Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A THOROUGHLY ENGAGING PORTRAIT OF THE MASTER
This DVD presents a three-part BBC Arena series on Noel Coward from 1998 with a running time of approx. 149 minutes. I found it utterly fascinating with interviews with his former staff, accompanists, Graham Payn, Elaine Stritch, Sheridan Morley and others who either knew Coward, interviewed him or studied his life and work.

Rare footage taken by Coward himself...
Published on 30 Jan 2010 by P. J. Wallace

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Noel Coward is superb, a unique man and talent.
Published 1 month ago by Peter Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A THOROUGHLY ENGAGING PORTRAIT OF THE MASTER, 30 Jan 2010
By 
P. J. Wallace "Peter Wallace" (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Noel Coward Trilogy [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This DVD presents a three-part BBC Arena series on Noel Coward from 1998 with a running time of approx. 149 minutes. I found it utterly fascinating with interviews with his former staff, accompanists, Graham Payn, Elaine Stritch, Sheridan Morley and others who either knew Coward, interviewed him or studied his life and work.

Rare footage taken by Coward himself is included and the programmes are rich with excerpts of Coward being interviewed, filmed on stage and in the movies, and much more. The viewer is taken to see where Coward was born, to homes he lived in - notably in Switzerland and Jamaica - and I think we are taken as close to the man as we can be so many years after his death.

This is indeed a celebration of an extraordinary life and serves as a tribute to a multi-talented British star of the 20th Century. The programmes give a taste of his lovely music, his brilliant writing, and his unique brand of delivering lyrics or drama. If you are looking for comprehensive coverage of his output, then you will need to look elsewhere,but if you want to put his work in context and understand its origins, then look no further. These programmes are centred on the man himself, his character, his outlook, and his private life.

I found this DVD to be thoroughly engaging, beautifully produced and the time passed all too quickly. It exceeded expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simply charming DVD!, 18 Oct 2010
This review is from: Noel Coward Trilogy [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Perfect gift for the Noel Coward enthusiast.

This three part DVD covers the boy, the man, the actor and playwright, singer / song writer and cabaret entertainer in beautiful detail.

The bio-documentary reveals the different sides of Coward: the private man, his public persona, and with great honesty and compassion. The footage switches seamlessly from original photographs, audio and films (many of the films shown were shot by Coward himself on his many extensive travels), and is punctuated by witty extracts from an extended BBC Arena interview with Coward, conducted in the late 60s just a few years before his death in 73.

I watched this three part documentary on BBC2 about 12 years ago and couldn't believe my luck when I found it on DVD. A real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Landmark program marred here by shoddy DVD transfer, 19 April 2010
By 
James Hayes "JM Hayes" (Herts., UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noel Coward Trilogy [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This excellent three-part documentary, first broadcast in 1998, is an extensive if rather episodic chronicle of the great man's life and achievements, with some of his plays and musicals either scantily covered or missed altogether. In some ways ITV's hour-long 1992 'Southbank Show' portrait of Coward managed to cover his talents with more breadth, and certainly accorded more credit to Coward's songwriting: let's not forget that he composed - words and music - many standards of the '20s, '30s, and '40s, as well as movie soundtracks, operetta, and a ballet score.
However, the real problem with this DVD release - and it is an outrageous one - is that the programs have almost certainly been copied from the NTSC masters made for the Region 1 release of a couple of years ago, rather than directly from the original masters in the PAL (Region 2) format. The resulting presentation is marred by inferior picture quality: the line definition is ragged (particularly noticeable with superimposed titles and captions), the colour balance is iffy. The fact that the programs include a lot of archive footage only exacerbates the substandard viewing experience. Indeed, I'd say that the picture quality of this DVD is actually inferior to my VHS copy that I recorded off-air when 'The Noel Coward Trilogy' was first transmitted 12 years ago. And when one considers the RRP of £12.99, then Warner Classics & Jazz's brazenness toward issuing a substandard product comes close to fraud.

Maybe WC&J thought that no-one would notice the degraded picture quality; if so, it was wrong. This aside, 'The Noel Coward Trilogy' is a real must for his admirers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Oct 2014
This review is from: Noel Coward Trilogy [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Noel Coward is superb, a unique man and talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's in the box, 8 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Noel Coward Trilogy [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I thought this might be his three greatest stage plays, but it is actually a three part documentary on Noel Coward's life. I haven't seen it but it gets very good reviews on Amazon.com, which has a full description of the contents. For his plays you need to get the big BBC box, also listed here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Noel Coward Trilogy [DVD] [2009]
Noel Coward Trilogy [DVD] [2009] by The Boy Actor Captain Coward Sail Away (DVD - 2010)
Used & New from: £34.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews