Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Selection of Acid Tunes
I think this album is brilliant, a really good selection of tunes from the genre.
Published on 23 Oct 2009 by Vicky D

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mp3 downloads are poor quality
You can judge the tracks for yourself, and to be fair there are loads of classics for your money.
However, I've found the mp3 version of the album to be at low volume and sounds far worse that other mp3s on my mobile phone (sound a bit better on laptop). Maybe some/all tracks had to be mastered from vinyl but bass enhancement is essential there's a loss of detail.
Published on 18 Jun 2010 by Matthew King


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Selection of Acid Tunes, 23 Oct 2009
This review is from: Hacienda Acid House Classics (Audio CD)
I think this album is brilliant, a really good selection of tunes from the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mp3 downloads are poor quality, 18 Jun 2010
By 
Matthew King (Harrow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You can judge the tracks for yourself, and to be fair there are loads of classics for your money.
However, I've found the mp3 version of the album to be at low volume and sounds far worse that other mp3s on my mobile phone (sound a bit better on laptop). Maybe some/all tracks had to be mastered from vinyl but bass enhancement is essential there's a loss of detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smiley face again, 4 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Hacienda Acid House Classics (Audio CD)
I have bought a number of old tunes and remixes over the past ten years with the hope of trying to recreate just a hint of the atnmosphere and euphoria of the time.

I have to say this is one of the rare few that have hit the spot. Peter Hook's genuine experience of the time gives it real credibility and injects a bag of fun into the music. This is not one of those mixes that uses newer; over produced versions of the tracks or slips in a later re-mix here and there. On top of this, the occasional 'live' track brings home the atmosphere of the time and only adds to the tune.

One for the car this one. On your own, no shame, just a big smiley face
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential themes of ACID HOUSE! Brilliant remixed, 25 Aug 2010
This review is from: Hacienda Acid House Classics (Audio CD)
Hacienda Acid House Classics, compiled & mixed by New Order, Joy Division's and The Hacienda's Peter Hook. This personal compilation of Hook's favourite Hacienda tunes is the ultimate collection of Acid House classics, culled from the much-venerated, late Eighties Acid House daze.

Hacienda Acid House Classics presents a selection of tracks handpicked and mixed by Hooky to portray the definitive sound of Acid House and The Hacienda. Spread over two CDs, this album collates many of the biggest Acid House moments from this time.

Highlights across the album include a new unreleased remix of "THE" Mancunian anthem Voodoo Ray (A Guy Called Gerald), Baby Wants To Ride (Jamie Principle), Washing Machine (Mr Fingers) This Is Acid (Maurice), Acid Tracks (Phuture), True Dub (New Order), Acid Rain (Victor Romeo), Jesus Loves The Acid (Ecstasy Club), and Lack Of Love (Charles B & Adonis). Hooky has also selected later acid house trax such as Higher State Of Consciousness (Josh Wink) and Acperience 1 (Hardfloor) and includes two unreleased tracks of his own, Ways Of Making Music and We're On It (both under the name of Manray).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking Cash-In., 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hacienda Acid House Classics (Audio CD)
Both CD's start with a cringe-making Madchester medley aka Jive Bunny.

It is the law that Voodoo Ray is on such collections. Peter Hook couldn't hold back and shot his bolt on Track 02. Shame it's not the original.

Elsewhere there are some classic tracks here, but it's a shame they couldn't be allowed to stand alone. The mixing is clumpy and ham-handed and the tracks are badly ordered. Alarm bells should have rang when I noticed that Hook was mixing. Cash saved at the expense of quality.

Just for the record I was a regular at the Hacienda and I can't remember Higher State of Consciousness being played once. Other tracks here can not be classed as Acid House either. I've been done!

This collection is eBay bound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Acid House Classics, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Top album. A good mix of acid house classics. A lot better than other 'classics' albums out there. Buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average., 6 Oct 2009
By 
D. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hacienda Acid House Classics (Audio CD)
OK, so I have to admit that I'm a huge fan of acid house and so this bargain priced 2 CD set of tunes looked worth a punt.

It's mixed by Peter Hook by the way, and as with the other "Hacienda Classics" CD features some talking over the start and end of each CD. Why on earth Mr Hook (if that's whose voice it is) feels that they're SO important as to do this is beyond me. More than a little egotistical if you ask me. And utterly pointless - I can't imagine anyone buying this CD hasn't heard of the Hacienda....

Anyway, once past the daft intro voice over, here comes the music.

Overall production seems good, the CDs sound crisp and punchy and the mixing is, in the main good. There are couple of odd transitions though - obviously Mr Hook fancies himself as a bit of a DJ.

The music is good though - nice to hear some old tracks. Yes, "Higher State" is a bit of a classic too, but for me it's been played to death and jars with the early acid tracks here.

There are better acid house compilations out there, but this is an OK compilation at a decent price....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hacienda Acid House Classics
Hacienda Acid House Classics by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews