Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars37
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 September 2009
Nobody in their right mind should be able to say one
good word about Michael Bolton, so (clearly out of my
own mind) I will attempt to do so.

To be honest it's not too difficult to raise more than a few good
words with regard to Mr Bolton's new album 'One World, One Love'.

Cheesy...yes of course! Middle-of-the-road...you betcha!
Predictable...Hackneyed...Cliched...Certainly!

(BUT)

It's good. Very, very good truth-be-told.

Consummately executed middle-aged, middle-brow pop of the finest pedigree.

Let's start with 'Hope It's Too Late'. Mr Bolton sings like a man twenty years
younger than reality might hold to be true. It's a good voice (It always was)
and here it really shines. Strong, expressive and perfectly focussed.

'Ready For You' and 'Can You Feel Me' are both light and breezy numbers
full of caribbean light and rhythm. Easily digestible lovely summery stuff.

Bolton gives good ballad. 'The Best' doesn't get much better.
A tad too much vocoder (a man of his age should have learned from Cher's mistakes!)
but a pretty song, prettily sung none-the-less.

Are you still with me here ?

How about 'Murder My Heart' - a duet with none other than Lady GaGa ?
The most unlikely of pairings but it works. It really, really shouldn't but it does.
(An image of them coupling wildly on a catwalk covered in MTV-scenario fake blood
momentarily comes to mind but is necessarily dismissed for the sake of good taste).

'You Comfort Me' is as middle-of-the-road as MOR could possible get. Delicious !

'Invisible Tattoo' has some of the dumbest lyrics you are likely to hear this year
but our hero manages to overcome the incipient bathos and deliver a credible
and creditable performance. No mean feat with this turkey of a song !

More vocoder (enough already!) on 'Survivor' and a dismally puerile chorus but still
that fine voice manages to struggle through manfully and almost meaningfully.

Final track 'Crazy Love' is a perfectly simple and soulful R&B composition beautifully delivered.

The guy can sing for heaven's sake !

A guilty pleasure of an album.

Share the sin if you dare !

Recommended.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2009
This is Michael Bolton's first album of original material since 2002 and it's a winner ! Full of memorable, fresh, hook-ladden, uptempo songs, it features successful collaborations between Michael and young hitmakers such as : Lady GaGa, Ne Yo, Red One, The Jam, Kara Dioguardi (of American Idol fame), Ryan Tedder of One Republic ("Bleeding Love", for Leona Lewis, "Halo" for Beyonce)... The album features 10 new original songs and two covers, one of Michael's forte : "ign Your Name" (Terence Trent D'Arby) and "Crazy Love" (Van Morrison). Michael Bolton's voice is still as powerful and high-pitched than in his hit-bound 90's peak, but he has gained nuance and maturity in his interpretations. First single "Just One LOve" is currently play-listed on BBC2 list A and "Murder My Heart", the track co-written and featuring Lady GaGa on backing vocals has been making the buzz all over the internet. Pop albums rarely get as good as this one. I personnally enjoyed it more than anything in 2009 !
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2009
Michael Bolton, is an enigma, years in the wilderness, nothing really said about him and then this album. Song after song full of fire, passion, strength and of course that voice unmistakeably Bolton. No disappointments, no reservations. Nothing in life is perfect and you can never please everyone but in this album, Bolton delivers 9/10 and at times after you listen to it three or four times with the lights low and in the dark, you can reach 9.9/10 really impressed. Buy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2009
Michael has had many a critic regarding his image when in actual fact people should be listening to his lyrics, not many artists these days can string together words with such EMOTION.
Having been a michael bolton fan for many years i was thrilled to hear he was bringing a new album out.
I have to say this is michael back to his best, i found the music to be a variant of tunes all with there own emotion written into the song, there are too many good songs to choose from and being 34 i thought he had really bought his music to the style of current rnb artists.
I highly recommend this if you are a fan of michael bolton but urge those who are not to just give it a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
I've been a fan of Mr Bolton since the late '80s and early '90s - he has an incredible voice which, takes you in, when you let it!

This album, I feel, is his attempt at modernising his music to enable a younger generation to appreciate it, perhaps? With some slightly up-tempo beats and a mix of almost R'n'B tunes, it makes it feel quite 'Summery!'

If you're a fan, give it a try - even if you're not, it's worth a listen to, so give it a go!
The only drawback I would complain about is that the album length is too short..,less than 44minutes! :-(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2009
'One world, One love' is a collaboration of songs co written with other vibe positive modern musicians such as Ne-Yo and Lady Ga Ga.
These two very talented and younger, modern, chart topping musicians, combined with Michaels unique and very sensuous and astounding singing voice and his natural aptitude for composing, winning lyric combinations, will guarantee an album of epic sell out proportions.
I guarantee that you will not be disapointed with the quality of the songs and having heard two of them, I give you my word this album will be an enormous hit with both the older fans of Michael and younger fans of Lady Ga Ga and Ne-Yo.
Go on, buy the album and help in being responsible for Michael Boltons next Grammy award!!
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2009
A beautiful piece of work, including many songs that are written by him with his voice sounding better than ever. I think it is also a new direction for this great artist, more uptempo and rock oriented and with a positive message. The song 'Just one love' feels like one of those WONDERFUL melodic rock songs Michael did in his AOR time and I highly recommend it to those who like this kind of music. Definitely a highly recommended cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2010
Having thought Michael Boltons 'When I'm back on my feet again' would his best ever, he has produced the goods in this album, to make his music in the same calibre as his earlier songs. 'Murder My Heart', 'The Best' and 'You Comfort Me' steal the show, but are followed by good songs such as 'Ready For You' and 'Just One Love'. Overall, a fantastic album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2009
This album is fantastic; his best to date. I love Michael Bolton's voice and admire his versatility. Every track is a winner, particularly the duet with Lady Gaga and "The Best" with Ne-Yo. The more I have played it, the better it gets. The quality of the sound of every track is superb and there isn't a weak track on the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2009
After all the summer festival bands i'd thought i try something different to listen too, two thumbs up for this excellent album, it's like coming home on a Monday
night and the BBC have decided to show a movie at six o'clock instaed of the news, what a refreshing change!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)