Customer Reviews


424 Reviews
5 star:
 (320)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply a great album
It's very rare that I find an album which leaves me completely bowled over on first listen, but Evanescence's "Fallen" is one such release. From the punkish rock of "Going Under" to the gothic-inspired "Whisper", this album never hits a bad note. Evanescence were promoted as a Christian band during their early days and those origins are clear on tracks like "Tourniquet",...
Published on 11 May 2003 by M. A. Jancey

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is reasonably good.
Evanescence are obviously a pretty talented band, the playing on this is decent, the vocals are among the best I've heard. Amy's voice seems to add to each of the songs, providing and epic sound to each track.
Unfortuanately, this effect is over used. Where the album falls down, is that there is too little variation between the songs, and most of it seems to be a...
Published on 7 Jun. 2004 by Ashley Sharp


‹ Previous | 1 2 343 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best band I've heard., 4 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
I heard of Evanescence through a friend and just on the merit of 'Bring me to Life' I bought the album. It is fantastic! The thing that makes their music so heart-rending and totally addictive is their sincerity. They obviously live their music and every single word is really meant. So many teen-angst and boy bands strive to do the same thing but fail because they don't mean what they're singing. Evanescence really mean it and this is what sets them well apart from the competition.
The songs are all so different it is hard to classify them as any particular genre of rock music but tracks like Whisper, Bring Me to Life and Going Under really bring it home that that's where their roots lie. My Immortal and Hello define the clear talent of Amy Lee and the vocals soar above beautiful piano melodies throughout the album. Personally my favourite track is 'Haunted' but 'My Last Breath' and 'Whisper' come close seconds and the album is so diverse that everyone I know has a different favourite.
All I can say is that this is the best CD in my collection and I can't stop listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gothic greatness from Arkansas, 3 Feb. 2004
By 
Jordan Booth (Keighley, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
This album not only has great tunes but it also has very toching and personal lyrics that will appeal to any average listner. The album opens with the Nu-Metal esque 'Going Under' a stomping track in it's own right, with it's fantastic vocals and loud guitars.
The second track 'Bring Me To life' is the most outstanding song on the album opening with beautiful and etheral vocals supported by a subtle piano. The second verse brings the guitar and the song really begins to encapsulate the listner with it's female versus rapping vocals.
This album gives a fair representation of what you would expect from an American rock band at the moment but it also shows signs that they are going to be able to reach above the crowd and take their music to the next level. This is shown in songs such as the beautiful piano ballads 'Imaginary', 'My Immortal' and 'Hello' and their Goth tunes 'Tourniquet' and 'Haunted'.
The album is completed in complete style with the unforgettable 'My Last Breath' and the magnificent and grandiose track that is 'Whisper'. The album shows a definete class which has been defined down to a fine art. The fact that the album is so accomplished and complete may put many listeners off, but that let that make you think that this is just churned out Nu-Metal dirge, because it is so much more than that.
Evanescence may well not be an absolute individual band but they try to give themselves an identification that no one will be able to take from them, and this album certainly proves this, unmentioned tracks 'Everybody's Fool' and 'Taking Over Me' are equally as brilliant and fantastic as the rest of the tracks on the album and show the power that the band can posses as it shows a diversity to the vocals and shows that they are able to progress from the normal Nu-Metal tag given to most American Heavy Metal bands in this day and age.
If your looking for a female fronted Metallica then this isn't it but if your looking for a band who play genuine music and really put their soul into the music and the lyrics then you have come to the right place. The beautiful and ethereal vocals of Amy Lee are supported in greatness by the Gothic tunes belted out by Ben Moody's soaring guitar. Evanescence have been dubbed the female fronted Linkin Park because of 'Bring Me To LIfe' but that isn't a fair representation of the whole album, the album consists of a mixture of beauty and heavy metal bringing the result of a dark and moving epic.
I recommend this album to opened minded people who are not going to get bogged down by the fact the album has been well produced and a an accomplished album, if this is you then don't buy it you won't like it, if your not so narrow minded then I advise it's purchase. AN ABSOLUTELY PHENOMENAL ALBUM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great voice, when's she going solo?, 21 April 2004
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
This excellent album has only one fault as far as I'm concerned - Amy Lee's voice is better than the band. Too many tracks are formulaic "power chord with chick wailing over them" work. Don't get me wrong - I LIKE power chords with chicks wailing over them (I bought the album having heard it, after all), it's just that too may of these start to sound a little the same after the fifteenth or twentieth listening! But it's only on two tracks that Amy gets to use her entire vocal range without sticking mainly to a power squeal. "My Immortal" is haunting and beautiful (and a few power chords at the end are welcome on the "Band Version" on my CD as a bonus track) and in "Hello" we hear Amy's effortlessly flexible voice used to its full advantage. My Last Breath and Tourniquet/Imaginary(Tourniquet segues into Imaginary) also stand out lyrically. 4/5 overall(5/5 for Amy's voice)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music with two grammy awards!, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
Fallen is the debut album by Evanescence and it received a grammy award for "bring me to life" and a grammy for best new artist.

Going Under - The first song on the album starts with a great opening and runs into great vocals which go great along with the guitars, drums and the piano. The chorus of the song could be slightly improved but is very good and creates a great sound from amy lee's voice with the perfectly played guitars and drums. The bridge of the song is great and the whole second half is just gret to listen to with a great guitar solo and the song is ended very well by the voice of amy lee and the guitars. (9/10)
Bring me to life - This song is the most succesful single by Evanescence receiving a grammy award for them and guest vocalist Paul McCoy. The song is started very well with well played piano by amy lee leading into her vocals before the other parts come into the song very well going very well with her vocals. Once you have got to the chorus the male vocls come in with the female and make a great song along with the guitars and drums. The bridge of the song is great and the male vocals are at their best in the second half on the song which is ended well with the male and female vocals and guitars. (9/10)

Everybody's fool - The song's opening is quite effective and make and leads into some good guitars and then great vocals performed by amy lee with great lyrics,vocals, guitars and drums througout the first halfof the song. The chorus does could use some improvement on the guitars but overall is a good chorus and the bridge is equally good nd the song's second half is not as good as the first but mostly very good and the song is ended with grea vocals and well played guitar's to create a good song throughout. (7/10)
My immortal - This song is a very soft song with only amy lee's soft and effective vocals in this song and her playing the piano very well throughout the song especially the chorus where the vocaks are great and you also her violin which along with the soft vocals and piano makes a great sound and great chorus. The lyrics in this song are some of the best on this album along with "Hello". The bridge of the song is perfectly performed and makes a great second half of the song which is great nd the song is ended very well with very soft vocals and piano whihc definately very improtant. (9/10)

Haunted - The intro is not the best but once the dark but effective vocals enter the song gets better especially once the guitars and drums enter to make a great sound and to create a great start to the song and the high standard is carried throughout most of the song especially with the guitars and the chorus is well performed although some improvment could be made to vocals but still good music with a great bridge to the song and a very well perfomed second half and the song is ended by very good vocals and exceptionally good guitars. (8/10)
Torniquet - The song is opened softly with no guitars or vocals but once you reach the guitars you are instenly impressed and the vocals are also good but some small improvment to made on them. The lyrics of the song are also very good and the vocals improve and go very well along with the guitars and drums especially in the second half but the chorus is also very good vocals but some improvment to be made to the drums. As you get to the second half of the song i was very impressed and i think that the bridge is also a the same good standard of that of the chorus and the song is ended perfectly with the very well performed guitars working very well into the softer part of the ending with makes a great violin openign to imaginary whihc is very smart. (7/10)

Imaginary - As the opening to the torniquet was violin's the high pichted viloins in this song make a perfect opening which leads into great guitars,drums and vocals which great better throughout the entire song. The first half is not as good as the second but the chrous of the song include's very well performed guitars which go very well with the drums and vocals to make a great song and great chorus and the bridge is also very well performed and the second half is also very good although some parts culd se some improvment on the vocals but the guitars in the second half, i have to say are exceptional and the song is ended on a very good point which makes a good ending to a good song. (6.5/10)
Hello - This song is very sad song as it is about amy lee's sister dying of an unknown disease and you can get that from the lyrics and vocals of the song and the fact that the instrument in song is piano which makes a good effect. The song is opened by very soft and effective piano to create a sad atmosphere and the vocals add to that as they are very soft and at the might oitch to sound quite sound, and the lyrics are great throughout the entire song. The chorus is also very well performed with only amy lee's vocals and the piano so it is a good part in the song creating the right effect and the bridge has the same effect the vocals are definately exceptional in this song and in my opinion it is one of the best songs on the album. Towards the end of the song the pitch and volume of the vocals uncrease but the effect is still good and the song is ended well and created the right effect with great piano at the end of the song. (10/10)

My last breath - This song is opened well but could be improved on the vocals which improve throughout the song especially once the vocals and drums enter and the one you get to the chorus the vocals are very good and so is the chorus. The bridge is better than the chorus although the chorus is very good and the bridge contains well performed guitars and very good vocals as you get into the second half of the song which is better than the first and the song is ended with the music fading out as it ends. In my opinion, the song is good but not the best. (6/10)

Whisper - This song is opened by very impressive guitars and drums and the vocals work very well with the guitars throughout the song although the vocals could have a slight improvement in the start of the song. The chorus of the song is very impressive and the guitars throughout the song are very impressive and same for the drums and vocals. As you get deaper into the song it gets a lot better and everything improves to create a great second half, great song a great music. The song is also ended very well and like "My last breeath" the music is faded out. (7/10)

The album is very impressive and shows off the whole bands talent and the range of things they can perform and they have acheived a lot with this album and proof of this is that they won tow grammy awads for this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 14 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
Evanescence has been, until recently, hiding in the shadows. They have three other albums, Evanescence EP, Sound Asleep/Whisper EP, and Origin. These albums were considered rough, and very few copies of the first two albums were made.
Fallen, however, is perfect. Amy Lee's voice is probably the most stunning voice you will ever hear, along with Miss Aguilera's in my opinion. Here are some reviews of each song on Fallen.
1. Going Under: A brilliant start to the album. The song goes straight into Amy's voice, with a guitar behind it. From what I remember, Going Under is about coming out of a bad relationship. This is the second single from the album.
2. Bring Me to Life: Way overplayed. The first single is one that should be remembered as Evanescence's rise to fame. Also used in the Daredevil soundtrack.
3. Everybody's Fool: A cool song, with brilliant lyrics. This song is the most recent single from Evanescence, and is about pop stars, and how they're plastic models.
4. My Immortal: Also overplayed. My Immortal is a beautiful piano ballad, which sounds better than the original one. If you have seen or heard My Immortal on the radio or the music channels, you will surprised to see there are no guitars. This is strictly a piano/strings piece (and vocals)
5. Haunted: True to its name, Haunted sounds haunting, and is probably one of the more gothic songs on the album. This is one of the best in my opinion. The guitars just make it Haunted
6. Tourniquet: Suicide written from a Christian's point of view. May creep a few people out with the lyrics 'I want to DIE!' But it's suicide. Again, Amy's voice makes this song bril!
7. Imaginary: Amazing lyrics. It's amazing how much this song has changed since it was first heard on Evanescence EP as a beautiful slow song. This starts from Tourniquet, and is simply beautiful. It sounds so dream like.
8. Taking Over Me: Starts with a piano, and is then joined by guitars. Taking Over Me is a song about love. The story is self-explanatory: the girl (I won't say Amy) is in love with someone, but they barely even notice her. Eventually, this person takes over the girl in her mind. Lovely.
9. Hello: Another piano ballad, Hello is a song about Amy's little sister. I won't go to into the story out of respect for Amy's family, but it is about death from a child's point of view. You must hear this. Amy's voice sounds haunting with the piano playing a sad tune behind her.
10. My Last Breath: How many good songs are there on this album? Plenty, but we're not talking about that. My Last Breath is, in my opinion, about death, and trying to talk to a loved one. Amy's voice makes this song amazing, as are the guitars. The lyrics are stunning. "I know you here me, I can taste it in your tears."
11 Whisper: My personal favourite, Whisper wastes no time in slamming into the guitars. I beat can always be heard. The Millennium Choir has been used in several occasions in this song, whether just humming, or singing the strong words of 'Servatis a Periculum, Servatis a Maleficum.' This translates into save us from danger, save us from evil. A must listen to.
I rate this album 100/100
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally original and stunning, 30 May 2003
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
First time I heard Evanescence was on the daredevil soundtrack, and I was impressed enough to buy this album. And I was not disappointed.
I'm sure everyone has heard the excellent (and slightly over played) 'Bring Me To Life' and the have heard the Linkin Park comparisons thrown around, and they do have a bit of a LP vibe going on with the rock rap inter play between Amy and Paul McCoy from 12 Stones. But be aware 'Bring Me To Life' is the only rock rap song on the whole album and Amy takes sole charge of singing duties on the rest of the album. This is by no means a bad thing though. But don't buy this album exspecting 11 songs all like 'Bring Me To Life', because that isn't what you get.
Evanescene really are a interesting band, they have the rare commodity of a female singer, and the lyrics are thought provoking and well written. As for the music they are very dark and gothic sounding, yet Amy's angelic vocals make the songs sound beautifully ambient at the same time. 'Fallen' seamlessly combines heavy guitar riffs, with pianos, strings and choral singing that give the music a haunting and epic feel. It sounds quite an odd combination, but it works fantastically well.
I bought this album pretty much exspecting a Linkin Park type band, but it turned out to be something very differnet and much better than i could of ever imagined. I have never heard anything like Evanescence before, they are totally original. It is a truly fantastic record with not a bad song on it. I recommend this to everyone, the songs are catchy enough to appeal to the main stream and there is also enough substance to the record for the songs to appeal to the rock crowd as well. The best album and best band I have heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm going to try and save you some money..., 26 Nov. 2003
By 
J. Pouteaux "Jules" (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
For all you Evanesescence fans out there, you all know how amazing Fallen is. It's complete, filled with emotion, great lyrics and wonderful guitars riffs. So the prospect of getting your hands on an album with an extra track will appeal.
However, this extra track is in fact 'Farther away'. In my opinion this song is one of the best they've penned (and is even better live, i promise you). But paying nearing £30 for a track is a bit steep. If you want the extra song, go and buy the single of 'Bring me to Life', which actually has 'Farther away', as it's b-side. That way you only spend £4, instead of £30!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown away, 18 May 2003
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
Originally sceptical of this album due to its 'Female Linkin Park' comparisons. A comparison which underwrites 'Fallen's qualities in my humble opinion!
This truly is a brilliant album, it has bag loads of variety, and Amy Lee (the vocalist) is definately a star of the future. Her voice is at times awe-inspiring.
Lush string arrangements, solid guitar riffs with catchy hooklines (just listen to the album's more rocky moments like Tourniquet, Going Under, Whisper, and the song from the Daredevil soundtrack - Bring me to life)
The album also has two very moving laid back tracks, which really serve to showcase Amy's voice, My Immortal possibly being the album's highest point.
This is an album that will appeal to many, not just the rock fans, or those riding the crest of the nu-metal wave. Fans of iconic women rock will also find a whole stash of treats in Fallen.
Definately contender for album of the year, for replay value alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two thumbs up!, 17 May 2006
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (North-Central Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
In 2003, Evanescence burst on the scene with their hit album Fallen. This album beautiful shows off Evanescence's fascinating sound, with its haunting vocals and instrumentation. Overall, I found this to be a great CD that is a lot of fun to listen to on my long drives to and from work. If you want some new music that is different than the normal stuff you hear dribbling out of your radio's speaker then get this CD. I give it two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of my favourites, 16 Feb. 2007
By 
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it first came out in the UK and it is STILL one of my favourites ever. I love every song on the album, there isn't one I can pick out and say I don't like. The variety is great, and the contrast between Amy's beautiful voice and the piano to the heavy metal riffs playing over her is almost haunting. I prefer the band version of My Immortal to the album version, just because I feel it conveys more emotion and builds up more (it's the version that makes me cry everytime as well!). The album altogether is just well put together. The lyrics are beautiful, the music is amazing and I just find it all really inspiring. My favourite songs include Bring Me To Life, Imaginary and Whisper. They're all fantastic though. A definite MUST BUY! You will never regret it, I still listen to this album a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 343 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fallen
Fallen by Evanescence (Audio CD - 2009)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 10 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews