Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Bolton Come Back Album !!!
This is Michael Bolton's first album of original material since 2002 and it's a winner ! Full of memorable, fresh, hook-ladden, uptempo songs, it features successful collaborations between Michael and young hitmakers such as : Lady GaGa, Ne Yo, Red One, The Jam, Kara Dioguardi (of American Idol fame), Ryan Tedder of One Republic ("Bleeding Love", for Leona Lewis, "Halo"...
Published on 9 Sep 2009 by Matthieu

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars cd
I was a little disappointed in the dvd, Michael B|olton has a great voice so i was expecting it to be great. Its still nice to listen to though if you like his voice.
Published 16 months ago by Mrs. C. A. Goodyear


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Bolton Come Back Album !!!, 9 Sep 2009
By 
Matthieu (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One World, One Love (Audio CD)
This is Michael Bolton's first album of original material since 2002 and it's a winner ! Full of memorable, fresh, hook-ladden, uptempo songs, it features successful collaborations between Michael and young hitmakers such as : Lady GaGa, Ne Yo, Red One, The Jam, Kara Dioguardi (of American Idol fame), Ryan Tedder of One Republic ("Bleeding Love", for Leona Lewis, "Halo" for Beyonce)... The album features 10 new original songs and two covers, one of Michael's forte : "ign Your Name" (Terence Trent D'Arby) and "Crazy Love" (Van Morrison). Michael Bolton's voice is still as powerful and high-pitched than in his hit-bound 90's peak, but he has gained nuance and maturity in his interpretations. First single "Just One LOve" is currently play-listed on BBC2 list A and "Murder My Heart", the track co-written and featuring Lady GaGa on backing vocals has been making the buzz all over the internet. Pop albums rarely get as good as this one. I personnally enjoyed it more than anything in 2009 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No ! No ! No ! (erm...well...Yes..Actually !), 25 Sep 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One World, One Love (Audio CD)
Nobody in their right mind should be able to say one
good word about Michael Bolton, so (clearly out of my
own mind) I will attempt to do so.

To be honest it's not too difficult to raise more than a few good
words with regard to Mr Bolton's new album 'One World, One Love'.

Cheesy...yes of course! Middle-of-the-road...you betcha!
Predictable...Hackneyed...Cliched...Certainly!

(BUT)

It's good. Very, very good truth-be-told.

Consummately executed middle-aged, middle-brow pop of the finest pedigree.

Let's start with 'Hope It's Too Late'. Mr Bolton sings like a man twenty years
younger than reality might hold to be true. It's a good voice (It always was)
and here it really shines. Strong, expressive and perfectly focussed.

'Ready For You' and 'Can You Feel Me' are both light and breezy numbers
full of caribbean light and rhythm. Easily digestible lovely summery stuff.

Bolton gives good ballad. 'The Best' doesn't get much better.
A tad too much vocoder (a man of his age should have learned from Cher's mistakes!)
but a pretty song, prettily sung none-the-less.

Are you still with me here ?

How about 'Murder My Heart' - a duet with none other than Lady GaGa ?
The most unlikely of pairings but it works. It really, really shouldn't but it does.
(An image of them coupling wildly on a catwalk covered in MTV-scenario fake blood
momentarily comes to mind but is necessarily dismissed for the sake of good taste).

'You Comfort Me' is as middle-of-the-road as MOR could possible get. Delicious !

'Invisible Tattoo' has some of the dumbest lyrics you are likely to hear this year
but our hero manages to overcome the incipient bathos and deliver a credible
and creditable performance. No mean feat with this turkey of a song !

More vocoder (enough already!) on 'Survivor' and a dismally puerile chorus but still
that fine voice manages to struggle through manfully and almost meaningfully.

Final track 'Crazy Love' is a perfectly simple and soulful R&B composition beautifully delivered.

The guy can sing for heaven's sake !

A guilty pleasure of an album.

Share the sin if you dare !

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bolton the brave, 14 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: One World, One Love (Audio CD)
Michael Bolton, is an enigma, years in the wilderness, nothing really said about him and then this album. Song after song full of fire, passion, strength and of course that voice unmistakeably Bolton. No disappointments, no reservations. Nothing in life is perfect and you can never please everyone but in this album, Bolton delivers 9/10 and at times after you listen to it three or four times with the lights low and in the dark, you can reach 9.9/10 really impressed. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is going to be the best Michael album of all time!!, 14 Aug 2009
By 
Jennifer F. Steadman "pookspoons" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One World, One Love (Audio CD)
'One world, One love' is a collaboration of songs co written with other vibe positive modern musicians such as Ne-Yo and Lady Ga Ga.
These two very talented and younger, modern, chart topping musicians, combined with Michaels unique and very sensuous and astounding singing voice and his natural aptitude for composing, winning lyric combinations, will guarantee an album of epic sell out proportions.
I guarantee that you will not be disapointed with the quality of the songs and having heard two of them, I give you my word this album will be an enormous hit with both the older fans of Michael and younger fans of Lady Ga Ga and Ne-Yo.
Go on, buy the album and help in being responsible for Michael Boltons next Grammy award!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One World, one love, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Christabel J. Cowley (HEREFORDSHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One World, One Love (Audio CD)
Being a Michael Bolton fan I love anything he does so cannot fault any of his albums. I think most folk would enjoy his albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly Michael Bolton!!!!, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One World, One Love (Audio CD)
It might differ from his normal type of song but it clearly great choices from him. It is absolutely super.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always a pleasure to listen to, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One World, One Love (Audio CD)
Its very rare for Michael Bolton to produce a CD that isnt very listenable and this is a pleasure .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One World, One Love - Michael Bolton, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One World, One Love (Audio CD)
If a Michael Bolton fan a must CD to add to the collection and even if not a fan but like listening too this one is more than agreeable for it gives a wide variety of styles of music within the one CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One world one love, 20 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One World, One Love (Audio CD)
A good CD from Michael Bolton but not as good as some of his early music.A good bargain and very good service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 15 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Patricia Caddell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One World, One Love (Audio CD)
Really Really good Would recommend your service and prices to anyone of my friends The service was very good from you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One World, One Love
One World, One Love by Michael Bolton (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews