Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better
The third series to this fantastic drama sees a bit of a departure in tone; whereas the second series showed the lust between Henry and Anne Boleyn through fiery passion, this series sees first of all the more demure Jane Seymour, followed by Anne of Cleves who Henry has no passion for. What this manages to do is to track the possible psychological changes within Henry...
Published on 25 Sep 2009 by Brida

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content. Awful Blu-ray transfer
Although I enjoyed season 3 of The Tudors, I have to say that this is the worst quality Blu-ray transfer I have ever seen. It borders on defective. There is so much shimmer in almost every indoor scene as to render the entire disk barely watchable. It is only slightly better on disk two than disk one, but still a serious problem. I have confirmed that this is not a case...
Published on 24 Mar 2010 by S. Dondershine


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The third series to this fantastic drama sees a bit of a departure in tone; whereas the second series showed the lust between Henry and Anne Boleyn through fiery passion, this series sees first of all the more demure Jane Seymour, followed by Anne of Cleves who Henry has no passion for. What this manages to do is to track the possible psychological changes within Henry. It also reflects the change in society in general, as the tension between Catholicism and Protestantism grew.
Although the series may not be the most historically correct in regrad to the minute details, what THE TUDORS does do is bring history to the general public. The necessary facts are there. And the entertainment value remains very high too.
This is a great series - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid follow-up, 4 Oct 2009
By 
J. M. Harman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So the Tudor saga rolls on, with Jonathan Rhys Meyers giving his usual great performance. He is ably supported by a wonderful cast, and it would seem that the producers have endeavoured to follow the historical events as far as the facts can be ascertained.

King Henry Vlll does not change much in appearance; there are references, to be sure, to his leg ulcer but will we ever see the fat, bloated Henry of history? By series four perhaps? The actress portraying Jane Seymour is lovely and her death-scene very poignant. However, King Henry, true to type, recovers quickly and re-marries; it must be remarked in passing that Anne of Cleves as played here, is not the "Ugly Duckling" of history and indeed it must have taken great courage to accept such a role in which one would have that reputation.

In contrast, Catherine Howard wastes no time in filling Anne`s shoes (and bed!) is she fortunate or unfortunate that she cannot see into the future? There is, in fact, an interesting parallel between the saga of Anne Boleyn and mistress Howard. But the viewer must wait for the fourth series to see the next bloody event! (not swearing!) Wonderful drama.

John Harman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 3 The Tudors, 25 May 2010
By 
Alicia Parkin "Happy Weasel" (York, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This season is either as good as the first two or better. It has a slightly faster pace to the story and is very watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content. Awful Blu-ray transfer, 24 Mar 2010
By 
S. Dondershine (SF, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tudors - Series 3 [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Although I enjoyed season 3 of The Tudors, I have to say that this is the worst quality Blu-ray transfer I have ever seen. It borders on defective. There is so much shimmer in almost every indoor scene as to render the entire disk barely watchable. It is only slightly better on disk two than disk one, but still a serious problem. I have confirmed that this is not a case of my having defective disks because the complaints are echoed on other blu-ray forums. I can not believe that any company would actually try and sell such a low quality transfer at blu-ray prices. You are much better off getting the standard dvd version and watching with up-conversion. What a hideous disappointment, especially in comparison to the stunning blu-ray transfers for season 1 & 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Season's 1 & 2, then buy this!, 26 Dec 2009
By 
Lisa Stowner "Lisa. S." (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tudors - Series 3 [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The story continues at the same pace as Season's 1 & 2.

Costumes are magnificent, as is the scenery. Jonathon Rhys Meyers is just as good as the first two seasons.

PQ and Audio are great. 9 out 10 for sharpness and colour and particularly good for a TV show.

So in short, if you liked the first two season's, then don't hesitate, grab this and sit back and watch the tale unfold...as does Henry by this stage of the story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars third series: getting better and better - highly enjoyable, 30 Aug 2009
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I just loved series No 1 and 2, but with series No 3 it gets even better.
It seems that with the characters the whole series has matured. And that in a very positive sense. It is still very entertaing and beautiful to look at. The acting is much more imprtant compared to the mere naked pleasures of series no 1. All in all, it seems to be much more acturate and historically valuable (even tough I believe that Jane Seymour is a bit too gorgeous). It shows the ruthlessness and violence of the time, not just at court, but in the country at large. The change from catholocism to protestantism was not at all an easy process and costs a lot of lives. The transformation of Henry VIII from pleasure loving young monarch to the the cruel and devious statement is wondefull portrait Jonathan Rhys Meyers I think his performance is superb. It was worthwhile seeing this series. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come on Season 4!, 18 Feb 2010
By 
M. F. Phillips "mikeinspain" (Pinar de Campoverde, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been given Tudors Seasons 1 & 2 as a Christmas gift, we couldn't wait for Season 3 to arrive from Amazon and only had to wait a few days even though we live in Spain. A refreshing, innovative treatment of Henry VIII's rule that introduced us to new, up-and-coming British film stars. Jonathan Rhys Myers (Henry VIII) has had a difficult personal life but now has a great future as an actor on the world stage. Natalie Dormer (Anne Boleyn in Seasons 1 & 2)could become the next Catherine Zeta Jones. Who better than Peter O'Toole as the Pope and watch out for brilliant acting from Cardinal Wolsey, Sir Thomas More and Thomas Cromwell. This is film making that Hollywood cannot do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continues to be unmissable., 20 May 2013
By 
The detail and characterization of the historical figures and scenery continues to be of the highest standard: perhaps the budget has been used wisely instead of on Hollywood blockbuster stars that arguably might guarantee/lose an audience.
Unprecedentialy,the main players do not age over the length of this series so far.There are fewer sex scenes involving our 'Enry so there are some concessions to his advancing age(instead of using make-up and padding).
Overall this is very good stuff for TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars guilty pleasure, 25 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Tudors is fantastic TV but absurd History. Nobody ages for a start. The historical inaccuracies are legion. Why give the leader of the pilgrimage of Grace Robert Aske a family when he didn't have one, or make him middle aged when he was in his twenties. And surely no King would be repulsed by this Anne of Cleves played by Joss Stone. The episodes kept me constantly going back to the internet to check facts but perhaps in the end that is not what matters.

The series is beautifully shot, the drama is gripping and the performances compelling. It simply works as TV and for the moment you suspend disbelief and just enjoy the intensity of it. Despite the deviations from the facts it is hard not to be seduced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No problems with the Blu ray Transfer some are reporting, 20 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudors - Series 3 [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Not had any of the issues others have reported with this release.

Only got mine recently so maybe others had a faulty batch.

The dark scenes can be a bit grainy in places but outside well lit shots are excellent HD PQ, no shimmering at all, seen many blu rays with far worse PQ then this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tudors - Series 3 [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free]
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews