Customer Reviews


343 Reviews
5 star:
 (268)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic.
Fight Club is a stunning and brilliant film about the mind-numbing meaninglessness that traps so many in our consumerist society. The unnamed central character, played by Edward Norton, is looking for a way to escape, and that's when he meets Tyler Durden (Brad Pitt) who, amongst other things, introduces him to the simple joys of fighting. Through the Fight Club they...
Published on 16 April 2006 by David Welsh

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality is superb, audio quality.. not so good.
Fight Club is one of my favourite movies. So of course, I had to get it on blu-ray. The picture quality was excellent! But the audio was extremely unbalanced. While the music and action noises could have blown the roof off, it was a struggle to hear what the actors were saying. I don't know why this is! I have seen similar instances with other movies but never as bad as...
Published 16 months ago by D.B.


‹ Previous | 132 33 34 35 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to think in a more critical way!, 14 Aug 2001
i was changed by this movie i did start to see and think like Nortons character... that life was in fact a sort of torure... So here's the famous qoute; The first rule of fight club is- you are not alive till you have seen and understood it... The second rule of fight club is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ???, 30 Nov 2009
By 
Amadou Ahnen "Amano" (Lux) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fight Club [Blu-ray] [1999] (Blu-ray)
Fantastic movie, one of my favourites! Can somebody tell me if this Blu-ray comes with any subtitles or other languages? By the way AMAZON you could put that kind of information in the product description, even if there are no subs or such things. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, but extras were dissapointing, 25 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Enough has been said about the film, by the way i think the film is excellant and that makes the 3 stars, but the other 2 are missing because the extras on the DVD werea let down.
The only good thing on it is the commentry through the film but even that isn`t as good as other DVD commentries. For example, interviews with edward norton and co are not in video but in written abtracts which just isnt the same.
I have no problems with the film, its in my top 10 films - so go out and buy a VHS version as the DVD isn`t worth the extra money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok here's the deal....., 10 Jan 2013
This review is from: Fight Club [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
..... its good but have you ever heard of apocalypse now? it's a really good film and i think you would like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good kickboxing film, 31 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Fight Club [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Ken Horton (Edward Norton) is a down on his luck baseball player who escapes the boredom of his daily life by forming a club where men and women pay to watch each other fight to the death. Pulling the strings behind the scenes is Tyler Jones (a career best from Christpher Lee); a mysterious man who also runs an aromatherapy clinic.

Ken slowly finds his life revolving around Fight Club and he gives up his job to work for Tyler.

This is definitely a film of two halves. The 1st half is actually pretty interesting, as we gain an insight into the twisted mind of Ken and the murky world that Tyler presents to him. The 2nd half gives way to a 'Kickboxer' clone film, where Ken and Tyler train for Fight Club. Several scenes have clearly just been lifted from other films like Rocky, as Christopher Lee and Edward Norton run down the beach and then punch frozen bags of vegetables hanging from string. Some people may also be surprised at the amount of full-frontal male nudity on display here., with Edward Norton naked in around 70% of his scenes. There is also the issue of stunt doubles, with Lee being 'represented' by a 7ft blond Swedish man in most of his scenes.

Overall in would recommend this film to most people, especially those who like films which arent afraid to show blood, because my guess is that nearly half of all the footage in Fight Club has some blood in it. And that is definitely a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars overrated, 30 Oct 2010
By 
P. J. Beaver (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fight Club [Blu-ray] [1999] (Blu-ray)
I find this film very nihilistic and immature despite the apparent attempt to say something of meaning. It certainly has moments on humour, and it's also quite original. But those qualities don't make up for the major weakness, which i feel is the apparent attempt to say something profound, and the failure to pull this off in any substantive way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you're dense, this film can make you feel clever., 19 Feb 2001
By A Customer
If you want to see a movie that tells the same message more poignantly without the beating-you-over-the-head lack of subtlty, see American Psycho (its much wittier, too).
The perplexing popularity of this movie just proves to me that a lot of young men out there haven't exposed themselves to the tremendous body of truly classic films out there. I guess one redeeming quality of Fight Club is that fans of it might start watching less Hollywood clap-trap....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not even correct film, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fight Club [Blu-ray] [1999] (Blu-ray)
I recieved what looked like a brand new copy of fight club, put the film in and it was never been kissed on the disc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potential film undermines itself with "bout" of Twister, 26 Dec 2002
First impressions count, they last, and I think they explain the overwhelmingly positive reactions of the Amazon readership to this film. The first hour of Fight Club is truly, exquisitely, brilliant: patiently (if acidly) observed, witty and deadpan, and the punches it lands - good, solid punches - are of the purely figurative kind. The first hour is nothing like what I was expecting (well, there's no fighting, for a start), so much so that I had to check I actually had the right film. But it was so good, so clever, and so funny that I really didn't mind whether I did or not.
So, on the strength of that, sans doubte, five stars: Norton is beautifully understated as the nameless narrator, Helena Bonham-Carter reveals the burned out sex-kitten side of herself that previously I could only fantasise existed, and Brad Pitt, always arch and aware, is as charismatic and magnetic as anyone I've seen on screen. Because he's so cool you tend to overlook the fact that he's an extraordinary actor as well.
But doubts began creeping into my mind the minute the first punch was thrown. They took a while to solidify - the game could have gone any one of a number of ways; the violence stayed intermittent and along with the punches there were some interesting (if, er, heavy handed) consumerism vs. individualism arguments getting thrown about, and there seemed to be a Brad Pitt as Jesus thread gathering pace, but suddenly everything went terribly wrong, the narrative ceased making any sense, and this clever, articulate and stylish film devolved into an ultra-violent, but otherwise pretty run-of-the-mill high-octane action movie.
What happened? Well, put some of it down to Curse Of The Twist. This is a phenomenon which really only started in earnest with the Crying Game, where the twist made the film; was followed (cleverly) by the Sixth Sense and (laboriously) by the Usual Suspects, and now seems to be obligatory way of finishing off a film where what seemed a great idea when it started turned out not to be (see for example the Shawshank Redemption, Signs, and A Beautiful Mind). Problem here is that the twist completely undoes all the good work done in the first hour of the film. A picture that was making some clever points in a pretty palatable way all of a sudden just doesn't any more. And all of a sudden there are lots of guns and lots of punching. Great.
And I'm not sure the twist even works (I'd have to watch it again, and to be honest I can't be bothered): the point of a twist is to give you a set of facts and imply that they should be interpreted in a certain way, and then to reveal the critical piece of information which reveals that everything must actually be viewed another way. I have a sense that some of the facts from the first half don't square with the revised scenario.
This was all immensely disappointing, because this could have been a great film - I still think the first 60 minutes is a great film, but I guess if they had stopped there then, on account of the lack of fighting, they couldn't have called it "Fight Club".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst filme ever!, 31 May 2013
By 
Nuno Borges "xbox real matrix" (Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fight Club [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Not that I don't understand the story, it's quiet obvious, but the filme is horrible, depressing, and very boring. I had to find some motivation I don't know were to watch the movie until the end.
The story line could be interesting if I would not have to stand for such boring repetitive scenes all the time.
Edward Norton is a great actor, but Brad Pitt still need to climb a lot to at least be a mile distance from Norton.
I will definately give my dvd to someone or put it in the garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 132 33 34 35 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fight Club [Blu-ray] [1999]
Fight Club [Blu-ray] [1999] by David Fincher (Blu-ray - 2009)
£5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews