Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Xtreme Audio Silver USB Internet Radio Player and Recorder
This internet radio player and recorder is a useful gadget that enables you to listen to internet radio on your computer. Essentially what the player does is to provide an interface listing stations by geographical location or genre. You click on the station name, and after a minute or so you are connected. You can of course do this yourself by searching for station...
Published on 29 Dec 2009 by M. Truman

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars works now and then
can't rely on it to record when you want - and it turns itself off at random -
but for the price what can you expect -
Published 10 months ago by H N Fletcher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Xtreme Audio Silver USB Internet Radio Player and Recorder, 29 Dec 2009
By 
M. Truman (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Xtreme Audio Silver USB Internet Radio Player and Recorder (Electronics)
This internet radio player and recorder is a useful gadget that enables you to listen to internet radio on your computer. Essentially what the player does is to provide an interface listing stations by geographical location or genre. You click on the station name, and after a minute or so you are connected. You can of course do this yourself by searching for station websites and connecting manually, and if you only want to listen to a specific station you're probably better off doing it this way. What this player offers, though, is a very convenient way of browsing through what's available and making new discoveries - rather like shortwave, but with high quality digital sound. If the station you're interested in isn't listed, you can e-mail the manufacturers and ask them to add it. I haven't used this service, so I can't comment on it. You can also record programmes. I found this facility worked extremely well and was very easy to use.

The device itself is about the size of a small pen drive. You plug it into a USB socket, the software is launched automatically and within a few minutes you should be listening to internet radio. That's the theory, but in practice it can be a bit more complicated. I first tried using it on a PC running Windows 7, which crashed. Xtreme audio tell me that the problem has been solved with a software update for Windows 7, but I can't comment on its effectiveness because I haven't downloaded it. Instead, I tried the player on a laptop running Vista, and found it worked perfectly in this environment. In any case, it's worth reading through the rather sparse Quick Operation Guide supplied with the player before you start. More detailed information is available on the Xtreme audio website.

The player is good value and has come down in price since I bought mine, but you need to decide if the features it offers are of interest to you. I have found the player very useful for listening to BBC Radio 4 and other UK stations when I am in Spain. The product description did not warn about the potential problems with Windows 7; for this reason I have given it four stars rather than five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARVELLOUS INVENTION, 28 Sep 2010
By 
M. READE (SOUTH WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xtreme Audio Silver USB Internet Radio Player and Recorder (Electronics)
Wonderful, easy-to-use piece of kit.
I only have a mobile broadband connection and this gadget works perfectly, giving quick access to thousands of radio stations all over the world. Plus, the ability to record programmes to my laptop's hard disk for later listening.

Installation is simple and takes only a minute or two, using Microsoft Vista.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful little gadget, just plug it in and it works straight away, 23 Sep 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "BuddieHollie" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xtreme Audio Silver USB Internet Radio Player and Recorder (Electronics)
Great piece of stick just plug in and it goes. No drivers needed or messing about with configurations. You can find your fave stations and put them in a fave list in the order you want. Program boots up straight from the stick so you can transfer the stick to other computers and the fave list will remain in tact with all your fave stations on. It even records too from the station to your hard drive etc and saves in the file you want. 2 of my stations were not listed in the thousands out there but a quick email to the support address was all I needed to do and they got back to me within 24 hours and added the stations I wanted. Very happy man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xtreme Audio Silver USB Internet Radio Player and Recorder (Electronics)
I do not write reviews very often - but I have to say that this gadget is absolutely ACE. Plug it in, select your station from thousands, and press the record button.
This is easy to use I love it and so will you. If you want to record internet radio to listen again later (in the car?) - this is the only thing you need, and no downloading software or messing about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing little gadget, and great value, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xtreme Audio Silver USB Internet Radio Player and Recorder (Electronics)
I was bereft when Jazz FM was taken off the air, but with this amazing little device I was able to find it easily on line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice simple way of recording to a PC hard drive., 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xtreme Audio Silver USB Internet Radio Player and Recorder (Electronics)
Unit works well and usefully shows recording duration.
Not sure why sometimes a web page shows whats playing with some channels and not with others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little device, 10 Aug 2011
This review is from: Xtreme Audio Silver USB Internet Radio Player and Recorder (Electronics)
I've used and abused this super little device for well over a year now. It works, just as it's designed to do. It may well not have all the bells ans whistles of more expensive devices, but if you need fancy software don't buy it! It runs well on XP and vista, and can run off a wireless connection to a laptop whilst sitting on the top of Snowdon! Wouldn't be with out it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars works now and then, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xtreme Audio Silver USB Internet Radio Player and Recorder (Electronics)
can't rely on it to record when you want - and it turns itself off at random -
but for the price what can you expect -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews