Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally
20 years after "Live in Europe" EMI finally releases another live album by Tina Turner. This woman has always been more a live entertainer than a recording artist and there is no better way to experience Tina Turner than LIVE!
It is no wonder that she has sold more concert tickets than any other female artist and her 50th anniversary tour was next to Madonna's tour...
Published on 18 Sep 2009 by TT

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work in the cold, pointless.
The set up process to work on automatic is to complex, and does not start up in the cold wether.
Published 11 months ago by Mr J M Kench


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, 18 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Tina Live [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
20 years after "Live in Europe" EMI finally releases another live album by Tina Turner. This woman has always been more a live entertainer than a recording artist and there is no better way to experience Tina Turner than LIVE!
It is no wonder that she has sold more concert tickets than any other female artist and her 50th anniversary tour was next to Madonna's tour the most succesful of 2008-2009.
This CD was recorded live in The Netherlands and includes most of her greatest hits. Some songs have been excluded on the single disc CD but the complete show has been added in the package on DVD including the performances of her special guests "The Ninjas". The DVD is directed by award winning director David Mallet who has directed almost all of her live concert videos. Let's hope this concert will be released on Blu Ray soon as it was shot in HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tina Live DVD, 27 Aug 2009
By 
H. Kautiainen (Turku, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tina Live [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
As i saw Tina twice on the tour, all i can say is WOW. Tina made a comeback to remembered, almost at age of 70 she shows the world that she is still in good shape. Many of the shows from that Tina Turner 50th Anniversary world tour was sold out. She started the show with the Steamy Windows and ended with ballad "Be Tender With me baby". Tina is deserved more than this dvd, this is a must to everyone who like Tina and her music.
Tina is simply the best, the Queen of Rock.

This dvd was filmed from Arnhem Netherlands in may 2009
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tina Live! 2009, 28 Sep 2009
This review is from: Tina Live [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
If you are a tina fan you NEED to get this package its fantastic. i went to see her in concert in march she was brilliant. even if you're not a fan shes worth seeing and hearing live, shes got the stage presence, the voice and the best stage show to go along with it, along with the many hits shes given us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for Tina but 0 for the director, 12 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Paul J. Wyatt (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tina Live [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Amazing value for money. Was lucky enough to see the show live on the last night of the tour in Sheffield and was blown away. Never the biggest Tina fan, I went to see a living legend on (hopefully not) her final tour. They really don't make talent like this any more. Never before have I seen (and I've seen LOADS of shows) someone command attention so easily and her voice has to be heard live to appreciate it. I shouldn't really mention her age as it sounds patronising but the energy this woman has for someone almost 70 is incredible. The scale of the show is awesome, the effects etc but at the heart of it is Tina and her voice and energy. Absolutely unforgettable. If you're unsure, you won't be disappointed. This isn't a cash in comeback tour like other people do, this is clearly something that Tina lives for.

Having said all of that, the dvd is slightly disappointing in that for some unknown reason the director/editor seems to be obsessed by the female dancers and cuts to them at every opportunity even when Tina's on stage and when she is the one we are paying to see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 30 Sep 2009
By 
P. Turner (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tina Live [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
What amazing value - Tina live on both DVD and CD, and what a professional presentation, as the quality of the camera and sound couldn't be bettered.

As for Tina's performance: this is the real meaning of a STAR. She holds the audience and the viewer in the palms of her hands whilst belting out hit after hit. I don't write many reviews but had to state that this DVD + CD deserves to be in everyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited return of the Queen of Rock!!, 14 Dec 2009
By 
M. R. Doyle "kiwimusic fan" (Wellington, NZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are few female performers who can match Tina Turners talent, energy, experience on stage, you name it she's got it. And it's pretty much all here on this CD/DVD, celebrating her 50 years in the business and it's absolutely brilliant, the stage show is spectacular, dancers, ninja performers, great musiciens, pryotechnics, huge screens everywhere and of course great music. The CD is pretty much a hit parade a condensed version of the DVD and there is no let down here with each song a gem, just crank up the volume and start dancing it's got great energy!! The DVD is the same story but with plenty of other classics (the version of "Help" for example), which will leave you breathless, her voice above all else is a testament in time, it just gets better, and to look like that at 70!!! i can understand why so many women look to her as a role model, to consider what she's gone through in her life and to come out producing music and performances like this is an incredible achievement. I just hope that she continues, as there's few performers who can do what she does, please don't stop Tina! Finally for anyone who is a fan of Tina Turner and even if you have the other DVDs of other concerts, and yes you'll find lots of tracks that you've heard plenty of times before but with every performance there's something different, and this is special. Just get it and long live Tina Turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If I could give this 6 stars I would!, 28 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tina Live [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
A truly astonishing performance, with Tina in great voice and having a ball working the crowd. Her vocals are astounding and if anything have improved with age. This is quite remarkable when her rock and roll peers, Daltrey, Plant, Jagger are all struggling to do what they did vocally a couple of decades or more ago. The only downside to the concert as presented on the DVD are some of the set piece theatrical interludes. It's plain that they are necessary to help pace the show, allow for costume changes and let Tina catch her breath for a few minutes. However some of them are overlong and a bit tiresome. Special mention should be made of John Miles who played some great guitar parts and who shone in a very tight backing band. It's a pity that Tina hasn't performed his classic hit 'Music', as it could make a great feature in her show. As with all great performances, this CD/DVD leaves you wanting more and so fingers crossed that Tina decides to record some new material and keep performing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good combination of CD and DVD, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Ryan "R.McC" (Northern Ireland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tina Live [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
This product was a great gift for my family member. She really enjoys watching and listening to this and it has successfully reignited her love for tina turner. Would recommend this to anyone who likes tina turner or used to like her because this product is really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. S. A. Waudby (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tina Live [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
If you're a Tina fan you'll love this. It's equally as good as the Rio concert a few years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a phenomenon of nature, 29 April 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tina Live [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Tina Turner is a phenomenon of the music world and has been for 50 years, and it is incredible the way she can perform with such galvanising energy and elation. Her talent and beauty remain undimmed, the voice cuts straight through to the emotions, those legs are still the best, and she has a wonderful sense of self-parody as well as doing it for real. This concert is a thrilling roller-coaster ride right from the pounding start of Steamy Windows, with Tina atop a postage stamp-sized platform gradually lowering to stage level as she stands there poised for action, all knowing looks and ironic vamping, the rhythm coursing through her even though she hardly moves ... I heard Tina in Stuttgart in 1987 when she was already considered to be amazing for a woman nearing fifty, but now she defies belief - you don't even have to make allowances for her age, which is the most extraordinary thing. The DVD tends to cut away to the backing singers a bit too much for my liking, as I like to see what Tina does when she's not singing ... the dancers are fantastic but Tina's something else. The CD is also brilliant: far more than just an extra, it catches the thrill and raw, almost savage edge of Tina's delivery as if you are in the white hot heart of the matter. She can only be quite this wild in concert, and she has lost none of the fire she had at 25. The sound has the edge over the DVD, at least on my equipment, and the thrill factor simply goes off the scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tina Live [CD + DVD]
Tina Live [CD + DVD] by Tina Turner (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews