Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Universal Mains Charger for Garmin nuvi 1490T
Good and necesssary product which should have been included with the 1490T. While getting accustomed to the features of the satnav the charger has been in constant use at home as the 1490T's battery lasts for a maximum of 3 hours.
Published on 24 July 2010 by B Procter

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought it, but not needed it yet!
I bought a Garmin 1490T for a New Year gift to myself; reviews for that revealed that there was no mains charger included in the package, so I ordered this as well.

It turns out that the 1490T comes with charging cables for use in the car, and a combined data/charger USB cable, so I can easily charge up my 1490T both indoors, and in the car. Hence I've never...
Published on 22 Feb. 2011 by dprees


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Universal Mains Charger for Garmin nuvi 1490T, 24 July 2010
This review is from: Universal Mains Charger For Garmin nuvi 1490T (Electronics)
Good and necesssary product which should have been included with the 1490T. While getting accustomed to the features of the satnav the charger has been in constant use at home as the 1490T's battery lasts for a maximum of 3 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garmin charger, 30 Oct. 2010
By 
R. Sacks "traveller" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Universal Mains Charger For Garmin nuvi 1490T (Electronics)
It is crazy to sell a sat nav, supposedly designed to be used for walking, without a mains charger (only one for the car)! so I called Garmin and they were happy to sell me a charging kit for about £25!! I declined and looked it up on Amazon. Found the same kit, which is unnecessarily elaborate, for £20 and finally the simple charger for less than a couple of quid - though the postage made it about double. It does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought it, but not needed it yet!, 22 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Mains Charger For Garmin nuvi 1490T (Electronics)
I bought a Garmin 1490T for a New Year gift to myself; reviews for that revealed that there was no mains charger included in the package, so I ordered this as well.

It turns out that the 1490T comes with charging cables for use in the car, and a combined data/charger USB cable, so I can easily charge up my 1490T both indoors, and in the car. Hence I've never even tested this charger.

May be a great device for you, but do consider whether you really need it -- I certainly don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must, 11 May 2010
This review is from: Universal Mains Charger For Garmin nuvi 1490T (Electronics)
Should come with every garmin, but as it does not, it is a well recommended buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars charge or not to charge, 8 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Mains Charger For Garmin nuvi 1490T (Electronics)
Bought this along side the Garmin nuvi 1490T as a Christmas present, so imagine the disappointment when after waiting four hours for it to charge the Sat Nav wouldn't switch on. Tested the universal charger on different machine and the rate of output kept changing including providing a negitive charge!!
Cheap and not worth that money, luckily Amazon did replace the damaged sat nav and I ended up buying a Garmin charger.
Did get a refund from suppliers - less their handling charge. Lesson learnt!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to turn on my Garmin 1490T and find ..., 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Mains Charger For Garmin nuvi 1490T (Electronics)
I wanted to turn on my Garmin 1490T and find places or create routes prior to leaving home without running down the battery in the unit. The 1490T would only power up in USB communication mode if using a USB cable to attach the unit to a power supply. This is due to the way the USB cable connections are arranged within the unit. The cable connections of this mains charger are wired so the 1490T will power up in normal navigation mode and will charge the battery while you are playing around with the SatNav.

I recently bought a Garmin 2699LMT and this mains charger will not work with it. When plugged into the 2699LMT a message comes on to screen saying that the battery cannot be charged with the cable, please use the cable supplied with the product. The battery symbol on the screen also changes to red. So while this mains charger will work with the 1490T and similar models it may not work with newer Garmins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 21 Mar. 2011
By 
Allan M. Gilmour (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Mains Charger For Garmin nuvi 1490T (Electronics)
What can be said about a Mains Charger for a satnav. It's robust, cost effective and does what it's supposed to do. With the Garmin nuvi 1490T the supply lead provided is thick and chunky so I prefer to charge the satnav from the mains which is usually good for 3 hours use. I'm not in a heavy traffic zone (Highlands of Scotland) so most times I don't use the traffic receiver built into the Garmin supply lead so this mains charger suits me perfectly. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mains Charger, 23 Mar. 2013
By 
Gman (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Mains Charger For Garmin nuvi 1490T (Electronics)
I have been considering buying a charger (for my Garmin) for some time but have never got around to it, then along came an e-mail from Amazon with this one. I found the price was the best of anybody's and decided it was too good to miss. within an hour it was attached to my Garmin and working. The results were excellent (for me) and so I was well pleased with the results and would recommend to anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 20 July 2011
By 
L. Richardson "bof" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Mains Charger For Garmin nuvi 1490T (Electronics)
Not only does it charge my Garmin Nuvi sat nav but also charges my MP4 player how good is that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as expected, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Mains Charger For Garmin nuvi 1490T (Electronics)
My Garmin Nuvi 1490 is not useable when connected to a standard USB charger or PC and I assumed that, as this one is advertised specifically for the Nuvi, that it would allow me to charge and program the unit at the same time. This is NOT the case and the charger is therefor no different to connecting the NUVI to your PC USB port. Money wasted for me .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Universal Mains Charger For Garmin nuvi 1490T
£3.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews