Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple and it works
Had a printer attached to the main pc in the computer room, but on occasion had a requirement to print from the laptop elsewhere in the house. Only relatively recently bought a new (non wireless) printer so reluctant to buy a replacement!
This usb server fits the bill perfectly.
You could even use network extension main plugs and have the printer anywhere in the...
Published on 19 Nov 2010 by J. OLDFIELD

versus
43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really not a Network Attached Storage (NAS) solution
Don't make the mistake of thinking you are getting an affordable NAS via your existing USB storage drives with this gadget, even though it says it is a "Storage Server".
I got it to attach a Freecomm via its USB port to my LAN's router as it said it was a storage server. Well the issue many will have is that if, like a lot of folks, you want to have access to your...
Published on 22 Aug 2011 by m a simmons


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple and it works, 19 Nov 2010
By 
J. OLDFIELD "john_o" (North West,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TP-Link TL-PS310U USB 2.0 Single Port MFP and Storage Server (Personal Computers)
Had a printer attached to the main pc in the computer room, but on occasion had a requirement to print from the laptop elsewhere in the house. Only relatively recently bought a new (non wireless) printer so reluctant to buy a replacement!
This usb server fits the bill perfectly.
You could even use network extension main plugs and have the printer anywhere in the house
(i.e. wouldnt have to be next to router)

Unit appears well made, includes power supply but not a Cat5 network cable.

For our setup

plugged in PSU and powered up usb server
unplugged USB cable from pc and plugged into usb server
installed the software on pc and any other device that wants to use the network enabled printer.
worked first time

of note the software needs to be installed and running for the connection to be active.
You also have to be careful as multiple access by multiple pc/laptops doesnt appear possible at exactly the same time
(you have to be careful to have the settings as 'on demand' rather than 'permanently connected')
No biggie.

Ideally we'd have a wireless printer, but the next best option is this usb server.
Nice product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple Cost Effective Solution, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: TP-Link TL-PS310U USB 2.0 Single Port MFP and Storage Server (Personal Computers)
I have the TL-PS310U connected between my wireless router and a USB hub. Through this setup my family are shareing one printer and one external HDD between two desktops and two laptops.

The TP-Link TL-PS310U is a very small box that I have hidden under my desk. The bundled software needs to be installed on each pc that is to connect to the printer (or other shared device). Setup was quick and easy for both Windows 7 and Windows XP. The TP-Link software auto runs when the pc is switched on. When a document is sent to print, I briefly get a Windows message telling me my printer is not connected. This seems to be due to a 2-3 seconds lag whilst the TP-Link connects to the USB device. The printer status message then changes to ready and printing commences. If the printer is idle for 30 seconds then the TP-Link disconnects which allows other network users to connect and print.

I'm very happy with the product and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice piece of kit, 10 Nov 2010
This review is from: TP-Link TL-PS310U USB 2.0 Single Port MFP and Storage Server (Personal Computers)
Found this an amazing piece of kit. Easy to set up and easy to use and cheap. (Disable firewall during software installation - not mentioned in instructions). I have Windows7 64bit home premium, Canon MP550 multifunction printer/scanner and two 250GB USB portable drives used for backups, which are connected to the device via a 4 way USB hub. All the printer and scanner functions are available including ink reserves, printer progress, scanner set-up etc. Its good to have a device that worked first time, is consistant in operation and enables me to get all the wires out of my laptop! Can recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Product, 25 Feb 2011
By 
Kaytom (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: TP-Link TL-PS310U USB 2.0 Single Port MFP and Storage Server (Personal Computers)
I had a Canon iP4500 printer connected via USB to a desktop PC (running XP). The Desktop is connected to a wireless router. I wanted to print directly from a wireless laptop (running Vista) without having to print via the desktop machine, and I've been looking for possible solutions for a long time.
Using the TP-Link unit I can now print from both the desktop and the laptop.
The TP link and the associated software were very easy to install - the software must be installed on all PCs that that you want to print from.
The default mode of use is that you have to click on the printer icon on your PC to connect to the printer before printing, and after 30 seconds of no activity the connection is closed. This can be irritating but there is a good solution available.
On the TP Link website, in the FAQs, there's a document called: "How to configure TL-PS310U to print by queue".
From this document you can download TP-Link's own Network Printer Wizard which will set up the printer as a network printer. Again - run the Network Printer Wizard on all your PCs that you want to print from.
You can also use the unit to connect USB storage devices to your home network by using a multi-port USB hub to connect the printer and USB storage device to the TP-Link unit - I haven't tried that yet but I'm confident it will be very easy to do.

I am so pleased I found this unit - so easy to install and to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really not a Network Attached Storage (NAS) solution, 22 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-PS310U USB 2.0 Single Port MFP and Storage Server (Personal Computers)
Don't make the mistake of thinking you are getting an affordable NAS via your existing USB storage drives with this gadget, even though it says it is a "Storage Server".
I got it to attach a Freecomm via its USB port to my LAN's router as it said it was a storage server. Well the issue many will have is that if, like a lot of folks, you want to have access to your USB storage from multiple machines on your LAN simultaneously then you will be in for a shock because this gadget appears to only present itself as an IP address without any SMB/NFS/etc sharing included. You have to install the TP-LINK included software on each and EVERY machine on your network and then the software allows you to, essentially, mount that USB storage from a SINGLE machine at any ONE time and you have to make "a request" and "accept that request" for the ability to grab the USB storage from that original machine for use on any other machine on the LAN each time. This means that using any automatic backups of LAN machines to your USB storage via this device are not feasible. The only way to get around this would be to dedicate one of your LAN machines to mount and share the device which would mean having that machine running all the time. Duh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Print server, 23 April 2011
By 
Mr. Clive M. Williams (Ipswich UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TP-Link TL-PS310U USB 2.0 Single Port MFP and Storage Server (Personal Computers)
Bought this to allow printing from my laptop, without the need to have my desktop machine running.
Great little device. Also allows you to plug in a USB hub and share up to 4 USB devices on your network.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Updated Software, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: TP-Link TL-PS310U USB 2.0 Single Port MFP and Storage Server (Personal Computers)
Bought the TL-PS310U to connect a HP2180 printer and two Windows PCs: One a Win7 Wireless Laptop and one a WinXP Wired desktop. Connected the Print Server to my wired network and was picked up by my router and given a new network IP Address(although the software allows you to do this manually). Installed enclosed software on the laptop and PC with no isses. Upgraded firmware now has option to automatically disconnect PC from Print Server, freeing up device for use by other PC. This has worked OK whilst testing the install. Seems to be a good product and when I replace the printer with a wireless one, this server can then be used with up to 4 USB devices drives/cameras etc, so the investment isn't wasted, Although I believe that the device/s can still only be used by one user at a time, not concurrently, so my drives would not be true NAS, But would do for backup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tp-link tl-ps, 17 Jun 2010
This review is from: TP-Link TL-PS310U USB 2.0 Single Port MFP and Storage Server (Personal Computers)
Works fairly easily. I've not hit any problems on Windows yet but I can't get it working on Linux using LPR, although I suspect it should be possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This isn't a MPF Print Server, 27 Dec 2011
By 
James Lever (Brighton & Hove, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-PS310U USB 2.0 Single Port MFP and Storage Server (Personal Computers)
This unit is not a proper print server, its a network usb sharing device which uses software to virtually map the remote USB to your PC, it's not a IP printing device using Raw/IP printer port which I had expected.

This unit works by installing a task-bar application which detects when you want to print, when you try to print the application virtually maps the USB to the tp-link device, prints, then 30 secs afterwards it then releases the connection.

Sounds okay in principle, but my parents have an epson printer which has a utility which tells you how much ink it has, this immediately pops up to say it can't connect when you fire the PC up, when you print there is a quite long delay, but it does work/print, the epson software opens (whilst its printing), vanishes, then pops up to say its lost connection and sometimes it keeps connected, preventing another user from using it.

As a cheap print sharing device its okay (3 out of 5*'s), I bought it so my parents could print from a laptop without needing to keep a desktop PC on, and it does that.

It works, but is less elegant than a proper print server such as the dlink models which only cost a bit more, which give you proper IP printing.

Installation was less than simple, often the usb mapping disconnected before windows had time to finish installing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect First Time, 22 April 2011
By 
G. Solomon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TP-Link TL-PS310U USB 2.0 Single Port MFP and Storage Server (Personal Computers)
I'm not the most computer literate grumpy oldie in the universe, so i'm always delighted when something works first time. I was also rather nervous that this wouldn't work with a webcam as its blurb majors on print and storage servers: but there it is, in full, beautiful colour - my wife can now talk to my daughter in Australia in the Kitchen,instead of in-front of the PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews