Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb record!!, 7 Oct 2009
By 
C. Grigg (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out 'n' In (Audio CD)
This record is quite stunning. Superb musicianship, wonderful and sensitive production (as is the usual from Jason Yarde) - Empirical have got to be one of the most exciting bands around.

Despite a few personnel changes, this new line up (with the wonderful Julian "Wiggy" Seigel on tenor joining in), is proving to be near perfect. Nat Facey's alto working really nicely with Lewis's sensitive vibes playing who has a really great, round sound (vibes is the perfect addition to the lineup), the album sounds fresh, clear and inventive. Cracking drumming from Shaney Forbes (a guy who is an amazing drummer across all genres!) and the fab Tom Farmer on bass.

Go buy it and see them live too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamy Days, 22 Oct 2009
This review is from: Out 'n' In (Audio CD)
Stunning! Would definatly recommend this record to anyone who is into new wave British jazz. Empirical are without doubt at the forefront of this scene. Go buy this record and you'll lose yourself, just like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 19 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Out 'n' In (Audio CD)
I was delighted with this cd..it brought me into a very nice dreamy state of mind! This cd is a must for all jazz lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 21st century, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out 'n' In (Audio CD)
Nothing new under the sun? It is great to find jazz that can come up with some new sounds and this is what Empirical do. A sometimes challenging disc, it's great not to feel that we have fallen back to musak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Triumph!, 3 Oct 2009
This review is from: Out 'n' In (Audio CD)
Empirical have produced yet another astonishing recording. Their contemporary take on the music of Eric Dolphy is mature and refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Empirically impressed, 22 Nov 2010
This review is from: Out 'n' In (Audio CD)
I had the chance to see the group Empirical play live and they were ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! I strongly recommend this CD to all jazz lovers. These very talented musicians will most certainly exceed your expectations...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The In Crowd, 28 April 2010
By 
P. Long - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out 'n' In (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to see Empirical perform at Oxford's "The Spin", they were amazing and I really enjoyed their music and the ones they played by Eric Dolphy. I bought this album there and was lucky enough to get them all to sign it. They really deserve much success. Highly original, absolutely brilliant playing and sharply dressed too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Empirical, 9 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Out 'n' In (Audio CD)
I saw Empirical twice and bought their first album as I was impressede by them. The last time I saw them they had changed the lineup and now feature vibes. A great album with talented inventive musicians. See them live to enjoy their playing to a greater extent but buy this album to appreciate their talent in your living room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out 'n' In
Out 'n' In by Empirical (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews