Customer Reviews


301 Reviews
5 star:
 (203)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and funny Romantic Comedy, leaves a smile on your face
It is not the most amazing script ever written, you can imagine the end from the very beginning, but that is not what has made this one of the most popular movies this summer, it is just that the story is funny, sweet and makes you smile and feel good. How many movies can do that? We have Andrew, who is working like a slave to get the desired promotion and his boss, a...
Published on 16 Sept. 2009 by AGDA

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite common...
This is a typical "easy" comedy. It has some good parts, but if I'd already seen it, I wouldn't buy the DVD, that's for sure. The plot is an easy guess from the start and some of the scenes are kind of "meant to be very funny", but end up pushing it too hard. I find the story rather slow in parts and I'm getting bored. I miss more substantial and witty dialogue. Would...
Published on 13 Aug. 2010 by Marisa Forsaa


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and funny Romantic Comedy, leaves a smile on your face, 16 Sept. 2009
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
It is not the most amazing script ever written, you can imagine the end from the very beginning, but that is not what has made this one of the most popular movies this summer, it is just that the story is funny, sweet and makes you smile and feel good. How many movies can do that? We have Andrew, who is working like a slave to get the desired promotion and his boss, a she-devil called Margaret, who is so focused on her job that forgets that there is life outside the publishing house. Because of her possible deportation, she is forced to make the decision of marrying Andrew, as she is from Canada and needs to be allowed to work in the USA or she will lose the job she loves so much. That is the beginning of this journey, and it keeps getting better when the odd couple arrive to Alaska to met "his" parents and grannie. I won't tell much about the plot, as it is better to watch it. I just want to say that the main actors share a special chemistry in this film, something that makes the movie more enjoyable and the whole cast is brilliant and funny.
I do recommend it, may not be the best movie of the year, but it makes me feel good, sunnier, and I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and fun and charming comedy, 23 Oct. 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
It was a week with two good movies showing at our small local cinema and I assumed the other (The Time Traveller's Wife) would be the best. (It was very overhyped in my opinion, I soon became bored with it but my husband liked it.) We nearly didn't go to see The Proposal, but a relative was in Alaska just at that time and had been telling us about it, so I decided we might as well see this movie set partly in Alaska. After all, it was a comedy, so it should be watchable. In fact, I loved every moment of it. This was the first time I remember seeing Sandra Bullock and I'm now a firm fan. What a delightful, funny and entirely entertaining movie! I was completely hooked from the start.

Bullock's character is a Canadian needing to stay in the USA to keep the job she loves. She blackmails one of her staff into pretending they're engaged to be married, just so long as it takes for her papers to come through and he blackmails her for a work concession in return. Of course nothing goes quite as either of them intends, nor as the immigration officer expects either when he's highly suspicious of this "engagement" and absolutely determined to catch them out. Of course there's plenty of hilarious and sometimes poignant frustration as very everyone gets thwarted in whatever they're trying to achieve and of course the last scenes are hugely tense as whatever you want for everyone, you can't know if they'll get it. One to buy as soon as it's out! And my advice, watch anything else you haven't yet seen of Sandra's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you prefer Margaret or "Satan's Mistress"?, 3 July 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
The Proposal is directed by Anne Fletcher and written by Pete Chiarelli. It stars Sandra Bullock, Ryan Reynolds, Mary Steenburgen, Craig T. Nelson and Betty White. Music is scored by Aaron Zigman and cinematography by Oliver Stapleton.

Bitch book company boss Margaret Tate (Bullock) bullies her assistant Andrew (Reynolds) into marrying her in order to maintain her visa status and avoid being deported from the US. With the authorities watching closely, the pair take off to Paxton's parents in Alaska to get to know each other and plot the sham wedding.

The rom-com, a very hard genre to get a film right in, and only really accessible to certain parts of the movie watching world. The Proposal is one of the better ones in recent times, primarily because the lead actors are so likable, they manage the impressive feat of lifting the standard scripting to heights it doesn't deserve. 12 years difference between Reynolds and Bullock (who still looks terrific), but it doesn't show, while the supporting players, operating out of a cranky family/small town dynamic, also offer up considerable moments of quality. Very appealing scenic cinematography by Stapleton too.

There's no surprises here, but there are good laughs and interesting scenarios, and if you are in the mood for a romantic pick me up, or having a date movie night, then this is a safe recommendation. The grumpy and loveless, suffice to say, need not apply. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'LAUGH OUT-LOUD FUNNY', 25 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
i'm awarding '5' stars even though i found much of the film predictable, it really is 'laugh-out-loud funny.
'Margaret' a no-nonsense business woman is on the verge of deportation, which would leave the guy she's just jilted as her replacement, her work is her life is at stake.
'Andrew' is her assistant who has ambitions of his own, however 'margaret' throws a giant shadow over his asperations.
'Margaret' comes up with a plan to dodge deportation, she demands that 'Andrew' marries her in exchange for promotion and a promise that his book would be published.
'Andrew' had planned to fly off to 'Alaska' to celebrate his Grandmothers 90th birthday, now it seems he has a travel companion.
They fly off to 'Andrew's' family home in alaska, this introduces 'Andrew's' diverse family members and friends, leading to much humour.
This is a very funny film with 'Sandra Bullock' and 'Ryan Reynolds' lighting up the screen with thier attempts to convince family
and friends, not forgetting the authorities that the romance is genuine.
There are some stunning scenary sequences. along the way.
Good Picture and Sound Quality throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GO BETTY, GO BETTY!, 6 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
Betty White, the all-pro Snickers football star, is delightfully type cast as an over the top grandmother who plays the "death card" to get her way.

Sandra Bullock is an uptight Canadian whose visa has ran out so she blackmails her male secretary into marrying her. Ryan Reyonds plays the secretary. The Department of Immigration apparently is so caught up with our immigration problems that is has nothing better to do than hound Canadians with expired visas. They end up visiting his folks in Alaska, where Bullock is out of place.

As it turns out the secretary, whose income Bullock makes sport of, has a rich family which owns a town. Here she is accepted and made to feel as family, which of course makes her uncomfortable under the circumstances. What I liked was the guy who was the waiter, male exotic dancer, town store clerk, and the Justice of the Peace. Mary Steenburgen is a fine actress, however you couldn't tell by this movie as her lines were few, and Betty White stole every scene they were in.

5 star chick flick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, if unbelievable RomCom - Love it!, 23 Nov. 2009
By 
Bob and Billy's Mum (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
Not an entirely beleivable plot - but very funny and one my daughters and I loved.

Sandra Bullock is hilarious, Ryan Reynolds is pleasing to the eye, and there is a satisfying roam through drama and disaster, reaching a pleasing ending.

We laughed out loud throughout - a proper girly film for these dark windy nights, when the world's a depressing place. The only other things you'll need are a box of chocs and a glass of wine - curl up on the sofa and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good film, 2 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
I've read a lot of pretentious rubbish about this film but my wife and I really enjoyed it. I will start by saying that Sandra Bullock is amazing in this film, she really surprised us and the next big star performance in the film is the Alaskan scenery which is breathtaking - not that Reynolds was bad, just that he only has one 'face' - so my one big criticism is that it is difficult to see the change of emotion in the film. That aside, it is an enjoyable film, with a golden performance from Betty White as Gammy - easily the funniest character in the film. Get it and watch it with an open mind and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite common..., 13 Aug. 2010
By 
Marisa Forsaa (Surnadal, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
This is a typical "easy" comedy. It has some good parts, but if I'd already seen it, I wouldn't buy the DVD, that's for sure. The plot is an easy guess from the start and some of the scenes are kind of "meant to be very funny", but end up pushing it too hard. I find the story rather slow in parts and I'm getting bored. I miss more substantial and witty dialogue. Would definitely like to see more of the character "Bob" (played by Aasif Mandvi), who appears at the beginning, as I find the main male character so blunt. I expected more from this film - maybe seen too many others like this one - so I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Proposal (DVD) Sandra Bullock/Ryan Reynolds, 16 Oct. 2011
By 
Derek Vernon-morris (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very enjoyable film with Sandra Bullock playing Margaret Tate, running a slick Editorial department in a large Publishing company. Ryan Reynolds plays Andrew Paston, her slightly immature young assistant, who is a complete corporate 'yes man' in the hope that he will have his own manuscripts published.
Margaret who is a Canadian, faces deportation when her visa renewal is refused, and takes advantage of Andrew's complete compliance, telling the Company boss, Chairman Bergen, (Michael Nouri) that she and Andrew are getting married. This will give her USA citizenship and allow her to continue in her domineering role.
Andrew even agrees to this on condition that she makes him an Editor. It will only be a convenience, and they can apply for early divorce.
What they do not count on, is actually falling, or realising that they are in love, in the process of convincing the Immigration Officer, and Andrew's family, that the marriage Proposal is genuine.
Ryan Reynolds and Sandra Bullock are a perfect foil to each other, and deliver the plot with sometimes surprising but characteristic hillarity.
During the weekend in Alaska the power balance is reversed, as Margaret discovers Andrew is the son of a millionaire Joe Paston, played aggressively by Craig T Nelson, who practically owns and runs his home town.
Mary Steenburgen is beautifully cast as Andrew's concerned Mother, Grace, and Betty White as his wily Grandmother Annie about to celebrate her 90th Birthday.
Dennis O'Hare plays Mr Gilbertson, the Immigration officer who turns out to be a friend of Joe who at first does not approve of the Proposal, and Oscar Nunez adds more comedy as Ramone, a waiter cum storekeeper cum erotic dancer.
The sound is excellent 5.1, as is the picture quality. There are alternative endings in the special features, audio commentaries with Director Anne Fletcher, and deleted scenes.
There is the usual choice of dubbed languages, plus 8 subtitle languages in this delightful, generally feel good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting!, 19 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
Went to see this with my Mum. We both enjoyed it. Although it wasn't the most amazing film and the script felt a little same old same old..., it was funny, uplifting escapism. Sandra Bullock plays the older, successful, workaholic woman and looked fab as always. Her leading man, Ryan Reynolds, who played her less-well paid junior office colleague, was v.pleasing on the eye too. The scenery in the second part of the film, depicting a seaside town in Alaska, was lovely and there were some laugh-out-loud moments. A predictable, enjoyable rom com. One for the girls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Proposal [DVD]
The Proposal [DVD] by Anne Fletcher (DVD - 2009)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews