Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nihilism
The best way I feel I could describe The Informers is with the word 'empty'. The movie plays like an uncut episode of The Hills. But that's why it's good. It is unrestrained in its nihilism and despair. Which is why it's a shame that the director felt the need to cut so much of the movie out, probably to get it's R rating. I mean with the empty plot, this was never going...
Published on 7 Dec 2011 by Jack

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Despite some redundant characters & storylines, theres something strangely appealing about it!
Taking into account this L.A. set multi-stranded ensemble piece was a complete flop in America and only got a very limited cinematic release here in the UK (strange considering it arguably has the best cast of any film in 2009), it's not bad at all. The 80's feel is very much like the book and the soundtrack is terrific.

The segments range from interesting to...
Published on 23 Jan 2010 by G. McFarlane


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Despite some redundant characters & storylines, theres something strangely appealing about it!, 23 Jan 2010
By 
G. McFarlane "gav_mcf" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Informers [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
Taking into account this L.A. set multi-stranded ensemble piece was a complete flop in America and only got a very limited cinematic release here in the UK (strange considering it arguably has the best cast of any film in 2009), it's not bad at all. The 80's feel is very much like the book and the soundtrack is terrific.

The segments range from interesting to pointless; I enjoyed the stuff with Jon Foster, Austin Nichols and Amber Heard, who is absolutely stunning and you see plenty of her in this! The story with Mickey Rourke and the late Brad Renfro is good too but perhaps the most interesting is the one with Lou Taylor Pucci as Tim who struggles to bond with his dad (Chris Isaak) in their trip to Hawaii. The performances between the two are great and this part is very faithful to the book.

As for the pointless ones; Billy Bob Thornton, Kim Basinger and Winona Ryder just turn up for their pay cheques while Rhys Ifans is in the film for about 10 seconds! I was disappointed they cancelled the vampire scenes, it would've been great to see Brandon Routh (Superman Returns) as Jamie. I seen an interview with Jon Foster (who plays Graham) and even he was confused to why they dropped the story, the producers must've bottled it.

I'm still trying to understand why this film has had such a quiet release and why barely anyone has heard of it. I just think the producers never spent enough on promoting the film after they interfered too much and totally soured writers Nicholas Jarecki and Bret Easton Ellis' vision (who left the project after it drifted too far away from his novel). However, apparently there was a 160 minute cut of the film he was pretty happy with and hopefully we'll see it someday.

However, despite all the production problems and the general critical mauling I think The Informers is a decent character piece thats worth checking out, especially for the standout performances by Jon Foster and Lou Taylor Pucci. The downbeat ending is also pretty effective and along with many moments in the film, stays with you for a few days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg - good in parts!, 4 July 2014
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Informers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ellis's "novella" is a fascinating, if challenging and unpleasant, "moral tale." As one character says, " I want someone to tell me what is good. And I want someone to tell me what is bad," in this depiction of an amoral '80's on the verge of devastation by the Aids epidemic. Interesting (and hard-edged) though Ellis's novella is, I don't really feel it's episodic structure has been successfully reworked in this film version. Still, despite the overwhelming "apparent" nihilism of the piece, certain lines - and implicit ironies - continue to shine through in the film script - although the satisfying complexity of original tale is somewhat lost. The book's original violence, together with its constant references to drug taking, which created an overwhelming repetitive almost hypnotic power, are all dramatically toned down in the film, while sexual episodes become much more explicit (only a 15 Certificate for goodness sake!) and are foolishly sanitised. This subsequently changes the focus of the piece to damaging effect and transform its vicious "edginess" into soft porn. Key moments from the novel are also lost and: the surreal "Vampire" sequence; the absence of characters such as Biff etc; and the removal of the "desertion scene"; etc etc, are not good decisions and are very missed. Most significantly the book's most shocking and horrific sequence - the abduction and murder of a child - is re-written and given a "happy ending" totally at odds with the "ethos" and creative direction of the novel and film and making nonsense of its Dantesque drive. So ultimately the piece is neither brave nor long enough (98 mts reduced from a original cut of 160 mts) to do justice to the novel and it's reworking/censorship of Ellis's uncompromising tale reduces it's overall impact considerably. However it's not without some interest and it is difficult to understand the almost universal negativity of mainstream critics on its release. That said, it's far from "commercial", definitely not for "general audiences" seeking an entertaining "night out" and it's certainly not a pleasant experience for anyone (although certainly not as unpleasant as it should have been!) so I only recommended this disc for fans of Elis's work - and perhaps only those fans wanting to see how his weird, wonderful and decidedly horrid tale could possibly be transferred to the "big screen". The blu ray provides a solid if uninspired audio and video transfer - rather like the novella itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nihilism, 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Informers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The best way I feel I could describe The Informers is with the word 'empty'. The movie plays like an uncut episode of The Hills. But that's why it's good. It is unrestrained in its nihilism and despair. Which is why it's a shame that the director felt the need to cut so much of the movie out, probably to get it's R rating. I mean with the empty plot, this was never going to be a critical success, so I find it both amusing and annoying that this movie was cut so heavily.

The characters in the film are shallow and almost two dimensional, the cinematography is all over the place, and the plot is almost literally nonexistent. And that's exactly why you should see it! Watch it as a serious piece and see how you feel by the end. Try and engage with the characters; see how it feels when that's completely impossible.

Although I've given this movie five stars, in comparison to the book, this movie, although similar, loses most of the story. Merging characters and their story lines for the sake of narrative continuity. However, it's not the story of The Informers that makes it a special movie, it's the tone. The unrepentant nihilism in both the characters and the dialogue.

The Informers is, in it's own, a masterpiece. No doubt accidentally so, but no less. The director Gregor Jordan has created a formless mess with a buckled narrative and actors who don't know how to play their characters. This mess fits the tone of the book better than any meticulously orchestrated direction ever could. And for that it is undeniable that this film is the best adaptation of any of Ellis' novels.

Feel like I should add an extra conclusion to this review, because I feel very strongly about this movie. Some accuse this movie of being pointless (in a bad way). Well it isn't. The states of mind all of these characters experience: the numbing of the soul because they have everything they want, the ennui and over-saturation, the apathy toward their fellow people, the vapidity that has spread through their very animus like a virus leaving them completely without desire and without conscious- it is a philosophical nightmare. It's an existential black hole that sucks and raison d'être the characters may ever have held. That is the point of this movie. That having everything is leaving nothing. That innocence is something that can never be recaptured. That is the lesson behind this movie- and it is thanks to the tone and messy narrative that you can feel that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mildly underrated!, 21 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Informers [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
I watched `The Informers` with the lowest of expectations.While it doesn't
rank with classics such as American psycho or The Ruoles Of Attraction
it is still entertaining with a great effort from the cast and crew
including the late Brad Renfro and marvellous Mickey Rourke.

The films plot focuses on the high's and lows of a group of wealthy
and eccentric characters in LA whose lives involve drugs and partying.
While the movie has it's flaws it still beats other movies of it's genre.
Take Magnolia for example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Informers [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
Utter rubbish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars As bad as expected, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Informers [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
I was always going to buy this DVD regardless of the reviews it was getting, I am a huge Brett Easton Ellis fanatic and even though I read review saying this was an average film, with little feel for the source material and mediocre performances from the all-star cast, I still wanted to watch it because I love the book and was interested to see how it turned out. Not great is the answer, the decision to have this collection of short stories all running at once makes it impossible to keep any kind of narrative going, the script is dumbed down, it is not shocking or provocative, the acting falls flat etc etc etc. Everything that could be lost in translation from a collection of short stories to a feature length film has been. I watched this with a friend who hasn't read the book and she thought it was worse than I did, if you have read the informers some joy can be had out of seeing some memorable scenes from the book turn up in the film, but I wouldn't say it was worth watching the whole thing. The first scene is good, a big 80's pool party set to Simple Minds-New Gold Dream, and unfortunately it goes downhill as soon as the dialogue is introduced. If you want a Brett Easton Ellis film go with American Psycho or The Rules of Attraction, this is not the one to spend time on. Read it instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Informers [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
If you have seen it I don't need to comment if not, Amber Heard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depressing and dark movie, 2 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Informers [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
In my view, "The Informers" is an immensely dark and undesirably depressing movie. Most reviewers would share the exact views and opinions regarding the movie. The opening sequence straight away sets the tonne of the movie. It seems to share a negative outlook of life to viewers. It journeys to 1980's America, focusing on the lives of wealthy folks in LA. It covers deep and disturbing themes, ranging from sex, drugs, depression, affairs, crime and glamour. There is a wide range of characters featured in the movie. These include pop stars, newsreader, a record producer and house wife each with separate stories to present to viewers. The characters are quite bland, lifeless, and seem to be alienated from reality. At times, I felt confused, as it continued to switch between characters. The momentum is affected by the ploy of adding a multitude of characters. I would praise for originality, as I have not experienced seen a movie of this nature and I have to admit the acting maintains good standard. On fair reflection, I would award the movie three stars, as I felt it went over the extreme in dealing with dark and heavy themes. It is like leaving a real sour taste in your mouth. I found the movie unpleasant viewing and would try to avoid these types of movie, but the movie provided 80's nostalgia with memorable tracks. That does not mean my mind will alter about the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You shouldn't have, 18 Feb 2010
By 
J. Jenkins (Dudley Port, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Informers [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
My excitement about The Informers prior to release could be charted on a sliding scale of disappointment. I was stoked when the adaptation was announced with Nicholas Jarecki to direct and Bret Easton Ellis himself to write; pensive when the studio replaced Jarecki with Gregor Jordan, director of the awful Buffalo Soldiers; bemused and frustrated when it was reported the vampire subplot had been dropped, Ellis was leaving the project and that Jordan planned to expunge all elements of satire, farce and black humour, playing the thing completely straight.

What has finally made it to the screen is not quite the car crash I was fearing, although as with the recent adaptation of Watchmen, most of my goodwill towards the project probably stems from love of the source material rather than anything on screen. Indeed, much of the book has, superficially, been replicated directly. The problem is one of tone rather than content. Roger Avary played fast and loose with the narrative of The Rules of Attraction, but nailed Ellis' pungent disrepute dead on. Jordan adheres much more rigidly, but neither he nor his cast appear to have any idea what any of it means.

Jon Foster and the other young actors largely handle their dialogue with a strangely stilted, faltering delivery, seemingly trying to decide what it is exactly they are trying to convey. And they attempt to imbue their 'big scenes' with a gravitas which simply should not be there. I always really felt the book's characters were so numb they have no sense of their own tragedy. And that was what made them tragic. There are attempts to show buried emotion here that feel misplaced. But hey, at least the youngsters are trying. Most of veteran cast members are there solely for their cheques, with Billy Bob Thornton in particular phoning in a non-performance of transparent awfulness. You keep expecting him to turn to the camera and smirk, 'Hey, you know I'm better than this, right?'

The Bryan Metro segment at least retains some humour, and Mel Raido does well, although some of the less palatable stuff has been toned down considerably. The kidnapping segment has force largely due to a committed performance from Brad Renfro, but who thought that it was a good idea to change the ending? Also, because the vampires have been largely removed but are referenced, with Dirk making a small appearance, that section simply doesn't make real sense. It's hard to avoid the conclusion that halfway through the project, Jordan gave up, slapped together a passable edit and moved on. For fanatic Bret Easton Ellis fans such as myself, this simply will not do. I hope to see the extended cut allegedly in existance one day, but I doubt even that can correct some of the flaws here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars review, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Informers [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
This film is not as good as I expected but I may watch it again but I am not sure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Informers [DVD] (2008)
The Informers [DVD] (2008) by Gregor Jordan (DVD - 2009)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews