Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars115
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 27 February 2011
In my honest opinion, Beyonce Knowles has outdone herself with 'I Am...'. The concept is not a new one, Janet Jackson explored the alter-ego of Damita Jo in 2004, and now Beyonce is doing the same, with Sasha Fierce. Here though Beyonce pulls it off with great style and substance.

The Beyonce Side includes tracks like 'Halo', 'Smash Into You', 'Broken Hearted Girl' and 'If I Were A Boy' - primarily mid-tempo ballads which showcase some of Beyonce's best vocals to date. The emotion is there to hear in 'Smash Into You' and 'Halo' especially, and gives the album a more mature tone than Beyonce's previous work.
The flip side is Sasha Fierce, full of fast, sassy songs like the smash hit 'Single Ladies', 'Sweet Dreams', 'Diva' and 'Ego'. There are influences of gospel, soul and urban all mixed to make really interesting and stylish songs that make you want to strut and dance along with Sasha.

Overall it feels like a more grown-up and polished album than Dangerously In Love or B'Day, but it still has the swagger and power that Beyonce is famous for.

The Platinum Edition also includes some nice bonus tracks like 'Why Don't You Love Me?' and 'Ave Maria', and a bonus dvd of the video singles including 'Single Ladies', 'Halo', 'Broken Hearted Girl' and 'Sweet Dreams'. Sadly the video for 'Video Phone' is not included. The dvd also includes a 30minute documentary on the making of the album and videos with Beyonce.

Also, if you're a fan of Beyonce be sure to check out the 'I Am...' World Tour Dvd + CD. You Won't Be Disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 12 February 2012
I wasn't so impressed with B'Day and i thought Dangerously In Love was alright so i struggled weather or not to buy this album but after a while i forgot about this album but when i saw her at Glastonbury i was quite impressed she sang three songs from her fourth and then upcoming album 4 so i decided to buy it as soon as it came out and i was really impressed with 4 so i bought I...Am Sasha Fierce Platinum Edition and i was happy with the results not all songs are impressive but there not rubbish either, this woman can sing and she writes some really good songs.
This album is worth buying but make sure you buy the Platinum Edition it has extra songs that are amazing and it includes a dvd with music videos to her songs such as Single Ladies, Halo, Broken Hearted Girl, Sweet Dreams and more.
If you are going to buy this album as your first Beyonce album then don't buy 4 it is much better, then buy this one.
Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It) - 9/10
Diva - 9/10
Ego - 8,9/10
Halo - 10/10
If I Were A Boy - 10/10
Smash Into You -10/10
Sweet Dreams - 10/10
Broken Hearted Girl - 10/10
Scared Of Lonely 11/10
That's Why You're Beautiful 10/10
Hello - 10/10
Radio - 10/10
Video Phone - 8/10
Ego (Remix Feat. Kanye West) - 6/10
Why Don't You Love Me - 10/10
Honesty - 10/10
Save The Hero - 10/10
Satellites - 9/10
Disappear - 10/10
Ave Maria - 10/10

Standout Tracks...
Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It)
Smash Into You
Sweet Dreams
Broken Hearted Girl
Scared Of Lonely
Save The Hero
Ave Maria
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 28 April 2010
Brilliant CD I can't stop playing it. DVD is great too. This was a great bargain buy. I am truly happy with my purchase. If you love B you will not be dissappointed. From start to finish excellent. Thanks Amazon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 19 November 2009
The third enhanced issue of Beyonce's hit album 'I Am... Sasha Fierce, the Platinum Edition' is released, the extras not on the previous two issues include 3 new songs - 'Why Don't You Love Me', 'Honesty' and 'Save The Hero'. Also there is a second DVD disk containing 8 music videos and 20 minutes of behind the scenes footage.

If you think the album is great like i do, then you'll surly love this, OK arguably a cash in, but unarguably a great stocking filler.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 September 2012
R & B and this whole genre of music generally gets a wide berth from someone like me, nearer to 50 than 40, but occasionally, one artist - and album stands head and shoulders above and gets noticed.

An impeccably powerful, but controlled voice plus some truly great songs, Halo being the one I saw the video and heard the most, plus If I Were A Boy both struck me as songs as the best going, at the time. I could also see the dancefloor potential and lyrical message of Single Ladies and saw that vid, too, many times on MTV. The big, lively and chorussed sound of Sweet Dreams could have been the best track on the album, if it weren't for the even better ones, such as the next, the lovely, power-ballad Broken-Hearted Girl that rises in vocal dexterity and stance, accompanied by simple strings and piano - and a decently simple but modern beat track.

However, Diva just didn't do anything for me, except nauseate me, quite a lot!

Back to the good tracks, Scared of Lonely is a strange, but great mix of hip-hop beat, heated vocals plus harpsichord! But it works and more than a mere filler, it's a strong number. That's Why You're Beautiful is a more laid back song, with an odd drum pattern and dreamy sense about it, then back to the faster, modern style sort of numbers, Hello. Radio and Video Phone are also are two more strong, modern numbers and then we have the duet with Kanye West, Ego.

Ego is starred to denote a bonus track, which along with the next three bonus's, show off the overall excellence of this album and its generosity - these tracks would be B sides on any other album and why my score has gone from my original 4 stars to five, simply by playing it all again. What with twenty good to excellent (albeit a couple I didn't like), there's a nice, generous booklet, with lots of beautifully reproduced monochrome photos of Beyonce. And, not to mention the 8 track video bonus DVD, that's value indeed, which is reassuringly inspires confidence in this day of digital downloads.

As a music lover of an older school, and whilst this album is no longer cutting edge or on our airwaves or DJ's turntables, it really is a landmark album, choc-full of good, solid songs that manages to cross-over from the genre and market that it was probably intended for and into the mainstream - and that's quite a rare item, nowadays..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 7 February 2009
I am a big beyonce fan although if i were a boy does get on my nerves a bit. cd tracks are very good. It is actually 2 cds- which when you first get it you think "great lots of tracks" but in reality it is your standard album cd number cut into 2- one ballads cd and the other more upbeat "sasha" tracks. I see what she's getting at but it's a little ponsy and you have to change cd after 5 songs!. overall if you are a beyonce fan like me the tunes do not disappoint.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 6 March 2011
this album is amazing, its one of the best albums i have ever had. i love every song on the album when im feeling alive i play hits like radio n hello and sweet dreams and when i feel down or tired i play thats why your beautiful n smash into. its great, if your a beyonce fan get it and dont listen to the bad reviews!!! beyonce sont need 2 retire she the best in the game cant wait for album 4
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 16 December 2008
'Dangerously in love' aside, Beyonce hasn't had a great run of albums. She has improved ten-fold with 'I am...'. I'm not a big lover of 'Diva' or 'Video phone' but 'Radio' and 'Single ladies' are fabulous fast tracks, especially the latter - so catchy! The stand out tracks from this album have to be the ballads 'If I were a boy' and 'Halo'. 'Halo' is a truly amazing song and the reason why I bought the album hands down. Sasha Fierce has reaffrimed my love for Beyonce and seeing her on X-Factor goes to prove that she deserves to be a star. She didn't lip-sync, she put on a crowd-pleasing show and showed genuine appreciation for being on there, unlike one Ms Spears....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 February 2010
the songs are great,i like i am... part more.the videos are good. I feel lucky that i haven't bought the first edition,as i know beyonce is queen of re-release,lol.This is really a big bargin for those whom haven't bought the album
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 20 February 2009
I dont see any point to this version of the album being put out. Why miss out all the good songs???. The deluxe album has 5 more songs on it and its not much more money. Overall I like this album and there are only 2 songs out of the whole CD im not keen on, one being EGO and the other is (Thats why your beautiful)they are filler. Also the Japan/i Tunes deluxe version has 2 more tracks that are better than some on the album (Save The Hero) one of her best ballads ever and the up beat (Why don't you love me) So don't bother with this version its a waste of money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Beyonce by Beyonce (Audio CD - 2013)

I Am... Sasha Fierce
I Am... Sasha Fierce by Beyonce (Audio CD - 2008)

4 by Beyonce (Audio CD - 2011)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.