Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars79
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£39.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2011
I've bought many headphones, cheap and expensive, all failed to match the quality of sound that I have from these headphones. I also struggled to find headphones that were comfy, but this headset was well worth the money comfort and quality.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Samson SR850 headphones have lots of things you'd look for in a decent pair of studio reference headphones: good frequency response (10Hz - 30kHz), wide drivers (50mm) and a gold-plated, screw-on 6.35mm jack adapter. In fact they're very similar in design to the AKG K240 MKII Semi-Open Circumaural Studio Headphones and the AKG K702 Open-Back Dynamic Reference Headphones.

They look and feel a bit plasticky, but then many of the higher-priced headphones (such as those just mentioned) are made of plastic in order to keep the weight down. The headband adjusts automatically when you put them on and they're very comfortable to wear. The only downside is that the soft plastic earcups can get sweaty in warm weather.

They're "muddy" and bass-heavy when you first get them; there's a definite "burn-in" period. After this, they settle down and give a fairly accurate representation of whatever's being played on them, making them really quite good for such an inexpensive pair of headphones.

The SR850s are definitely worth a purchase if you're on a budget and want to do some reference work, at least until you can get a decent pair of completely open-backed headphones.
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
Out of the box these Headphones are actually pretty good, easily matching a friend's Sony V6 Headphones costing twice the price as these.

I have only clocked in a few hours with them, so will have to wait until a burn-in period has passed, but so far they sound great. Connected to a Desktop PC equipped with a decent Soundcard, and playing only Flac audio files, they sound good on a myriad of different music styles from different eras, from 70's, 80's, to 90's and the 00's, these provide good sound quality across many audio frequencies.
Like someone also mentioned, I too also experienced a tiny bit of crackle on the bass, but it seems to now be clearing up with continued burning in.

The fit is ok, if a bit tight at times since they self adjust to your head. Leaving them clasped to a box, or something soft enough not to damage them, overnight for a few weeks should hopefully make them more comfortable.
The ear pads are ok, but they do cause a bit of sweating in hot weather. Going to try some replacement velour pads and see if they help with less sweat, more comfortable, and possibly even slightly better sound. The cable is nice and long, and the screw-on gold connector is nice.

I will add that these do leak sound quite badly if you enjoy the volume cranked up a bit, I could easily hear them in the next room late at night/early morning - 1am,2am etc.. So if you are planning on buying them to not wake family/friends/neighbours then these might not be the ones for you since they're not fully closed at the rear of the speaker.

Overall, for the money, these are some of the best headphones around. They look great, and over time they should sound and feel great.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
I 'HAD' a pair of AKG K601 (£150 headphones).
Apart from build quality (The AKG's feel like £150 headphones), which is still very good for the price, the SOUND in comparison to the AKGs, smashed it out the park. The modestly priced SR850 sound superior.
The only 'mod' that i would recommend would be to source some felt ear pad replacements, which will not only make the cans more comfortable, but avoid hot & sweaty ears that you might otherwise get from the default vinyl coverings.

All in all though, you'll be blow away by the audio quality.
A no brainer! - Get them
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Just a quick review...

These are outstanding headphones for the price. They are way ahead of anything within a few hundred pounds. I bought them after a recommendation on a different site. Bought as gaming headphones for PC after having years of average quality gaming headsets. Getting these was like discovering I could hear again! Anyone who wants quality gaming headsets should shun the headphone/mic combo sets and opt for a pair of these and a desktop mic. You will not regret it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
Occasionally, a product comes along which seems to break all expectations of value within its defined area. The SASR850C headphones are just such a product. The sound quality of these open back headphones is simply outstanding. Spacious, highly detailed, with a very smooth frequency range without peaks or undue emphasis of any kind. They are in fact very relaxing to listen to, even for long periods, as there is no undue fatigue in the sound and they are also extremely comfortable. In fact, for large, over ear heaphones they are superbly comfortable, much more so than any other that I care to remember. They are described as 'reference' headphones and, for once, such a description is not an exagerration. They provide an insight into the sound which many much more expensive designs simply fail to achieve. Yet, they are also enjoyable to listen to when you simply wish to relax and enjoy the music of your choice. A rare audio bargain. Very highly recommended indeed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Bought for silent practice with my guitar. Great sound, and great price.
Very comfortable to wear.
However it does bleed out some of your sound, so anyone nearby will hear. I don't intend to use them with my ipod when i'm out and about, so it's perfect for when i'm playing guitar silently in my room.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
Sound quality is loud and superb. It's crisp and clear. Coming from some Corsair Vengeance 2100s (closed back headphones), these are far better in sound quality. I can hear layers of sound in music I hadn't realised were there with these on.

Sound leakage is not a huge problem - it's not like they are amps or anything. They don't seem to work too differently to other headphones I've used, but they're not soundproof.

I ordered directly from Amazon and mine came with velour/velvet ear pads. I've heard differing reports, but I imagine it's to do with which supplier you use.

Comfort-wise, these are incredibly light. For a large pair of headphones, they put next to no pressure on the top of my head. They auto-adjust using some elastic that attach the cups to the leather-style headband. They are a little tight at the moment, but this may be because they are still new. Hopefully this will subside after a break-in period.

They look pretty nice, too. Probably wouldn't wear them with my iPod, but definitely happy enough for people to see me at a computer with them (weird comment now I think about it).

Overall very happy with this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
Good quality, perfect to wear, I have not too much experience, but is a best ever I had.
Especially for this price.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Bought as a backup to monitor for recording while listening to backings and multitracking. I now find that after an initial burn in listening to my sound system I am using them instead of my more expensive headphones due to the more comfortable feel.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)