Customer Reviews


303 Reviews
5 star:
 (237)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Mirror on the wall, is this the greatest film of all?
Snow White is simply a milestone in the history of film making. It is one of those films that has ploughed a course through motion picture history, throwing off as it does so, bits and pieces that have been seized upon by later film makers, and turned into ideas and projects of their own. Many of today's film makers will cite this film as being a major early influence on...
Published on 15 Aug 2006 by D. I. Shipley

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars snow white
The DVD has superb colour the only thing that was imperfect was the sound we had to turn the volume full on but it still was hard to hear
Published on 30 Mar 2011 by CHUCK


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Mirror on the wall, is this the greatest film of all?, 15 Aug 2006
By 
D. I. Shipley "David Shipley" (KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Snow White is simply a milestone in the history of film making. It is one of those films that has ploughed a course through motion picture history, throwing off as it does so, bits and pieces that have been seized upon by later film makers, and turned into ideas and projects of their own. Many of today's film makers will cite this film as being a major early influence on their careers.

Even today, the film's ability to generate emotion is unique on any media. It can still tug on the heart strings after repeat viewings. This comes down to characterisation, be it of Snow White herself, the animals that help her, or the Seven Dwarves.

All are superbly realised and engage the audience accordingly. Maybe the strength of the Dwarves is that Disney filled their characters with many recognisable human traits, both strong and weak. Audiences could identify with them accordingly.

Annoyingly, the character of Dopey has come under attack from the politically correct for allegedly demeaning people with learning difficulties etc. I would counter that with it is a depiction of someone with difficulties getting on with his life, enjoying it in the process, and being actively supported by his peers, who in very human terms, sometimes express impatience etc with him.

As to the other dwarves, I think we can all recognise something of ourselves, our friends, and our relatives in all of them. Hence the fact that they are so engaging.

The songs from the film have gained immortality and deservedly so. Despite not being a fan of musicals myself, this particular score is truly something else, and I still love it after all this time.

Evil is starkly depicted in this tale in the form of the vain and envious Queen. Once she realises that her own beauty has been surpassed by that of Snow White then she goes all out to kill her. Is it any coincidence that as she becomes ever more murderous and vindictive, her outward appearance starts to match that within? Shortly after deciding to kill Snow White, she becomes the hideous witch, and her subsequent behaviour matches her looks.

Her fate is particularly unpleasant but the morality of the tale is that her own deeds and actions ultimately bring it upon herself. There are no grey areas - the message is that evil ultimately brings evil upon the perpetrator.

Ultimately this film has gained a wide ranging recognition as one of the greatest films ever made and deservedly so.

I am fortunate enough to own one of the Platinum Edition dvds. Picture and sound are superb, in particluar the 5.1 transfer is stunning.

If you can get hold of one of these dvds, then my advice is to buy it. You really will not be disappointed.

"Magic Mirror on the wall, is this the greatest film of all?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 17 Dec 2002
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Before we go into any details, I suggest you put on your protective goggles, strap in and go for the main feature. Prepare to be dazzled with sharp images and excellent sound that stay true to the original film.
As with all Disney products there is a lot of schmaltz explaining to them selves of how great they are. In this case, I will have to agree with them. The platinum edition of "Snow White and the seven Dwarfs" makes it well worth trading in your old version or just retiring it. The two-disk edition has more information than can be absorbed in one sitting.
Amazon did a good job of defining all the DVD goodies. However I must mention a few. This takes advantage of your remote control for navigation. To help you decide you have the magic mirror as a guide through both disks and all the feature sections. The magic mirror reminds me of the morose robot in Douglas Adams' "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy."
The only negative comment I have is on the second disk as you navigate the menus do not highlight like they should and leave you guessing as to what you have selected until you press the OK button.
If I had looked at the features first I would have found a game. "Dopey's Wild Mine Ride", that required me to go back to the feature, as I could not remember all the details it asked about. Some of the feature information is redundant. Some will require reading. One of the posters that were displayed looked like an advertisement for "Campbell's Cream of Dwarfs Soup."
There is a Barbra Streisand version of "Some Day My Prince Will Come" which was distracting (no offence Barbra) and would have been much better left sounding like Janet McDonald.
The printed Grimm's version of Snow White story was an eye opener.
You know when things are not as good, exciting, or scary as you remember. Well surprise this movie is as good, as exciting as scary and many time down right hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As timeless as it is wonderful., 25 Mar 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snow White And The Seven Dwarfs (2 Disc Platinum Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs is a Walt Disney production based on Snow White by The Brothers Grimm. The rest, as they say, is history. Famously said to be Disney's folly prior to release, Snow White has gone on to be one of the company's biggest earners; few, if anyone, can deny it's not the most deserving from Disney's back catalogue of being released every once in a while on different home formats. Very much a landmark movie for being the first full length animated feature, it also deserves its accolades for the high artistic quality that seeps from every frame. The advancements from Steamboat Willie ten years earlier are nothing short of incredible, the richness of the animation is a joy to behold, as the woodland creatures dart about with purpose, or the way the terror comes to life as Snow White runs thru the forest, the depth and clarity dazzles the eyes. Then of course there`s the songs, most of which have formed part of pop culture ever since they were first heard. "Whistle While You work," "Heigh-Ho" and "Someday My Prince Will Come," each one a standard uplifter on a dreary day.

That the film is accessible to all ages obviously helped it gain universal appeal. Yes, very young kids are quite easily spooked by the darker moments that lay within, but around the corner is a treat, most notably in the form of 7 little dwarfs, each one with an identity and character that the young and old can fully embrace. One of the finest quotes I can remember about the dwarfs came from Charlie Chaplin, who straight out insisted that Dopey was "one of the greatest comedians of all time", and he`s right of course. True enough it has some minor rough edges that time has inflicted upon it. Snow White is voiced by Adriana Caselotti, her voice is very 30s, very shrill and much too childlike for a character meant to be a young woman. Whilst she`s not exactly painted in a good light, bit of an air-head is our Snow White, but to do down the film for its social portrayal of women in the late 30s would be churlish in the extreme!

Pixar, presently, keeps raising the bar, as computer-perfection-animation thrills the modern day crowd. But make no bones about it, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs is still the benchmark animation movie. As technical advancements ensure we are wowed by this particular art form, Disneys folly watches over proceedings as the rightful lord of the manor. Masterpiece 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 14 July 2004
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Before we go into any details, I suggest you put on your protective goggles, strap in and go for the main feature. Prepare to be dazzled with sharp images and excellent sound that stay true to the original film.
As with all Disney products there is a lot of schmaltz explaining to them selves of how great they are. In this case, I will have to agree with them. The platinum edition of "Snow White and the seven Dwarfs" makes it well worth trading in your old version or just retiring it. The two-disk edition has more information than can be absorbed in one sitting.
Amazon did a good job of defining all the DVD goodies. However I must mention a few. This takes advantage of your remote control for navigation. To help you decide you have the magic mirror as a guide through both disks and all the feature sections. The magic mirror reminds me of the morose robot in Douglas Adams' "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy."
The only negative comment I have is on the second disk as you navigate the menus do not highlight like they should and leave you guessing as to what you have selected until you press the OK button.
If I had looked at the features first I would have found a game. "Dopey's Wild Mine Ride", that required me to go back to the feature, as I could not remember all the details it asked about. Some of the feature information is redundant. Some will require reading. One of the posters that were displayed looked like an advertisement for "Campbell's Cream of Dwarfs Soup."
There is a Barbra Streisand version of "Some Day My Prince Will Come" which was distracting (no offence Barbra) and would have been much better left sounding like Janet McDonald.
The printed Grimm's version of Snow White story was an eye opener.
You know when things are not as good, exciting, or scary as you remember. Well surprise this movie is as good, as exciting as scary and many time down right hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars snow white, 30 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow White And The Seven Dwarfs (2 Disc Platinum Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD has superb colour the only thing that was imperfect was the sound we had to turn the volume full on but it still was hard to hear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 1 Jun 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Before we go into any details, I suggest you put on your protective goggles, strap in and go for the main feature. Prepare to be dazzled with sharp images and excellent sound that stay true to the original film.
As with all Disney products there is a lot of schmaltz explaining to them selves of how great they are. In this case, I will have to agree with them. The platinum edition of "Snow White and the seven Dwarfs" makes it well worth trading in your old version or just retiring it. The two-disk edition has more information than can be absorbed in one sitting.
Amazon did a good job of defining all the DVD goodies. However I must mention a few. This takes advantage of your remote control for navigation. To help you decide you have the magic mirror as a guide through both disks and all the feature sections. The magic mirror reminds me of the morose robot in Douglas Adams' "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy."
The only negative comment I have is on the second disk as you navigate the menus do not highlight like they should and leave you guessing as to what you have selected until you press the OK button.
If I had looked at the features first I would have found a game. "Dopey's Wild Mine Ride", that required me to go back to the feature, as I could not remember all the details it asked about. Some of the feature information is redundant. Some will require reading. One of the posters that were displayed looked like an advertisement for "Campbell's Cream of Dwarfs Soup."
There is a Barbra Streisand version of "Some Day My Prince Will Come" which was distracting (no offence Barbra) and would have been much better left sounding like Janet McDonald.
The printed Grimm's version of Snow White story was an eye opener.
You know when things are not as good, exciting, or scary as you remember. Well surprise this movie is as good, as exciting as scary and many time down right hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, 16 Feb 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow White And The Seven Dwarfs (2 Disc Platinum Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
When you talk about classic animation it doesn't get much more revered or classic than `Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs'. The animation here is simply beautiful, even by today's standards, and this is all the more impressive when you take into account the year this was made, 1937. Even better, it is now digitally restored for it's latest release. This is a wonderful fairytale that is full of charm, none of which has diminished over time. This has the delightful dwarf characters and each one adds something unique to the film, of course Dopey is the most hilarious and the one that had me laughing out loud regularly. These dwarfs have now become representative of Disney's early art and are still seen around the parks and on advertising even today. This film has a dark edge to the story that is lacking from the saccharine modern Disney films and this darkness compliments and highlights the light in the rest of the film and in my opinion it is all the better for it. There are nice animated touches throughout, like the detailed carvings in the dwarf house and the forest animals expressions and actions and show the attention to detail Disney brought to his films. This package includes various extras and games, most of which are aimed at kids, but there is a commentary by Walt Disney that is fascinating and of interest to an adult audience. All in all this is classic and beautiful film and well worth adding to your Disney collection.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Classic, 6 Dec 2009
By 
Wonderful Film very nice box set , only complaint is with Disney the American Set is nicer and they also have other Editions which we do not have in the UK come on Disney get your act together for us Brits....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will be re-released, 19 May 2009
this product will be re-released at the end of 2009 for those who don't want to buy from another seller and prefer to buy straight from amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living happily ever after, in the land of Blu-Ray, 1 Nov 2009
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Walt Disneys first feature length animation, Snow White, has finally got the package and medium it deserves with this Blu-Ray Diamond Edition box set. Its only fitting then that the film which innovated legendary storytelling and mechanical processes became the first in a series of Diamond Edition packages, Disney claiming that at least two will be released each year from now on.

Snow White is the story of a beautiful young girl who, thanks to her vein stepmother (the Queen), is made to work day and night as a peasant. The Queens Magic Mirror, now something of a cultural icon like so many of Disneys creations, one day tells the Queen the truth - that she is NOT the fairest of them all, and is only eclipsed by Snow White. Outraged, the Queen calls for a henchman to kill the young girl, but when he fails under the pressure of moral, Snow White runs away into the forest and befriends a group of friendly Dwarves by accident.

And yes - there are Seven of them, all with very unique personalities! I'll leave you to figure out their names.

Evil as ever, the Queen cooks up a toxic apple which, in disguise, she hopes to poison Snow White with, leaving her as the fairest one of them all. Will she succeed in getting away with her plan? Or can Snow Whites dream Prince save the day and pave the way for a legendary final quote?

You have the choice of both Blu-ray and standard DVD discs in this package (just to reiterate - both discs are in this case), which is a wonderful idea as you can take the discs round to anyones house and always watch the film. Providing they don't still use VHS...
This makes the package all the more great value alongside the extras disc. The feature film on blu-ray gives you the option of aspect ratio - either its original 4:3 aspect ratio, or an anamorphic display which, in English, means its tidily Pan and Scanned. Which... in proper English, means it fills the whole screen. Obviously if you have any sense, you'll pick 4:3 any day, though some people just prefer filling the whole screen.

The remastering process is faultless and reveals every piece of detail within the artwork, with absolutely no blemishes or glitches. The colours are more vibrant and, particularly for the backgrounds, reveal the true softness of the lush watercolours. For the characters, it provides an insight into how animation and inking had developed over time, for closer inspection reveals to those concerned how the studio needed time to train their skills on such a grand scale - its so easy to forget that this was not only Walts first feature film, it was the first feature length animation! You only have to compare these areas to Pinocchio, Disneys second film (also on Blu-Ray), to witness just how much tidier the inking is, and how smoother the animation flows within the space of a couple of years.

Such an importance on live action footage has always given Snow White a unique look, for the studio was still experimenting with Rotoscoping (tracing over film), and so such amazing remastering actually reveals the innocent nature of the animation. But the way the story flows in this film is completely original, for this was the possibly the only true "traditional" fairy tale that the studio created. Later efforts such as Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty, although just as wonderful films, follow in different directions that were more engaging artistically and in terms of story, leaving Snow White as more of a genuinely sweet little romp thats truest to a fairy tail style. This doesn't make it any less enjoyable - Snow White herself pulls the film along, narrating the actions of the Dwarves just like a childs storybook. She talks down to the viewer in a mother-like way that is quite enchanting, and the importance of the music, from the memorable "Hei Ho" to "Some Day..." will always live on as classic pieces of storybook music. Thats the key-word - this is a pure storybook film that feels as if its jumped out of the pages.

On the subject of sound, I feel some people can be over-critical of the quality with many of these remasters. What we must not forget is that films such as Snow White, 1937 and post, were recorded on microphones from 1937 technology... Not 2009 technology. As such, the fidelity is incredibly limited. Not only this, but it was then mastered onto Nitrate film - possibly the worst medium for storing audio after such a long time, and needless to say these soundtracks will never be 100% pristine quality. We only have to take into account the way 'Fantasia's' (1940/1) soundtrack was almost deemed unrepairable some time ago because it was in such a bad state, so we can think 'Snow White' as being in a very fortunate condition. And its an older film remember!

But if this edition is anything to by, then I have absolutely no problems with it. Their is almost no distortion at the hi-ends (something of a rarity), their are no crackles or any kind of blemishes in terms of the clarity, and the mixing-down is extremely well balanced; particularly important as Snow White herself has a powerful, high-pitched tone to her voice which thankfully doesn't overpower the music in this edition. I highly doubt the soundtrack could be improved further than this, so I'm really looking forward to future Diamond Edition titles if this is the standard to come.

The extras disc (which is Blu-ray format) contains a host of fantastic goodies are mainly centred around an interactive tour of Hyperion Studios, which was the original home of Disneys production. The Menu begins with an outside shot of the Studio, and you have the ability to 'wander' through it and see/hear different archives from the various departments (inking, animation etc). This is a beautiful piece of archive that houses very rare sound recordings, interviews and videos. Many are just sound clips of old staff members who tell their favourite stories of life their - a memorable one being the staff flicking 'push-pins' at the wall to try and hit a target, but Walt walked in unexpectedly, had a go himself and got a Bullsyeye immediately! He raised his eyebrow and simply said "Let that be a lesson, fellas".

Galleries are in abundance with literally hundreds of images, while theirs a rather fun 'Jewel Jumble' game and a karaoke sing along for the kiddies outside of the Hyperion section. The niggle so far is that the menu's are not very easy to Navigate once you're "in" the Studio, because the visual target/cursors are very small.

Disney claimed in a press release that, quote, the Diamond range would 'revolutionise home entertainment'. This is probably a little bit over-stated, but some new features such as returning play back from a previously stopped event (Not the feature from the blu-ray player, but the disc itself amazingly) have been extremely helpful when muggins here presses the Square button by accident. If you're using a Hard Drive based player like a Playstation, information is recorded to the HDD that contains what featurettes you have accessed. Overall though, this is the best extra's disc I've ever got with a Blu-Ray/DVD, and I'm beginning to wonder how Disney could top this with further Diamond Edition Blu-Rays.

As usual, trailers precede the main menu and provide some interesting schedules. 'Dumbo' is to be released as a Special Edition on February the 2nd while 'Beauty and The Beast Diamond' Edition will see light in October. Although no mention is made of 'Fantasia', Disney stated in their press release this month that this would be released as a Diamond Edition in March - the reason they are doing this is because Dumbo is only rated as a Special Edition, leaving Fantasia and B+The Beast as the only Diamond releases.

As a package, it remains to be seen what the actual difference is between these Diamond and Platinum Editions, yet without wanting to sound cynical, it may well be just Disney trying to excite the market with a new, flashier name for an edition (B.D Live, the Online feature, isn't even available in the U.K yet!), as they trawl through every kind of precious mineral known to earth. Never the less, Snow White has eclipsed so many of the household terms and names we use today, setting the standard for those films to come, only for the studio to surpass themselves on several occasions with even more magnificent efforts thanks to everything they learnt. To believe that critics thought Walt was biting off more than he could chew prior to release is hilarious given its unprecedented success upon release, and the legacy the film has left. Snow White remains not just one of the companies best films, but one of their better 'family' films that secured a new lifestyle of hope and fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snow White And The Seven Dwarfs (2 Disc Platinum Edition) [DVD]
19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews