Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Christmas Comedy!
I could have been put off this film by some of the negative reviews but I actually loved this film!!! Thought it had some really good LOL moments. It keeps up the pace the whole way through too and I didn't clock-watch once, which is good sign! Vince Vaughan and Reece Witherspoon seemed an unlikely couple but they worked together.

I enjoyed the whole story...
Published on 30 July 2011 by Grace Poole

versus
33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light Hearted Comedy
'Four Christmases' is a romantic comedy with Christmas as the backdrop. The movie had a theatrical release in November 2008 and was a box-office success.

The movie tells the story of a couple (Vince Vaughn and Reese Witherspoon) who are scared to make commitments. The movie also shows what they experience when they visit all four of their divorced parents on...
Published on 13 Nov. 2009 by Mitun


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Christmas Comedy!, 30 July 2011
By 
Grace Poole (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Christmases [DVD] (DVD)
I could have been put off this film by some of the negative reviews but I actually loved this film!!! Thought it had some really good LOL moments. It keeps up the pace the whole way through too and I didn't clock-watch once, which is good sign! Vince Vaughan and Reece Witherspoon seemed an unlikely couple but they worked together.

I enjoyed the whole story concept. How many of us would love to visit all our relatives on Christmas Day!! As both Kate and Brad's parents are divorced it means visiting four separate parents and their partners/family. It's chaotic but very funny. Also it avoids some of the more obvious cliches such as trying to eat four Christmas Dinners which has been done before!

It may not be everybody's humour judging by some of the reviews! but if you enjoy a lighthearted and somewhat quirky comedy with a story behind it then I think you'd enjoy this. It made me feel Christmassy anyway!!! Will definitely be watching this one again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I laughed so much!!, 22 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Four Christmases [DVD] (DVD)
I love christmas movies, esp. funny ones and this one is definitely sooooo funny...we laughed a lot!!!
Story is quite easy, a happy american couple is planning their christmas vacation far way from home without any family or issues but then all flights been cancelled and even a TV channel reports at the airport and films them...soooo...their whole family sees it and they are stuck. Now they need to visit both their families...4 of them as mum's and dad's divorced and believe me visiting 4 families in just 1 day over christmas...it's hilarious!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light Hearted Comedy, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Four Christmases [DVD] (DVD)
'Four Christmases' is a romantic comedy with Christmas as the backdrop. The movie had a theatrical release in November 2008 and was a box-office success.

The movie tells the story of a couple (Vince Vaughn and Reese Witherspoon) who are scared to make commitments. The movie also shows what they experience when they visit all four of their divorced parents on Christmas Day.

On watching the movie on DVD, I found it to be an average entertainer with some funny moments that make you laugh. The downside is it's clichéd and lacks the Christmas feeling.

Vince Vaughn is funny as he produces a typical performance. Reese Witherspoon also performs well. The movie also stars the veteran actor, Robert Duvall who is a treat to watch. The direction provided by Seth Gordon is efficient.

The movie did make me laugh on a couple of occassions, which did the job for me since I was not expecting much.

'Four Christmases' is strictly a run of the mill comedy that does not peak.

Recomended if all you're looking for is a few laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Four Christmases, 6 Dec. 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Four Christmases [DVD] (DVD)
`Four Christmases' is a pretty funny comedy starring Vince Vaughn and Reese Witherspoon and is about a couple who decide to go holiday each year rather than spend time with their four divorced parents. Unfortunately this year their flight gets grounded and their usually calm and placid relationship is turned upside down by visiting the various families and the revelations that are uncovered. There are a few laughs throughout but nothing that will have you holding your sides or panting for breath and although this is marketed as a Christmas movie, it is merely the backdrop to the events that unfold. It could be any major family event or national holiday to be honest. The performances are all pretty good and the cast is impressive as well, with Robert Duvall, Mary Steenburgen, Jon Voight and Sissy Spacek as supporting cast. At just over 85 minutes this is short enough to be funny without being wearing and you don't have enough time to get bored. The direction is simple and not that noteworthy, just run of the mill comedy fare the whole way through. If you want a light hearted comedy, with the odd toilet or sex joke and nothing you have to think too hard about then this is the place to go. It's good but you won't rush to watch it twice.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Xmas rom com, 11 Feb. 2011
By 
J. B. Hammond "Ballet Lady" (Emsworth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Four Christmases [DVD] (DVD)
Four Xmas's - does what it says on the box -couple spend 4 different Xmases with their respective (divorced) parents and in doing so 'find' each other.
good enough film to pass away a rainy (Xmas) afternoon but ultimately predictable. Has some amusing moments but...... sorry it is all a bit predictable. Passed away the time though and is not by any means the worst film I have ever seen. suitable to elderly relatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Xmas Film, 2 Dec. 2014
By 
PPS076 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Christmases [DVD] (DVD)
The first time that I watched this was a few years ago and I thought that it was a good film. It's about a husband and wife having to share their valuable time between the dreaded inlaws during the Xmas period and you get to see why they only visit them Xmas time. It's quite a funny film with a decent script whilst the acting of the main characters were funny enough to make me want to watch it again. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty decent, 18 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Four Christmases [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't really know what to expect when i started watching this movie, i was just looking for something to kick start my holiday mood. But there is not really any Christmas spirit in the story. The holidays are just the cause for this story's couple to have to meet up with they're crazy family's and get themselves into all types of crazy situations. Nothing really original there. We have seen similar movies done over and over. So, old jokes spiced up in a brand new package, why not? I had a pretty decent time watching it. Vince Vaughn is always great and so is Reese Witherspoon. They made a very believable couple (besides the fact that from a distance or seen from behind you would think that she was a child next to him). I just never noticed how really big Vince is and how really tiny Reese is till now. But they did a good job and so did everybody else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Snore!, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Christmases [DVD] (DVD)
I really wanted to like this movie, I love Christmas films and Reece Witherspoon is so likeable and easy to watch but this was pure drivel. The second the main characters say they don't want kids or believe in marriage you know that they'll change their mind by the end so really there's little point in continuing to watch. However if you do decide to continue then you will be seriously disappointed. There were lots of well known actors in but clearly they were only involved as it was time to pay their taxes, they just go through the motions. Totally un-funny. Instead try the film "Fred Claus", it stars Vince Vaughn, it's a Christmas movie, there's a romance and unlike this film, it's funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay Christmas Movie., 30 Nov. 2009
By 
It's that time of year where Christmas movies come out, ready for you to have that feel good festive cheer. With Four Christmases, it has a great cast and beautiful sights of America on Blu-Ray. Story is a couple (Resse Witherspoon and Vince Vauaghn) are heading off to a hoilday to get away from it all at Christmas only for a fog to appear which means they must visit their familes, four of them. On that day, they go through many funny events but will their relationship stand to the very end? Yes, it does have some funny moments and is very light hearted. The pefomances from a well known cast are good, not Oscar worthy standards but this film isn't like that. One to check it out for the festive season, recommened if you like this sort of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Christmases [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the trailer for this movie when it first came to the cinema and thought it would be quite rubbish, actually I wasn't going to buy it even though I like watching Vince Vaughn movies unless my wife didn't say she wanted it. But I must say I have been proven wrong as this movie is quite an enjoyable one with a few cringing moments and really gets you into the film. Anyways my verdict is though not an amazing movie it is a good watch and worth the price it is currently at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Four Christmases [DVD]
Four Christmases [DVD] by Seth Gordon (DVD - 2009)
£2.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews