement each other so well. Pity he died so young. Dare I say it but I don't think that there can be any doubt that when on form Bloomfield was a far better player than Clapton; listen to "If You Love These Blues Play Them As You Please" to appreciate the diversity of his chops and knowledge of the genre. The BBB faded after he left to form Electric Flag. This record was released in '65 and was one of the first to cross the black / white divide and turn white America on to black Chicago blues. Buy it! You won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 21 July 2011
By 
K. G. Sneath - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first bought this on vinyl in 1965 based solely on the cover. It just captures the music hot, raw and powerful.Very few can achieve perfection in their music genre but the Butterfield Band does. A driving rhythm overlaid by Butterfield's soaring harmonica and Bloomfield's guitar. Electric Blues just does not get any better and they never repeated it in subsequent LPs. I was privileged to see them play live at the Marquee in 1967 and it was a great night. If you want 1960s electric Blues at its best, this is the CD for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peerless., 3 May 2014
By 
A. H. Mccormack (St Helens, Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had the vinyl for nearly 40 years. Wanted to listen again and not disappointed. Stands the test of time. Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 31 Jan 2014
By 
C. B. Drake (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First had this album back in the day. Brilliant. Takes me back to the early seventies or was it the sixties. Oh what the hell... It's a great album anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic trip back to the 60s., 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the original CD went missing in the Xmas post, the suppliers sent a replacement next day. The Chicago Blues band took me back to my student days when I bought the vinyl LP! The soundtracks are just as fresh as then- fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gets Your Mojo Working, 19 April 2011
A tight band, great songs, and so full of energy, this can't fail please whether you want to jump over yonder wall, or just mellow down easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blues best, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paul Butterfield Blues Band (MP3 Download)
Music you love and brings back those memories. Sort of John Mayall period, one of my all time favourites...
Happier times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourite albums. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Paul Butterfield Blues Band
The Paul Butterfield Blues Band by The Paul Butterfield Blues Band
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews