Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant comeback of Prefab Sprout!
Having already written a positive review of this glowing album on its mp3 page here on Amazon, of course I need to review the actual CD album! Mp3s are okay, but nothing beats the real McCoy of a proper CD with music in high resolution!

Prefab Sprout's legendary album "Let's Change the World With Music" was first written and recorded in demo form back in...
Published on 26 Aug 2009 by Rivermoving

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Four things missing...
It's great to get a new LP from Prefab Sprout. It's even better to get one that is better than 'The Gunman' but it's not really a Prefab LP - it's a set of well produced Paddy McAloon demoes. Or at least, it might as well be.

Paddy's brilliant solo LP 'I Trawl The Megahertz' was one of the musical highlights of the past decade; strange, affecting and...
Published on 22 Sep 2009 by T. Hooper


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Yawning Caves of Blue hove into view..., 8 Sep 2009
By 
pyniero (kent, england) - See all my reviews
Sometimes an artist defines the periods in your life. You forgive the moments that don't quite hit the mark for the sheer heart breaking moments that do. After too long a wait here comes a set of songs that are tender, humane and with every listen leave one wanting even more the "lost" back catalogue of legend. Highlights are many but the sheer joy of Sweet Gospel Music is hard to beat, and Earth, The Story So Far just has you straining to catch the other tracks that might make up the supposed album of the same name. Yes one can quibble at the instrumentation; but there is something glorious in imagining these songs with a full orchestral setting.As the sleevenotes on Swoon suggested...it's past midnight and I'll just listen to the album once more before bed. Words (indeed) are trains for moving past what really has no name. The record company apparently balked at some of the religious imagery but that's always been an integral part of the songwriting it seems to me. If this is the last hurrah, thanks for the education, love and endeavour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lesson in perfect pop, 1 Oct 2009
By 
Robert Hirst "Bob H" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been a sprout fan since about 1990 when I first bought Jordan: The Comeback, followed swiftly by everything else they ever recorded, but my interest wavered for a while after the slightly disappointing Gunman album (though I've slowly come around to that one over the years). Let's Change the World With Music however, puts the Sprouts right back up there at the top for me.
The whole album is a joy from start to finish, with a collection of the most amazingly well crafted songs I have heard in a long while, and whilst there is a slightly sad tinge of 'what-if' about the whole thing (what if it had been recorded with the full band? what if it had come out when it was supposed to? what if Paddy hadn't been plagued by health problems over the years?), every time I listen to it I end up with a big smile on my face.
There really isn't a bad song on here - some are growers (eg Meet the New Mozart, Angel of Love), some are more immediate ( Music is a Princess), but it's all perfect. If this is the last thing we hear from Mr. McAloon then it's a wonderful swan-song, but I am sincerely hoping that this is just the beginning.
This is absolutely my album of the year - so thanks Paddy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward, looking back, 15 Sep 2009
The thing with having favourite bands is, they can let you down in so many many ways. But that's only because we expect so much from them. Will they still produce the sound you like ?. Why are they taking so long to release another album ?. Why don't we know everything that's going on in their lives ?. There are many questions that a fan needs answered....and it usually a waiting game and a world full of endless speculation.
And then, one day, if you're lucky, the day comes. You know, the one you thought probably wouldn't happen, but have spent years hoping would. Well for Prefab Sprout fans, that day has arrived. There are still questions, but for now the music is here.
This album, because of it's history, forces you to look at it in a different way. Can you go around telling your friends you've bought the " new " Prefab Sprout album, without also adding that it's a lost unreleased classic from 1993 ??. It's tricky. A bit like saying you've bought a new car, only to turn up in an L Reg Sierra !!!.
But, at the end of the day it comes down to music...and that looks after itself. There is no disappointment and there is nothing to worry about. It's fantastic. We're not " rocking out " or dancing here, this is an album about feeling and love. The feeling you get from music in your life and the love of music and life. That's it really. It makes you think and takes you to a different place...is it Heaven ??.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one cd in 2009 then MAKE IT THIS!, 7 Sep 2009
By 
M. J. Noon "Andromeda" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As if emerging from far too long a time in the desert, finally all of us thirsty Sprout fans are rewarded with a 'new' album from Paddy & the Sprouts & believe me it is well worth the 8 year toil. This is a truly fantastic CD with standout tracks like "Ride" & "Earth:the story so far".
Despite being 17 years old, this gorgeously sublime set of tracks is effectively Paddy's "Smile" and it stands proudly amongst former classics like "Steve McQueen", "Jordan" & "Andromeda Heights".
If you only buy 1 CD this year, I beg you, make it THIS one...Enjoy & let's change the world with music!
Let's hope Sony decide to release more gems from Prefab Sprout in their archives...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (Predictably) brilliant, 7 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. D. Lewis "D" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nothing really to add to rivermoving's review which pretty much covers my thoughts exactly....In a nutshell its a mandatory purchase to anyone with a passing interest in melody.
Its unbelievable that this has remained unreleased for 17 years plus from in my opinion one of the most gifted songwriters of our time. Thanks Paddy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful !, 3 Oct 2009
By 
Caroline Byrne ""Book Worm"" (Dublin - Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Considering we were never supposed to hear these songs... am so glad 'darlin' Paddy decided to release this disc. As a life long Prefab n Paddy fan am thrilled this is out. Just love the lyrics particularly on 'I Love the Music' track and 'Music is a
Princess' Rock on Paddy ... we're all behind ya....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return, but.., 25 Sep 2009
Any Prefab Sprout or should I say Paddy McAloon album is very welcome even
if it is a left over from 1993. All the things we love are here, dreamy vocals
well crafted songs and clever lyrics. As he alludes to in the notes, how the
other members are missed. Especially the Thomas Dolby production, with that
it could have been quite superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of touch? No! In command!, 13 Sep 2009
By 
Ian Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album contains some of the most heart-stoppingly beautiful songs that Paddy McAloon has ever composed. The man's ability to combine the perfect lyric with the perfect melody and harmony has long been obvious; but here he seems to go one further and add transcendence to the mix. As a result, listening to this album will shift your senses to another, better place: one where love, longing and litanies dance together, and where each sigh and - ahem - swoon of Paddy's voice makes you view the world with a bit more hope. The production gives the record a unique coherency: one of being both in and out of time, so on top of everything you've a hefty dose of nostalgia. Finally there's the 'theme' of the album: music itself. Only the soulless would fail to be moved by Paddy's sincere outpourings of faith in music's redemptive, spiritual potential. And only the artless would fail to concede that the very thing that Paddy celebrates is what he simultaneously demonstrates - with mind-spinning genius - on Let's Change The World With Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real "comeback"..., 12 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't listen to the detractors, claiming that this is just some awkward demo that rightly got refused by the record company back in the day. Judging by what's on offer here, he's still without competition. I'm not saying this lightly, especially after the underwhelming 'Andromeda Heights' and 'Gunman', but on the whole this may be the most personal and satisfying album McAloon has made yet. Many will disagree - some fellow Sprout fan feels these songs "simply aren't happening" without Dolby -, but for me there's something admirable and poignant in one man tackling the near-impossible task of recording a whole album of orchestral pop without (hardly) any outside help and coming up with something as elaborate as this. Besides, he's never sung better. That said, it's far from perfect - there's no Wendy Smith, the home studio production is somewhat clunky - though still superior to most current recordings -, some of the instrumental breaks where real instrumentation is attempted via synths are ridiculous and there's too little guitar and bass for a proper Sprout record, but I for one am glad the man didn't take the easy route and churn out an all-acoustic, Rick Rubin-style record to increase his credibility stakes. As for tunes and arrangements, most of it rivals and frequently surpasses 'Jordan'. 'The Last Of The Great Romantics', 'Music Is A Princess' and the bizarre 'Meet The New Mozart' are deeply personal and unusually self-deprecating, something which couldn't always be attributed to McAloon in the past. Even the third person narratives and numerous literary metaphors are clearly identifiable as coming straight from the author this time. There's no overall concept other than McAloon's love for music. At present, I can't get enough of 'Angel Of Love', which sounds like a sequel to 'Jordan''s 'One Of The Broken' but is way more convincing in terms of melody and structure. Perhaps it's too early to tell, but over time it may well turn into one of McAloon's signature songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prefab make the world better, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Aching, melancholy and uplifting; no it is not a good health check for the middle aged (something Paddy would no doubt die for) but a brief summary of this homage to music and love. A little goes a long way and this is especially true of this album each song is worth savoring for itself. It might seem capricious but this really seems like 1992 being channeled into 2009. And indeed this not a bad thing in its time it might be have been ignored but today it should be savored and enjoyed for what it is, a real cornucopia of tunes, ideas and inspiration. Don't download it, buy the CD hold it in your hands and for one last time remember the echo of holding precious albums from when we were all young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews