Customer Reviews


185 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Disney film ever made (well in my opinion anyway)
Ever since I first saw Pocahontas when it first came out, I knew that Disney were onto a winner. Yes,I admit it's not historically accurate but it's only a Disney film designed for a bit of fun! The songs however,are the making of this film with highlights including the beautiful 'Colours of the Wind' and the very catchy 'Just around the River Bend'. If you have young...
Published on 6 Nov. 2007 by J. SCARROTT

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not historically accurate even a little, but the songs are great.
If you ignore the history of the real Matoaka "Pocahontas" and the things her people went through and just take the film as is, it's not bad (Mel Gibson's horrible attempt at an English accent not withstanding, that is). The music is definitely the best part of the whole thing.
Published 17 months ago by Amanda


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Disney film ever made (well in my opinion anyway), 6 Nov. 2007
By 
J. SCARROTT "me" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ever since I first saw Pocahontas when it first came out, I knew that Disney were onto a winner. Yes,I admit it's not historically accurate but it's only a Disney film designed for a bit of fun! The songs however,are the making of this film with highlights including the beautiful 'Colours of the Wind' and the very catchy 'Just around the River Bend'. If you have young children (or you just fancy a enjoyable watch yourself!), this film is a must buy. A lot of animated films may date with time but Pocahontas certainly won't! Top stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtakingly beautiful., 3 Aug. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is my first venture into the Disney Blu-ray world and I can't get over just how beautiful it was. The question that I think a lot of people will have is: Why bother?

Pocahontas is the story of a headstrong daughter of a chief and her relationship with the English settler Captain John Smith and his crew. Two worlds completely set apart with very little in common essentially collide where Pocahontas fights for the peace and the preservation of nature that Smith's crew threaten to destroy in an effort to find Gold.

It's a story many of us already know so investing in the Blu-ray version may seem pretty pointless but I can assure you that this movie had me captivated more so than it ever has before simply because of how beautiful it was. The colouring, detailing and textures that you can now make out are so superior to the originals that I have seen. I can honestly say that before this I didn't think that Blu-ray could possibly improve on a Disney film that is relatively old and drawn - it really surpassed my expectations. I only hope the next set of Blu-ray Disney movies released look as spectacular.

There are some special features which look into the making of the original movie and music and when you watch these you can see and hear what a change has been made. I was very grateful for these particular features actually because they showed the difference so well so I recommend giving those a watch too. Speaking of special features, there are also a few deleted scenes and a deleted song "If I never knew you" which is surprisingly good".

I can't recommend this version enough, even if you have the original. If I could give this more stars I would - perfect for all ages and Disney fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fair Effort From Disney, 30 May 2012
I was always iffy about buying this one; as a child I loved it - until learning the truth about the story with Pocahontas being a very young girl, and it just kind of creeped me out to go back and watch. But I found this for an incredible price so added it to my collection -
The picture quality is great - this film has always had use of dynamic angles and colours, which lends itself to a very polished and beautiful look, almost working as a 90 minute screensaver at times.
The story - is pretty standard "man is evil against what it does not understand" but is passable with only a few dud moments (such as occasions painting the villains to be evil when if you do put thought into the circumstances, the villains are actually just defending themselves against the heroes who attack first)
The voice acting - is pretty hit and miss, with Pocahontas feeling like a real character, as with the villain and a few other characters, however Mel Gibson and Billy Connolly's very distinct voices can prove distracting and unimmersive at times.
The sound - incredibly crisp and clear, not much else can say really
Extras - this is where it surpasses the other Disney release this year Tarzan, as there is a pretty reasonable bulk of extras here ranging from music videos, items from the dvd, and a couple of new original documentaries.
Overall this is a fine addition to your collection - if you're a Pocahontas fan, you'll love the treatment it has received, and if you just collect Disney's you could do far worse than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Classic Disney's, 18 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great movie on every level. It appeals to kids, it appeals to adults and it also appeals to anyone who loves musicals with great songs.

But first: who Amazon's 'in-house' reviewer Tom Keogh is...I have no idea (his review is the one that you read just under the product details). His sarcastic, nasty & sour review of this movie is a disgrace. My advice is to you (the reader) is:...don't pay any heed to his twisted & bitter little review of this good Movie. Use you're own judgment...and see how far off the mark he is.

Back to the film: the story is universal - boy meets girl from the wrong tribe (shades of West Side Story) to the disapproval of their elders & peers etc. But they continue seeing each other and this eventually leads to confrontation. There are also serious anti-war messages woven through the fabric of this film, and they are put across through the songs and the action.

But apart from the flawless animation, it's the music that really 'grabs' you from the get go: from the opening drums in the first main song 'Hega Hega ya-hi-ye Hega' - to the splendid 'Just around the river bend' - to the absolute show-stopping ensemble piece 'Mine, Mine, Mine' sung by Governor Radcliffe and the cast, - and also the evocative 'Colours of the Wind'.

Why Disney Corp. haven't turned this movie into a full blown stage musical like they did with the Lion King...is beyond me. It's a no-brainer. Great story - great songs - great setting, what more do you want?

I cannot recommend this movie highly enough. If you are an adult, don't let the fact that it's a animated movie put you off, it's a great film.

Sit back and enjoy!

All the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocahontas - fantastic film, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocahontas [DVD] (DVD)
I watched The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast and Aladdin as a child/teenager but by the time Pocahontas came out I was 15 so of course wanted to watch "15" films because I could. My 3 year old is really into Disney DVDs now and I am enjoying being able to watch them at home and this was the latest one we bought. It is fantastic and I can't believe it has taken me this long to get round to watching it. My daughter really enjoys it; the music is fantastic and the character of Pocahontas is likable, interesting and a good role model. It is different to the "usual princesses" in castles and shows a different country/culture/history and way of life. I personally love it and much prefer to be watching this than Bugs Life (again). It is also in Spanish which is handy as my daughter speaks Spanish as well as English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indians are finally Americans, 29 Jun. 2012
By 
WALT DISNEY - POCAHONTAS - 1995

The film is a perfect animated production and the main two assets are the music and the songs and of course the very dynamic animation. This is particularly true with the Indians who are shown in a realistic way cultivating big fields of Indian corn and tobacco, and fishing. They are not shown hunting though. But they are shown dancing, singing, and at the end of a waR against another tribe, though the prisoners are not shown and there was no war between two Indian tribes without some prisoners, the men for ritual sacrificing, and women and children to become slaves. The best off were the children because they were adopted. That is not shown directly. It will only come later WITH John Smith.

The Europeans are shown as what they are, male adventurers with very mixed intentions and a very conflict-ridden social situation. The noble Governor Ratcliffe is a real pest and pain in the back from beginning to end. He is a perfect commander, giving orders but doing nothing, and having only one objective: to find gold by digging, as if digging anywhere in America was supposed to bring gold out of the earth. It is true noble people do not need to have an education since they are born intelligent and they have no concrete practice of what real work is. This is shown in the most obvious and impressive way.

John Smith is made the captain of the ship. He is humane and he is able to save a man overboard in the middle of a tempest. He is a discoverer and goes out to meet the Indians, and he meets Pocahontas, the daughter of the chief Powhatan who is seen as a warrior and not an old man. The Europeans are shown a little bit more realistically than usual and they use row-boats to go up and down the river, not Indian canoes, like in most other versions.

Pocahontas is shown as a young woman and not a girl, who is adventurous in her own way though at first distant and even fearful. But she accepts contact rather easily and she introduces John Smith to her grand mother Willow, a willow that speaks and gives advice.

This meeting of John Smith and Pocahontas is amplified by the meeting of Pocahontas' raccoon and Ratcliffe's pampered dog. This is both charming and funny, how the savage raccoon is so much apter to survive any kind of trouble coming from a civilized dog than the reverse. The third animal here is a humming bird who is the jester of the triad.

At this moment Thomas, a young sailor who had followed John on Ratcliffe's order, tries to protect John Smith against Kocoum who had followed Pocahontas, shoots Kocoum dead. Then John Smith, who protects the young chap, is submitted to an ordeal, a path of torture between two lines of Indians hitting him with any bludgeon they may have. He is saved by Pocahontas in extremis. Here the Indian custom is not specified, because of course it is not the case here: a woman who has lost family in a battle can claim a prisoner to replace the dead relative. This is the weak point of the film because Pocahontas' claim is not justified from the Indian point of view. That makes Powhatan weak.

But the most important part of the film is the showing of the opposition of two cultures, two visions of the world.

Powhatan declares: "These white men are dangerous. No one is to go near them." That's pure fear in front of the thunder sticks, the rifles.

But then John Smith explains to Pocahontas what follows. "We'll show you people how to use this land properly, how to make the most of it." And he retorts to Pocahontas' objection as follows. "You say that because you don't know better." And he calls the Indians "savages" which causes the retreat of Pocahontas. Then he explains his mind. "Savage is just a word, a term for people who are uncivilized." That's burning his boat and then sinking the ashes. Pocahontas conclusion is just to the point. Savages are people who are "not like you."

And that's when a war starts.

The two cultures, Indians and English men, are just the same and they sing the same song about savages, the savages being of course demons on the other side. Powhatan leads the Indian movement as the chief of them when the warriors from other tribes have arrived. Ratcliffe leads the English but for his own narrow-minded, violent, even cruel, and greedy motivations.

Grand Mother Willow advises Pocahontas properly, the raccoon brings Jim Smith's compass it had stolen a long time before and that's the dream: a spinning arrow showing the way. Pocahontas takes John Smith with her and they go to Powhatan to stop the war just when the two armies are face to face. Powhatan accepts his daughter's demand. "My daughter speaks with the wisdom beyond her years. We've all come here with anger in our hearts, but she's come with courage and understanding. From this day if there's to be more killing, it will not start with me."

The fool then is Ratcliffe who tries to shoot Powhatan, but John Smith gets in-between and It is John Smith who is shot. He has to go back to England, to be cured and healed, or to die on the ship taking him to England. That ending is a lot better than going back to England to cure and heal severe burns caused by his dumb smoking next to a bag of gun powder.

So what's the meaning of the film? Definitely a call for wisdom in the relations between ethnic groups, a total evacuation of the invasion of Indian territory by Europeans, a discrete allusion to the genocide that was to come later on, a total absence of real commerce between the English and the Indians, the fact that the Europeans do not seem keen on starting survival activities like cultivating the land or hunting properly.

The film is in fact entirely transferred from the historical point of view to the sentimental point of view, as a metaphor of the ethnic situation.

When John Smith falls in love with Pocahontas and is a prisoner destined to be brained alive or rather brained dead on the following morning he tells Pocahontas: "No matter what happens to me, I will always be with you, forever." And when John Smith is being taken to his ship, Pocahontas says: "No matter what happens to me, I will always be with you, forever." Perfect echo, perfect metaphor.

The animals show the same meaning with Ratcliffe's dog dressed in an Indian cape at the very same moment when Powhatan put his own cape on the wounded John Smith on his stretcher.

Moralistic probably but for sure in the trend of the end of the 20th century when, after the Wounded Knee Incident (February 27, 1973), when a full reassessing of the presence and role of Indians and Indian blood in America was started and found its ultimate realization in the presence of Indians and Indian floats on the inaugural parade for President Barack Obama in January 2009.

Walt Disney did not create the re-evaluation of Pocahontas, but they sure amplified it.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated classic, 5 May 2004
Pocahontas is a sweeping spectacle of a film, which desreves greater recognition than it has recieved thus far. Inevitably, coming hot off the heels of The Lion King, Pocahontas was never going to match its success, but that doesnt make it any less enjoyable.
It is the first Disney animated feature to be based on historical events, and perhaps this shines through as the film is perhaps more serious than other Disney fare.
The stroy deals with Captain John Smith, who, along with a group of sailors heads to America in search of gold. However, whilst there he meets Pocahontas and the two characters are let into eachothers worlds. Things become complicated however, when Pocahontas' father and General Radcliffe (head of the mission to the 'New World') prepare to wage a war against each other due to their hatred and discriminations of the other's race. Naturally Pocahontas and John Smith fall in love, though the usual happy ending is traded in for something much more effective.
Comedy comes in the form of sidekick pals Meeko the meerkat and Flit the humming bird, and the magical element of the movie is portrayed in the form of Grandmother Willow, the advice-giving tree.
Accompanied with rich animation, beautiful music and real heart, this is an essential buy for any Disney fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic film, 26 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pocahontas is one of the few Disney films that I feel has it all. It's got great music by the legendary Alan Menken, (who also composed the music for Mermaid & Hunchback of Notre Dame), loveable characters (Miko the cheeky racoon in particular) and the animation is some of the best I've seen from Disney, especially some of the drawings of Pocahontas.

The film also has some good messages for kids deep down too, it has a strong anti-racism theme and promotes the wild beauty in our environment.

I've done my research on the actual Pocahontas and in all honesty this film does fail to give a completely accurate description of the history of Pocahontas and the Indian tribes but that wasn't really why I bought it. I bought this Disney film at the age of 16 because I've grown up watching Disney films and now when also choosing which film to watch I also choose out of the ones with the best music and animation too and Pocahontas has it all.

Buy it! (Amazon's current buy one get one free offer on Disney films is also a great deal to buy this and another one too!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, Colourful, Beautiful., 7 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is truly a Disney classic. With a wonderful story, breathtaking scenery and inspiring music, Pocahontas is a film I think everybody can enjoy. Based on the true story of Pocahontas, the film tells us of the sruggles faced by the Powatan Indians when their native land is invaded by English soldiers. Matters become more complicated when Pocahontas falls in love with Captain John Smith. What follows is an uplifting story of courage, bravery and acceptance. I think this film has some of the most wonderful settings ever seen in the cinema and this 2 disc DVD has some great extras. The Acadamy Award winning music, characters and story compliment eachother so well, I can't praise this film enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best Disney Film - Lovely Characters, 5 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Pocahontas [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I don't usually like Disney,but when my daughter was younger she wanted to see them. More often as not I disliked them, but this one is different; it actually addresses some serious issues such as colonialism and environmental destruction!

Yes, it's only loosely based on fact, but you wish that the romance between the chief's daughter Pocohontas and John Smith had really been as it is portrayed here. John Smith is a lovely hero, gung ho, funny and tender, and Pocohontas is brave and independent.

There is the usual Princess Obsession, but to some extent it's justified here - Pochohontas was a genuine princess, or anyway, the daughter of a chief.

Generally, the characters are excellent, the songs are good, and I loved the sparkly magic when John Smith and Pocohontas fall in love.

The usual one dimensional villan IS here (along with an obnoxious pet!) but for once he is a tool of social forces.

I snivelled at the ending, oh dear.

The best Disney film. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pocahontas [DVD]
Pocahontas [DVD] by Eric Goldberg (DVD - 2009)
£6.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews