Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'gift to the fans', 20 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Change of Seasons (Audio CD)
This Album was designed as a filler between studio albums, and this contains a studio version their epic live masterpiece 'A change of seasons' (which is 24 minutes long) and also contains some live recordings of the band during their 'uncovered' show ('95). These are covers of songs rangeing from Led Zeppelin, Elton John, Queen etc. This is an amazing album, and it shows a different side of the band. The recording of the title tracks shows the band in great form, with probably the best performance so far from the singer (James LaBrie), and the 2nd half of live performances show them to be an amazing and precise live band-doing justice to the songs they are covering. When this CD was released, it was described as 'a gift to the fans'...which is exactly what it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps Dream Theater's best song, 12 Jun 2007
By 
Sonny (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Change of Seasons (Audio CD)
When I first heard A Change of Seasons, I was completely amazed at how briliant the song was. I heard a live version of youtube so I thought the recorded version must be an absolute masterpiece, which it actually turned out to be.

The song itself was inspired by the death of Pornoy's (drummer) mother and contains a few lines from the poem "To the Virgins, to Make Much of Time" by Herrick. The theme of the song is carpe diem and the lyrics are really powerful.

Not only are the lyrics brilliant, but the so are the instrumentals, the song is very dynamic and layered, it's like listening to an epic of sorts. At a length of 23 minutes, one might think the song loops the same riff but it's so well written that it's actually like listening to several songs in succession with a really smooth transition between each one.

This album is a must for any prog metal fan, even thrash metallers will appreciate the sheer brilliance of this album. Even if this EP was just this song with some crappy leftovers tacked on, I would have still bought it just for the one song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Mix for Dream Theater, 2 Feb 2000
By 
W. Thomson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Change of Seasons (Audio CD)
Change of Season is a Half and Half split album between live and studio work. The first hald of the CD is the studio side which is basically one whole musical masterpiece called Change fo Season (25mins Long ! ). This track displys some of the best work to date, it flows wonderfully between different musical style. Probably one of the best quality of this track is actually the vocals. Now the vocals on the Images and Words album were great and in some places very catchy and comercial, but when you listen to this new album there is so much though going in behind every word. It's like a story going through along with the music. My favourite vocal line from the piece being " oh come let us adore him, abuse and then ignore him". When you listen to it in contexts with the music it really shows emotion and thought that has gone into the lyrics which I believe were mainly written by Mike Portnoy (the drummer). I can easily play this track on a loop and never get tired or it. The second half of the album to be surprised are cover tracks taken from the bands that Dream Theater said influenced them when they were learning. To open, they do a wonderful version of Elton John's 'Funeral for a friend' in such a way that only Dream Theater could. The Live stuff is not what you really expect from Dream Theater and doesn't really complement the 25min masterpiece at the begin of the CD, but it is good to hear. It is like Dream Theater is trying to show / prove something to their fans, to tell a tale for how it was for them when they started. You never know what to expect from DT when they bring out an ablum !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good CD, worth checking out, 9 April 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Change of Seasons (Audio CD)
If you are not familiar with Dream Theater think Queensryche, Rush and a hint of Styx and you're probably in the right area. That said, DT have a fairly unique sound, not exactly prog, not exactly metal but an interesting hybrid of the two. This is my favorite of their albums, largely because the title track is an absolute classic. I've criticised DT before for overplaying and lousy lyrics, but neither of these flaws are in evidence here. The band play extremely well as a unit and Labrie (the singer) is given some room (within the music) and some decent lines as well. On top of that Perucci is an outsandingly good guitarist and Portnoy one of the top rock drummers (not Neil Peart but well ahead of the pack). The live material which makes up the second half of the album is a selection of cover versions. These are all competently handled and give an interesting insight into the bands taste, but they are played as straight covers for the most part and that always begs comparisons to the original. Funeral for a Friend/Love Lies Bleeding is an interesting choice and on the whole well handled, but the piano sound isn't quite right and Labrie's voice doesn't suit the song so well.
Their version of Perfect strangers is in some ways an odd choice , but they deliver it well (in fact better perhaps than the original). The Led Zep medley is probably the weakest section though Petrucci's guitar sound is the culprit here. The Big Medley is the most fun and a good closer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for the title-track alone, 25 Jan 2002
By 
This review is from: A Change of Seasons (Audio CD)
The 23-minute title track (really a 7-part suite) easily ranks not just as one of the greatest prog-rock tracks of all time, but as a singularly moving piece of music for any broad-minded listener. Like all of DT's best tracks, it grows on you --- you pick up details on every listen that you haven't picked up before. And yes, these guys *are* expletive-ing great musicians.
The rest of the album is just a set of live (very faithful) covers of other people's material, which mostly offer insight into DT's musical influences. (Rock influences, that is: all of the band members except the singer have conservatory degrees in their instruments, and classical music and jazz inevitably have left their mark.) I'd have given the cover album 3--4 stars (great covers, but nothing groundbreaking), but because I would give the title track 6 or 7 stars if I could, it averages out to five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Album, 16 Sep 2009
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Change of Seasons (Audio CD)
This is the only DT album I own, indeed have heard. I got a loan of my mates copy and bought it on CD. This is a masterpiece of an album for any rock fan.

The album only has 5 tracks and kicks off with the title track. An epic concept piece, just sit back and enjoy. However it is the rest of the album that excites me. These are covers, and they are outstanding. A great choice of tracks, customised to suit their style, they are fantastic renditions of some classics.

The album is recorded live. You'd hardly notice as it sounds as good as a studio recording. These are seriously talented musicians and the singer is incredible.

This album is an absolute pleasure to listen to and I highly recommend that you get this in your collection now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 14 July 2002
By 
MR J D SMITH (Beverley, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Change of Seasons (Audio CD)
For all fans of dream theater this album comes as no suprise. The lyrics, riffs and flowing melodies are perfectly executed by one of the best bands ever assembled. The first track is in itself a work of 23 minute art!
For all you new people out there who have only just started listening to dream theatre this a great album to start off your collection. It illustrates perfectly the genius and passion that is behind the dream theater experience.
A MUST buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classical Masterpiece, 19 Aug 2003
By 
Mike McQuaid (Broughty Ferry, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Change of Seasons (Audio CD)
Change of Seasons just takes you in from the opening acoustic section and spits you out at the closing repition and leaves you asking where the 23 minutes just went.
This classical masterpiece, broken up into themes, without sounded seperated, is not only amazing to listen to but is musically worthy of the great classical composers such as Bach or Mozart.
Petrucci's guitar solos and Myung's melodic basslines add a flavour to the incredible singing of LaBrie, making this, without a doubt, the best progressive rock, if not one of the best ever, songs written.
Well done Dream Theater, keep up the good work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not one of their best, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Change Of Seasons (MP3 Download)
This may not be one of their best albums but is a bold concept to do. From the start it is all Dream Theater and I really like it but maybe not the best for a newcomer to start with but to aspire too.
David Wilson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beggining Of An Era, 1 Jan 2004
This review is from: A Change of Seasons (Audio CD)
Three albums have truly captured Dream Theater's full potential and ability more than any other. "Images and Words", "Scenes From A Memory", and this one "A Change Of Seasons."
First and foremost, it's important to explain that this album is split directly into two sections. The first is the title track, a monster song of epic proportions that spans over 20 minutes, each minute packed to it's stitching with emotion, sentiment, and magnificent musical works. As always, the vocal work in Dream Theater is magnificent - nearly as unbelievable as the melodic bass.
The second section is devoted to four live tracks. Top marks here go to 'Big Medley', and 'Love Lies Bleeding', two tracks that show DT's full potential and simply have to be heard to be believed.
In recent years, with their albums "Train Of Thought" and "Six Degrees of Inner Turbulance", DT seems to be struggling to keep the full pelt from these three albums. But we shouldn't be worried, they've got years ahead of them yet, and we've got this magnificent album to enjoy forever. Just buy it already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Change Of Seasons
A Change Of Seasons by Dream Theater
Buy MP3 Album£3.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews