Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great electro album from a Rock/Latin Pop singer!
Shakira really masters electropop on this album, even though she is a Rock/Pop singer! The best songs on the album, in my opinion, is Men In This Town, Mon Amour, Gypsy, Good Stuff and Why Wait, all very different. The album takes a lot of influence from cultural music, which makes it break boundaries in a seductive way. She Wolf is not Shakira's best album, but...
Published on 12 Oct. 2009 by Ulla V. Pedersen

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Halfhearted effort from the Latina queen of pop
During the last decade, Shakira has gone from topping the South America charts to becoming a household name in the International music industry and sharing a place among the Britney's, Christina's, Jessica's, Madonna's, Beyoncè's and now upcoming stars as Ke$ha and Lady Gaga. Ironically, she dyed her hair blonde when she her first international album and with that...
Published on 26 Jun. 2010 by Dan-Fabian Parra


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great electro album from a Rock/Latin Pop singer!, 12 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: She Wolf (Audio CD)
Shakira really masters electropop on this album, even though she is a Rock/Pop singer! The best songs on the album, in my opinion, is Men In This Town, Mon Amour, Gypsy, Good Stuff and Why Wait, all very different. The album takes a lot of influence from cultural music, which makes it break boundaries in a seductive way. She Wolf is not Shakira's best album, but definetely a Shakira album!

Conclusion:
+ She Wolf is very cohesive, every song is different, but the songs all go together as one album.
+ The lyrics are smart, passionate and really catchy.
+ Every song is so catchy and brilliant, they could all be selected as singles.
- The album can feel a bit too short at times, only one song reaches four minutes.

So five stars, but close to four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Halfhearted effort from the Latina queen of pop, 26 Jun. 2010
This review is from: She Wolf (Audio CD)
During the last decade, Shakira has gone from topping the South America charts to becoming a household name in the International music industry and sharing a place among the Britney's, Christina's, Jessica's, Madonna's, Beyoncè's and now upcoming stars as Ke$ha and Lady Gaga. Ironically, she dyed her hair blonde when she her first international album and with that huge success, it was easy to put her in the same cathegory as Britney and Christina. But one of the things that has distinguished her from her female colleagues, is her actual genuine talent and her artistic originality. Apart from Britney and Christina, Shakira actually has the «it»-factor you got to have to stand out in the music industry.

But the «it»-factor isn't enough; you've got to have a distinctive voice and catchy songs, too. Fortunately, both components has always been Shakira's trademark, although, from an objective standpoint, she does the bad habit of muddling her songs in a mix of eclectic and exotic sounds, along with mixing rythms from ethnic folk music. And in this crazy music world where pale and generic electronic/dance music is the big thing, it seems to affect almost all of the international, female artists. And now, unfortunately, it also has affected Shakira.

It has been four years since her last album. As a fan, you always hope to see a positive result, although it's hard for a artis to surpass herself during many albums. So the question is, has Shakira outdone herself on her latest album? The answer is no - but still with a doubt.

«She Wolf» isn't a terrible album, but it does appear as muddled as a whole. Only a few songs does distinguish themselves; First out the main single «She Wolf», which I didn't cared for at first, but has grown on me. Next is the energetic and electronic «Men In This Sound», which melodically resembles one of her previous songs «Las de la Intuicion». The third one is the fast-paced «Mon Amour», which is influenced by some rock elements. «Gypsy» has also a sweet and catchy tune, although it's far from her most memorable song.

The rest of the album isn't much to brag about. None of the other songs are exactly bad, but they appear as cold, calculated and uninteresting. Once again, Shakira is mixing different sounds on her songs, but without making good and memorable melodies. Neither does Wyclef Jean increase the quality on their duet «Spy». But on the positive side, Shakira's English is better than ever, but is it really necessary to have her Spanish versions of her singles on the same album? Why doesn't she just release a Spanish album?

With that consideration aside, «She Wolf» (which is a strange, English formulatiosn) comes off as a mild dissapointment. Not exactly horrendous, but not exactly likeable at her previous albums. It would have been nice if she putted more spirit and heart into the whole album, instead of attempting at a half-calculated and polished album. Let's cross our fingers and let's hope that her next album will be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking bite, 2 May 2010
By 
Mr. TB Reeks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Wolf (Audio CD)
I suppose it had to be done sooner or later - Shakira signed up The Neptunes to produce her third English language album and together they make her first album where the beats take over the lyrical content.

Gone are the protest, social commentary and love songs that made her previous albums a joy to listen to, and instead we have an album where Shakira sings about for the first time about sex although in not such explicit terms.

"She Wolf" is also a record that is really made for dancing, packed with the occasional electronic beat ("She Wolf", "Men in This Town") and the more frequent reggaeton based sound, which as Brits, we aren't particularly used to. So fans of the lyrically poetic Shakira of old will find this a frustrating and difficult listen as the "old" Shakira songs on this record are few and far between.

Shakira herself has noted the dance influence was her intention for this album, and with the UK version of this album at just ten tracks long, the whole effort clocks up just over half an hour in listening time - when other world regions have Spanish versions of some tracks ("Did It Again" and "Long Time") or even better, another track ("Give It Up to Me").

Yes, it's very well executed (the Neptunes' production does sound fresh here), but it may take you a while to muster any kind of emotion towards it (if any) at all. I want to love this as much as I do her other albums, but unfortunately, "She Wolf" has not bitten me at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware - not all CD's have full 12 tracks, 13 Oct. 2009
This review is from: She Wolf (Audio CD)
I today received the new "She Wolf" CD from Shakira and anticipated to listening to the full 12 tracks as mentioned. Imagine my disappointment when I saw that the version provided by Amazon.co.uk, was not shrink-wrapped and only contained 10 tracks. The tracks missing are "Lo Hecho Está Hecho" and "Años Luz". I will be contacting Amazon.co.uk and making further inquiries about this. The 10 songs I could listen to were excellent and the 4 stars reflects the fact that 2 promoted album songs were missing on my version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Full Moon Becomes Her !, 12 Oct. 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: She Wolf (Audio CD)
Shakira has turned in a good set here.
Twelve tracks - short but sweet.

Her new-found interest in all things lycanthropic
is, of course, admirable (how could I not approve?!)
but on the opening (and title) track 'She Wolf' it
quickly becomes apparent that she is a little lacking
in the HOWL department. Should her minders and managers
wish to enlist my tuition skills I would happily make
myself available at her convenience. I am sure that with
just a bit of tweaking she could very quickly be confidently
howling heartily with the best of the pack !

The new album, despite its many writers and producers,
is a surprisingly coherent and consistent body of work.
The Neptunes have left their distinctive mark on half
the collection and the marriage is a happy one.

The open and fluid rhythmic textures of their arrangements
suit Ms Ripoll's warm warble eminently well.

The elegantly loping melody of 'Long Time' is a particularly
strong example of the addictively seductive formula.

'Why Wait', too, has a stonkingly simple but effective beat,
delivering diverse cultural influences with a deft touch.
It is a very, very fine composition and confidently well-sung.

The almost hokey sentiment of 'Gypsy' is really delightful!

'Lo Hecho Esta Hecho' and 'Anoz Luz' (both Neptunes' creations)
are for me the highlight of the album. The former frothy and
light as a feather, the latter a cracking minimalist stomp.

Unpretentious. Vibrant. Consumately executed.

Unmissable in fact !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - but only 10 tracks?, 15 Oct. 2009
By 
LivY (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She Wolf (Audio CD)
As a fan of Shakira, this long awaited album (both written and produced by herself) wasn't a dissapointment and I have it on repeat at the moment! Its definitely been influenced by other music - or should I say artists - around at the moment (dance/electronica, rn'b) but also incorporates Shakira's rock/pop/folk signature music style and the whole album comes together well as a whole. Its not one where less than half the tracks are great...most of them are which is a good reason for me to buy an album, although saying that it is also quite short with only 10 tracks (quality over quantity).

It appears Amazon has advertised the album as having 12 tracks. Mine, which I bought on Play slightly cheaper, has 10 :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 16 Feb. 2010
By 
Donal Rynne (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Wolf (Audio CD)
This is an outstanding CD, if you like Shakira you will love this, every song is excellent all the way through, you will find that you will be running this CD on a loop for a long time, the more times you hear it the more addicted you get
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shakira - She Wolf, 22 Nov. 2013
By 
"Bilgescraper" (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Wolf (Audio CD)
Although this album was released in 2009 I have only just added it to my collection, more out of curiosity than anything else, wondering why Shakira had waited four years to release new material!

When Colombian born Shakira first burst onto the scene a few years ago, I initially dismissed her as a serious artist [ believing her to be "yet another" here today gone tomorrow young female pop star who relied on skimpy stage outfits and erotic dancing to sell her music]. How wrong could I be for within months she had become the single greatest selling Spanish language artist pushing Jennifer Lopez from this rare and valuable pedestal. Yes, some of Shakira's music was raunchy, but her skills as both a song writer and performer were without question and her voice a true delight.

I was also skeptical when she released her first album in English but she truly brought the same vitality as her native tongue, but maybe with marginally less passion, and I was hooked!

She Wolf is Shakira's third album primarily in English and, for the first time, she employed the Neptunes to produce it for her.The result is both interesting and entertaining although all the tracks do not demonstrate the level of passion we have come to expect of Shakira. As a stand alone album She Wolf is probably not her best effort to date but for those who already have her earlier work [especially in Spanish] it does demonstrate her ability and range, albeit over ten tracks not the customary twelve.

In short She Wolf is a worthwhile addition to any Shakira fan's library but be prepared for some inevitable dance tracks and less passion when compared to her classic Laundry Service or Oral Fixation albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Predictably Unpredictable, A Brilliant Listen!, 10 Oct. 2009
This review is from: She Wolf (Audio CD)
I have all of Shakira's albums, being a big fan, and I loved the She Wolf single as soon as I heard it. I had high expectations of this album, and I was not let down. This is definately Shakira's most comfortable English album, and is the biggest change in direction for her. Most of the album consists of quirky electropop, like 'Men In This Town' which is an electro/rock stomper full of energy, and the upcoming single 'Did It Again'. But obviously this is Shakira, and when she writes songs of this genre, they aren't nearly as uninspired and monotonous as efforts by recent electropop bummers like La Roux and Little Boots. Songs like 'Why Wait' and 'Good Stuff' incorperate familiar Shaki-esque latin tinges, the latter having one of the sexiest synth/belly dance combos ever. Even the originally R&B 'Long Time' has developed a tribal drum beat and a brilliant surprise bridge that I won't spoil. 'Mon Amour' is my personal favourite, going back to her rock roots, and is insanely catchy. 'Spy' with Wyclef is another favourite, and is very retro disco, going hand in hand with the title single.
The album is very upbeat and danceable, the only real mellow moment here being 'Gypsy' which is a bit country. And still very good.
All in all a very good, consistent, high energy album. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 5 April 2011
This review is from: She Wolf (Audio CD)
I'm a huge shakira fan and i have to say that this is the cd i liked the least. Even though Gypsy is a good song. I just didn't find the sound i like. I listen to it once in a while but for me it's really not her best work. She tries new electro sounds. Anyway, she is talented and the songs are average ok but she can do much better, as we saw with her next album 'sale el sol' being just perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

She Wolf
She Wolf by Shakira (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews